How to send private encrypted memo on Steemit. Tutorial ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

in #utopian-io7 years ago (edited)


Good evening dear steemians. Since I join steemit on June of this years, it have been to me a daily nonstop learning up to now, and i know it might sound a cliche but i fell like the more I learn, the more still remains for me to learn.

This last week I discovered one steemit feature I hadn't never even realized it might exist up to know. You probably know how to make transferring over the to others using your Steemit wallet right? And you also know that all the data people do is public visible to everyone to see in the blockchain? yeah this is all true, as far as I know absolutely everything made on in a blockchain will always be there end everyone can have access to it.

However, despite of the fact one cannot hide something made in a blockchain such as sending a transference with a memo to another person via steemit wallet, There is a way to easily encrypt the message you send in your memo in way that only you and the master key owner of the wallet you are sending the encrypted memo will be able to visualize the decrypted message.

I'll show you step by step how does it works:

First of all you need to navigate to your wallet and start making the normal process to make a transferring to someone:

Normally fill the account name and value you are willing to transfer to:

Then when its time to fill the memo with the message you want to to encrypt simple add a #right before the first word of the message you are going to send with no spaces in between:

And submit the memo.

while you're logged with you master key you'll see the message decrypted.

But others or, even you if you log in with any other key such as the posting key, you will only see the encrypted message

This do not violate the fact that everyone can still see every move or transaction made over the blockchain and there is no way to hide it, but this steemit feature allow you to have some privacy about the content of the messages you send to others through memo.

It took me about 6 months to finally discover this feature, so by the time most of you might already know about it I'm quite sure there is a huge number of steemians (especially the new ones) who are still unaware about this. I hope this short tutorial can help brings a little enlightenment about steemit and how to use one more of its features. =D



Ps: Remember by just clicking in the resteem button you will be giving an amazingly support to great content authors to keep doing his good work. So do not hesitate to resteem or even making a post about a good content you have seen, share it with your Steemit brothers and sisters! ^^



Thank you for reading my post!

I'm @andyluy a Brazilian jobless college student, freshman at cryptocurrencies who live in Rio de Janeiro, love to make new friends , travel around the world, having adventures and believe that steemit can help me to gather 20,000 $ to realize my life dream to study in Japan!

​I intend to post about amazing things I've experienced, and hope soon be able to bring you with me to my new adventures



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

This awesome! thank you for this! I will be using this for some new projects!

Cheers

Dante

I'm glad to see that it is helpful to others too =D

Oh I did not know this! Very useful. Thank you for sharing. Upped and resteemed! ;)

Yeah, My mind blowed when I first heard about it too hahaha !

Thank you !

Very beneficial info regarding private encrypted memo on Steemit

indeed, this feature has some interesting applications

thanks for the enlightenment truly we learn daily. Thanks

I've learning so much on here that I'm glad to share some knowledge for others here too =D

Wow, this is a cool feature that I didn’t know.

Yeah, it tooks me about 6 months to first hear about it lol

Thank you for this article. I will follow your work!

Thank you @mihail.tsvetkov I do really apreciate it =D

Your contribution cannot be approved as we have already accepted tutorial Sending private memo.

See the Utopian Rules. Please edit your contribution to reapply for approval.

You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Humm... Interesting, I can't really see how could I edit this publications in order to fit into an approval, maybe on next one I try to contact you guys before making the post to see if it should be done over utopian or not.

Thank you! =)

So simple, yet so amazing...

@khoa brought me here. Maybe Because I sent some super public long msg to him to discuss. :)))) thank for sharing. I need to use this trick.

Thank you so much , this is so useful ! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66293.76
ETH 3282.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70