Why is Steemit still so sluggish? Engine trouble?

in #steemit7 years ago

Stability is crucial to the credibility of the Steemit platform. Right now the "technical difficulties" bieng experienced are having a dire affect on the confidence many people have in Steemit. This is evident by the way the STEEM Price has steadily gone down over the past few weeks, done below $1 per Steem. It shows a lack of confidence in the platform.


We all know the Steemit Blockchain to be a resilient and reliable piece of engineering, but is it really? Well, yes it is. It's not the blockchain itself, but rather how we access the blockchain, and the services we use to process data on the blockchain that seem to be under pressure lately.

A couple of weeks ago there was a DDoS attack on steemit.com which resulted in a lot of frustration across the whole system. That seemed to eventually be mitigated, and yet we are still suffering with a slow and frustrating environment. While some services like busy.org and the eSteem app have not been as badly affected, the whole platform just seems to be struggling. @ned announced a few hours ago here that they are working on the problems, and that the current performance issues are not attributable to another DDos attack. It looks more like engine trouble to me..

This raises a few questions:

  1. Is the latest build of Steemit unstable, and will the next revision fix these issues before we hardfork and add more overheads with SMT's being implemented?
  2. Has the blockchain grown at such a pace that the witness nodes are no longer able to cope with the hardware requirements, causing them to fail frequently and require upgrading?
  3. Are our top witnesses actually competent at maintaining their witness nodes with minimal downtime, and are they proactive in keeping their nodes up-to-date? For the most part I believe they are, but I have some doubts. There are 8 witnesses on a lower build than the others.
  4. Why are there dead witnesses (13 total, and 4 in the top 50) still on the top 100 list, and why haven't they been culled and their votes returned? Just get rid of them if they haven't been active for a while.
  5. Are the public nodes hosting the front-end services being protected from future DDoS attacs, and are they capable of servicing the Steemit community as it grows?

Have Faith


Hopefully the problems get ironed out soon. I'm loving my experience on Steemit, and although I'm not making much rewards on my post, I have met some super people on my journey here. I just don't want to see the whole system come crashing down because the engine isn't strong enough to drive the ship. We need to keep those gear greased.

There is a lot of work that goes into keeping Steemit running, and I really do appreciate all that the Devs and Witnesses do. I can only trust that the right people are in the right positions to weather this storm and get Steemit back on track. We don't need more bad publicity than we already get from the peanut galleries out there.

Steem On!!




Team Australia and Team South Africa banners by @bearone

Sort:  

Good post @bmj. Like any venture, investors are entitled to be concerned by the ongoing performance problems. I would have lost my entire post today (a couple hours worth) if I wasn't backing it up first. Plenty of newcomers could make that mistake and be lost. I think our retention these last 2 weeks will be right down.

I had a look at the post by Ned and if I am being brutally honest, it was a throw-away one. It would be good if they owned up to the real issues here because I am sure there are people in the community who would love to help.

Yeah, I always create my post in another editor, and paste it into the post and neaten it up. Then I copy and pastw it back out in case it stalls during posting. Beem saved a few times by doing that.
It was a disappointing post by Ned. It's all secrets and smokescreens.

Hi @bmj Hello friend, all the pictures congratulated for all the darticipants were amazing and, in fact,

Yeah man. Let's hope it gets ironed out sooner rather than later. If you're a newcomer and don't quite understand the platform it could most certainly completely discourage you from trying it out. As for the witnesses it is quite strange that there are a few dead ones right up there. That is definitely something that should be addressed, imo. Thanks for the article :):)

Hopefully. I really think the witnesses who fall too gar behing should get culled and make way for those who are doing the hard yards.

The delays are super frustrating. I know than when I click "post" on this comment it could take up to a minute to actually post 🙁
Hoping for brighter days in the future 👍🏻

We can only hope it gets better. The lack of open and honest communication is a worry.

Gosh! After 5 mins of waiting for that comment to post, I gave up. Looks like it went through though 😉

Haha!! I've been getting impatient and refreshing, reposting, and boom!! @ copies of the same reply.. DOH!!!

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.
Qurator is proudly supported by @reggaemuffin, vote for him as a witness here.

I enjoyed reading your post. There is a lot of good stuff.

I enjoyed reading your post. There is a lot of good stuff.

Thanks for that @bmj I was wondering myself if steemit was just being continuously attacked or wtf was going on. Hope they can get it all stabilized soon.

This post has received a 6.46 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @bmj. Send at least 1 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our daily curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

This wonderful post has received a bellyrub 13.36 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to this cool cat: @bmj. My pops @zeartul is one of your top steemit witness, if you like my bellyrubs please go vote for him, if you love what he is doing vote for this comment as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67598.23
ETH 3714.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71