Vote and Curate throughout the day. Doing it all at once slows your Voting Power recovery and decreases your rewards

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

I saw a few posts where users complained they didn't get curation rewards at all even if those posts had high payouts. Some might remember @xeroc's new piston launch that got about 45k last week.
I was asking my self a rather similar question but I also had some doubts on why isn't my Voting Power up to 100% after 24h of non-voting activity as I initially and incorrectly understood.

Being a 1 week old steemer I went back to the basics and re-read the Steem White Paper today which helped me see how Rate Limited Voting works and I said to post a reminder for everyone. Here's the excerpt from the WP:

A major part of minimizing abuse is the rate-limiting of voting. Individual users can only read and evaluate so many work items per day. Any attempt to vote more frequently than this is a sign of automation and potential abuse. Through rate limiting, stakeholders who vote more frequently have each vote count for less than stakeholders who vote less frequently. Attempts to divide tokens among multiple accounts also divides influence and therefore does not result in a net increase in influence nor bypass the rate-limit imposed on voting.
Imgur
The charts above shows how a user’s voting power decreases every time they vote and then regenerates as time passes without voting. These charts use nominal time unit and could be made to scale to any targeted voting rate. Note that voting power rapidly drops off during periods of continuous voting, and then slowly recovers.
Voting power is multiplied by a user’s vesting tokens to determine how much share in the reward pool should be allocated to a given work item.

Bottomline is that you need to vote less at once and more spread throughout the day. That way your votes matter most ( to the author and to you as a reward) and you also get to regenerate faster.

PS. Upvoting your own posts counts as a vote as well so think about that when you author new items :)

Hope it helps!

Sort:  

great post, my posts although shows, that depending when you vote you are able to multiply your voting power more than 100000%

https://steemit.com/steemit/@knozaki2015/my-upvote-was-worth-5-06-usd-25300-or-how-to-earn-the-maximum-curation-reward

I know, I read it this morning. Even commented on it :)

and not to mention, upvoted it :P

Is there a way to monitor your voting power?

steemd.com/@boscro - all info there. You may insert here any other user

Wow. This a pretty complex system.

You can see live how your voting power is restoring

Thanks for steeping in. I couldn't access steemit for a couple minutes. First 404's and then the eternal 500.
@boscro: you can't actually monitor as in: see a graph with the consumed/recovery time etc. but you can check your current Voting Power, live, just as @busser said!

Thank you for this. The thing is often times I have to mainly vote all at once because if I'm focused on writing post all day and then I try to promote the posts by upvoting other people it makes it tough. Please Consider upvoting my most recent post. I just upvoted you! It basically goes over my initial thoughts of the platform after being on for a week. https://steemit.com/steem/@brianphobos/first-pool-meeting-on-steemit-initial-thoughts-and-advice-from-someone-who-has-made-money-online-since-2008

Thanks. This could be considered link exchange in away but I upvoted your post as well because I liked what it said!

Thanks for this post, now im understand what is Voting Power.

If you are a minnow, you won't get curation rewards unless you have voted before a whale.

The best strategy for minnows is to concentrate on writing, and when voting, vote for good new stuff that whales haven't discovered yet.

I was an early adopter on posts that went from 50$ or 300$ when I voted to thousands and I still didn't get anything. Your strategy is good, but when it comes to voting for very good content, if it gets too successful, you might be just too small for it unfortunately.

You need to vote when the posts are worth cents - during the period when the post is between 15 minutes and 2 hours old. After that, if you are a minnow, you won't get much.

Very informative.

Welcome to the Steemit community. I have added you to my list of people to follow and I hope that you will do the same.

I have also created a blog here as well and would like to ask if you would kindly contribute some of your knowledge to the community and perhaps answer a question or two I have posted on the link below.

By any means. Here is the link to my blog:
https://steemit.com/@question-answers

Thank you in advance for answering a few simple questions! Your answers really assist the community and to keep it growing!

Cheers!

That explains why I keep see a blue right away when i submit a post. I thought I keep hitting the button wrong.

:) Glad it helped.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60704.04
ETH 2914.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32