Why Social Blogging is Revolutionary

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

140 Characters Is Not Enough To Share Your Perspective

In today's episode of The Andrarchy Show I depart from the interview format of the first two episodes (more coming soon though) to discuss what exactly Steemit is and why it's revolutionary. As I explain in the video, Steemit is a social blogging platform and while that might not sound especially groundbreaking, that Steemit facilitates the sharing of people's genuine and nuanced perspectives is the real reason why so many people fell in love with the platform even in its imperfect, beta, form and why I think the financial incentive, while important, was really secondary.

However, as @cryptogee pointed out in his article Addressing Steemit's Social Confusion this is not without its difficulties. But if we can understand why this combination is both powerful and desirable, and if we are able to implement a solution that leverages this unique value proposition, Steemit will become a force to be reckoned with.

                               **Audio** 

Sort:  

I think something should be done to incentivize commentary / discussion. Steemit says it's subjective proof of work, but the fact is, there's no way of telling if a person consumed the post intelligibly. A post upvote doesn't mean that.

A good solution will be this - an option to set X % of post payout for commentary / discussion distribution. As the owner of the post, your votes on your post's comments will be amplified by the reserved post payout. This way, it's not so much your SP that matters. In your domain (your post), you have a say on how to allocate good chunks of the payout to great comments. (Now I'm trying a more ghetto approach by reserving part of my post payout for great comments, manually sent. Just saying this could be an in-built feature that weighs itself through your votes on comments in your own posts)

Personally, I think if we fill part of the front-page of Steemit with interesting posts, with well-rewarded civil comments / collabs / discussions / debate / problem-solving, this will get plenty of potential users into the platform.

What whales need to look out for: Interesting posts + Account owners that are known to be mindful, responsive, and really cares about their materials. There's a motivation to learn different stuff, and try contributing. There may be a case for such a culture - everyone's a creator and valuable consumer at the same time. Let's build stuff together, and be rewarded for participation.

Interesting idea, Kevin. I still think about how awesome it was early on to see great comments earn huge rewards. Maybe that just means you and I need to become whales and save some voting power for great comments. :)

I agree. I wonder how much the low price of steem has to do with that. I remember when one upvote from me gave a comment 25 cents. That alone is enough to encourage thoughtful comments, but just a few more votes could give you legit rewards.

Yup let's say the top influencers want to obtain useful solutions / opinions / feedback from the crowd, they could sponsor (or differently, upvote) a post that will handle the purpose for that post well. Or let's say my music company needs a new profile re-writing, others may sponsor my post (or I could sponsor an amount into that post myself) to bloat up the payout amount requesting for the crowd for contribution.

An SP distribution mechanism will amplify my votes for comments according to the sponsored amount (which is essentially part of the payout). I think i'll get a pretty decent profile writeup at the end of it..

Just an example..

since I started using a bot to vote, I stopped upvoting comments to save voting power for the bot

I believe this problem solving, interactive post is relevant to the OP and this comment
https://steemit.com/steemit/@mrwang/video-is-this-fixable-auto-problems

That's awesome @mrwang, though a lil on the higher barrier side, but looks like there are plenty of auto experts here!

I like the fact that I pulled some auto enthusiast out of the community and not only interacted with them.. but gained some pretty cool new followers and people to follow because of it. They are really excited to be helping troubleshoot my car problems via steemit for the whole community to check out and/or be involved in as well

Hi I am pretty much a minnow here. Interesting comment that you have here. But whales are downvoting some posts that generate a lot of comments. Jealousy of the authors maybe?

Well said. Reputation matters and social networks with effective reputation systems will continue to rise in value as we merge our offline and online identities and begin to see them as the same thing. I too enjoy non-conflict discussions and when I do get into conflicts here they seem odd, as if I dipped back into some primitive world again. I also like that I can interact with people who are very much not like me, but yet appreciate my perspectives and are willing to engage in meaningful ways with me so we both grow and learn.

Long posts are a good way to build reputation, especially for those who want to read them. I also think Steemit has an exciting future because it can be many things to many people. Some may enjoy shorter posts while others will build games and unique interfaces on top of the steem blockchain. It's going to be interesting to see where it all goes.

This is really great! Since I started using Steemit I always felt like it was superior just as a social media site, even besides the underlying revolution of it. Wasn't 100% sure if I was kidding myself or what, but it always felt that way. I think what you say about quality engagement over just having engagement hits the nail on the head. (resteemed fwiw)

I'm really looking forward to Steemit overtaking YouTube. A tactic on YouTube is to use a clickbait headline, and many content creators will deliberately stir drama and pick fights for attention, and be totally conscious of it as "that's just what you do". And ya they're right, given the incentive of being paid for engagement rather than engagement that leaves the user happy and satisfied. So same idea as what you were talking about with Facebook. Steemit encouraging a normal and civil way of interacting with each other online is a breakthrough in its own right.

Yes! I've thought the same exact thing about YouTube and clickbait titles and don't feel the same pressures here. Clickbait titles could actually hurt because of the flagging mechanism.

Great video, wonderfully stated!

I think we all see the revolutionary potential here - I've been very happy using this as a way of showing some of my content and seeing if there are ways I can make it better. Doing this has been helpful for me to feel more motivated and confident in posting creative work publicly. It seems like a good tool for learning and growth.

I agree 100%. The crowd is a wonderful teacher.

Oh wow, i felt like kissing u at the end!! I loved the video, this should be shown to investors

Thanks I guess? ;)

You pretty much hit the nail on its head with this one! Thank you for making this video :)

Thank you for liking it!

Yes! It is awesome. As an artist I find it an amazing platform to communicate, inspire, and collaborate with others. No limitation of location or time zones.

I think here is too much noise which makes finding like-minded people quite hard. Focusing on (sub)communities instead of individual users would probably help: https://steemit.com/steemit-ideas/@samupaha/how-to-make-steemit-better

That is exactly the thoughts behind new projects like SteemTrail

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 61006.67
ETH 2417.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61