Steemit Needs: Please comment with your ideas to improve Steemit!! E.1steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

I would like you to comment with your visual aids or written ideas of what you think Steemit can use to improve the Community for features and why.


It's OK to gather new ideas but if the same issues pop up, that is great too, because it will send the message that something is more important to the developers and Steemit Elders. My goal is again - use this blog post as a resource to help the dev's and the community members.

I was trying to pick good tags...... I decided to use the TIL tag -- hoping someone either looking FOR help on learning something -- or someone looking TO help on these things would comment! I thought that one for a couple mins.

If you want to tag people (tags don't notify a Steemer as many of you know-- not yet anyways, hint LOL) -- or share the post so others can comment and contribute also, that is great. I have my own ideas and see a lot of people talking about it, but as someone who is NOT - I REPEAT NOT! tech savvy like many of you, and who is newer to the Blockchain and Crypto stuff, I know my role is limited to give ideas, I am just a Minnow LOL.

But I have been an activist for years, I am used to building community and gathering info and trying to help so I guess you can blame the activist side of me for this idea which I think is a good one -- an INTENTIONAL POST on the idea, to gather stuff in one place and be easily searchable and findable for all the IT types and developers etc.

Just my way of trying to contribute. I did not even know for sure what tags to use in this post, and I actually spent 5 mins looking and researching the best ones to try and use, before I posted this LOL. I will edit the tags ASAP if you give me better ones to use!!

If we can get some good feedback going, we can use these ideas, all in one place and people can refer back to them. That's why E.1 was in the title, I am hopeful it is helpful as a resource.

Sort:  

Personally, search is one of the biggest issues I see needing to be tackled on Steemit. Example of this would include being able to search across multiple tags to better refine the returns (which is possible at http://steemshovel.com/) as well as being able to filter a specific authors blog across one or more tags. Ideally this could even include being filtered on non-tag items such as vote count and/or payout especially once things have fallen off the 24 hr and 30 day periods.

Trying to relocate that 'one really good guide' from some months back is extremely difficult through google.

The other major piece that I hope to see completed soon (I know the dev's have been working on this one for a while) is the major updates to the Steemit editor itself. This is slated to include direct image uploads (so users don't have to user 3rd party hosting sites like steemimg.com or imgur) which is much more akin to what they are used to on say Facebook/Reddit as well as including buttons for centering/alignment. These two additions alone would allow formatting (as I like it) to be done without and html tags or markdown. While this hasn't necessarily been an impediment for me, it would greatly help with onboarding since they wouldn't feel like they are having to get over a learning curve, most people are comfortable using a MS word/wysiwyg looking tool already.

We are definitely moving in the right direction as you can see many of the items from @timcliff's wishlist already existing on here:
https://steemit.com/steemit-ideas/@timcliff/the-steemit-wish-list-avatars-notifications-multi-language-support-and-more-oh-my-v2-0

Hi everyone! Thanks for the input and all! I will use it as best I can to make people aware of it.

I get bad headaches so I have to get offline regularly, but I will check in on this when I can. I have a draft saved for a Standing Rock post I want to quickly put up later tonite before bed.

I'd like to see the list of people I follow arranged in order of who published the most recent post at the top with notifications by each name indicating how many posts I've missed. I'd also like to see the number of days it has been since their last post. Then I can simply click on their name and vote away.

That's actually a very good idea.

To add to it. Rather than me having to remove members who do not contribute, I'd prefer they fall into a subcategory after 'x' many days called something like "quiet". This quiet group could then be removed from my total following which I'd call my "active" group. Then a notification could appear if one of them comes alive again. This would help people get noticed again after being gone for awhile and nearly forgotten, and would save them the headache of having to rebuild a following if they've decided to take a brief hiatus only to come back and realize many have removed them from their lists.

Upvoted! This is the latest post in my efforts to overcome difficulties with linking Paypal to Steem. I think it would drive up value and sign ups significantly. https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@nikflossus/5-linking-paypal-and-steemit-the-principles-and-how-it-works

Hi everyone! Thanks for the input and all! I will use it as best I can to make people aware of it.

I get bad headaches so I have to get offline regularly, but I will check in on this when I can. I have a draft saved for a Standing Rock post I want to quickly put up later tonite before bed.

What I would like to add to Steemit atm is separation of post count and comment count. Right now both are mixed and counted as posts. We should be able to see them separately so we know how many articles each user postes and how many comments.

I think that your tags are fine :-)
@sykochica has great ideas about improvement too, as you can see in her comment here.
I resteemed your post

Hi everyone! Thanks for the input and all! I will use it as best I can to make people aware of it.

I get bad headaches so I have to get offline regularly, but I will check in on this when I can. I have a draft saved for a Standing Rock post I want to quickly put up later tonite before bed.

Sound interesting ;-)

Btw my another advice for beginner. Try not to resteem so many posts. Try to stick to 3-4 a day maximum. No one will want to follow you. And those who do may remove following if they get so many resteems in their feed :-)

I do believe that resteems can be a powerful tool, but excessive resteems bug the hell out of me, especially since they are not on separate tabs. When I follow a user, I want to see what THEY are doing because chances are, I've already been through the NEW and FEED tabs and seen a bunch of them already.

Agreed, the resteem separation from blog post content posts like many are saying - needs to be separated out -- I felt that early on.

Agreed, the resteem separation from blog post content posts like many are saying - needs to be separated out -- I felt that early on.

indeed. so true. sometimes not only beginners do that. :) your power of resteem should also be viewed as a scarce resource. also, which is also a very old opinion, we should separate own blogs from resteemed ones at users' pages.

I have not thought about it. You are so right. Such an obvious idea :-)

Agreed, the resteem separation from blog post content posts like many are saying - needs to be separated out -- I felt that early on.

Thought this could do with a freshen up so have resteemed! ... and voted

Thanks, I know it helped, because an hour after you shared it and commented here, someone else did also.

Steemit Dev's have been watching this series and contacted me to compile info for them, in the last 2 weeks, I am working at it again today, nearly done buddy.

  • saying hi and miss you, as per the FB msgs!!

What about a "To read later" button to store articles too large to read directly?

Good idea. The blogs and Re-steemed people largely agree needs separations asap, I see it discussed a lot.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Nov 24. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $3.89 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 24 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Thanks I always appreciate these posts!

I have been finding that when I want to comment on a post through the browser on my iPhone, I'm only able to comment in English. If I switch my keyboard to a Japanese keyboard to comment on posts written in Japanese, I redirected from the comment page to Feed page and am not allowed to comment. I don't know why this is, but I would be happy if I could comment from my phone in a language other than English. It's not a problem when I'm commenting from a computer.


Still have to have both steem and steem power from rewards so people can pull out that first 30-50 steem they make and get bitcoin from it to know that steemit is legit. I was in 100% skeptic mode until I did that now I am happy to get steem power

I think steemit must develop a feature to count traffics for each post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56482.82
ETH 3004.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.21