STEEMIT Idea Proposal: Floating Upvote Button

in #steemit8 years ago

Purpose:

Allow for users to vote on a post at any point while reading a post.

Justification:

If I'm reading a post that I really like, I can know within a few paragraphs or less that I'm going to vote for it. I'd rather vote without scrolling down to the bottom and losing my place.

Design:

Just a simple little transparent frame that sticks to the bottom right/left corner of the page UI which allows for upvotes and/or shares of the post.

Thoughts? Like or dislike this idea?

Sort:  

I dig that idea. I would also like a second step added to the clear option under submit a post. A few times my mouse accidently clicked that pesky clear button and bye-bye, all my work was gone. If it could only ask, "Are you sure you want to clear?"

Your idea is great too... But now I have two things on my wish list.

OUCH!! I write most of my stuff in Word first, but always end up doing heavy editing before posting. That would hurt.
Have you tried CNTRL+Z to see if it'll reverse it?

Ohhh man i hate that. I concur for your idea..

to expand on this idea...what about only having a vote button when opening a post? Then at least have to read some of it, and maybe it will even help catch attention spans for more than the headlines.

Not that theres anything bad with voting without reading much necessarily.

Nope.. nothing wrong with it at all. All within the scope of what the user wants.

Full support. This helps creators of long form articles, as people are more likely to upvote for short articles as they reach the bottom faster and are less likely to get distracted before voting. This solves that problem, and makes it easier to vote quickly for longer articles.

I like the idea and especially when you use eSteem or on mobile. I think I will consider this to next update of eSteem. But it should only stay on post area not on comment area, hmm...

Good idea. There are a few ways it could be done that keep it out of the way.

Sounds like a good idea, but if your useing a touch screen tablet, as i do, and i dont have a computer, i think while im scrolling dowmn or reading through posts , it will be to easy to accidently touch it , and upvote by mistake. Which for some reason right now we cant remove our upvote when we tap on it! So for me its a bad idea for touch screens. Thanks

should be a trivial matter of keeping it small enough and in the corner to be out of the way. even on a small phone screen, it would be relative to screen size

I have accidentally touched the flag icon many times. I share a computer. It is a good thing there is a confirmation dialog.

I would love a floating vote button. I'm also the type who knows pretty quickly if I'm going to vote, so that'd be much more convenient.

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.3

Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise. Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66066.52
ETH 3291.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70