The resteem heard around the world! (Experiment + Bonus)

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Greetings friends and followers!

I was talking with a friend about the resteem feature and how useful it is.  He doesn't seem to think there's much value in resteeming any post.  In fact his exact words were "Why should I care?".


Despite the cynical outlook I have to admit, it is a good question!  I am always glad whenever presented with the opportunity to step back and examine the true causes behind my unconscious assumptions.  In order for someone to take the time and effort to pay attention, they need to understand that it benefits them, even if they don't know exactly how.  This is human nature.

Let's take a look at the ups and downs of resteeming, and then do a little experiment to get a better understanding.

Quality

By resteeming content, you are promoting the type of quality material that you like to see from your peers.  In a sense you are saying "This is so good, I want to share it with the world."  It gives your followers a good understanding of what their audience likes to see as well.

Interaction

Aside from replying and upvoting, you can show your interest by resteeming.  The author will appreciate you expanding their audience.  Your followers will enjoy the good content, made by people who they may not have known before.  It helps you build a community up around your common interests.


Curation

By resteeming posts that you have voted on, you increase the potential for others to vote after you.  Your curation rewards depend heavily on the value of votes that come after yours.  This means more money for you as the value grows!


Drawbacks

With every benefit comes it's drawbacks.  Resteeming a lot can bury your original work under pages and pages of content you shared.  This could make it difficult for a prospective follower to find out exactly what kind of author you are.

Followers could also be turned away if you are resteeming content that is of bad quality or entirely different than what they like to view.  Flooding people with garbage can tempt them to unfollow you fast.

                                                                                                                                             

All together, I believe the benefits of resteeming other steemate's posts far outweighs the negative effects when practiced in moderation.  I will surely utilize this tool more often from now on.


Experiment

As an example of this features capabilities, I would like to conduct an experiment.  I ask that every who views this post, go ahead and resteem, then leave a comment to let me know exactly how many followers you have at the time of your resteem.

I will create a spreadsheet and document every single one, and share the results.  Let's see how many people we can reach!


BONUS!

Drop a link to one of your posts in the comments and I'll resteem it for you.  It may just be the little push you need to moon!


If you found this post through a resteem, give them a shoutout and they will recieve a super special reward from me!

At the time of posting this, I have 186 wonderful followers.  <3 you all.

As always,

Thanks for stopping by
Good Luck and Enjoy!

Sort:  

Your friend sounds like an A-hole, you deserve better hahahah

HAHA he definitely can be. How many followers, and which link shall I resteem for you?

All of them! hahahaha

Whichever one you like, I only ask that you try to read it, at least get the gist of it, I think "Optimism at the end of the World 1 " is my best so far

Always. I hate when people pretend to read lol. Maybe you'll get 2 resteems if I like the posts enogh ;-)

<3 I told you last time, I don't remember why I followed you but I remember you left a good impression on me.

I am guilty! I skipped the last paragraph and almost missed that I was supposed to resteem this. I don't really like resteeming just for the sake of resteeming and this is a kind of sleazy way to go about getting attention for a post but I like you so I'll do it just this once.

I've got 108 followers

HAHA thanks, I appreciate that. I am not trying to be sleezy at all. I am genuinely curious about the possibilities. I am making a spreadsheet to see just what we are capable of :-)
Thanks again for taking part.

Hahah you better share that spreadsheet!

I don't think you are a sleazy person at all, I can usually tell pretty quickly. I just know it can be frustrating trying to get to a point where your posts reach people. I think we are doing really well though for 3 weeks.

Yea we definitely are! Keep up the good work man. You can be sure I'll share the spreadsheet. Keep an eye out for that post when this one cools off. :-)

if it is not to late I would also take part
https://steemit.com/poker/@flipstar/playing-cards-in-asia

resteemed this post also

It's never too late until 6 and a half days after posting. Thanks for taking part!
You and your followers are appreciated :)

Compelling as always. You might be the chosen one. #BrownNosing

https://steemit.com/alexander/@vmsolutionsltd/naked-in-the-garden

this is the first gif thats given me goosebumps.

Voted up 👍🏼, and followed ... let's help each other 👌

That is one trippy gif my friend. How many followers and what link do I share for you?

At the time of this post I have 37 followers. Please Resteem this as I feel people need the vibes.
https://steemit.com/alexander/@vmsolutionsltd/naked-in-the-garden

Documented and shared. Thanks for taking part my friend :)

Thanks! Documented, voted, resteemed. I was already one of you 181 followers ;-) You're the best.

Aww schucks. And tell everyone I said thanks.

I don't love the resteem - mostly cos my feed is showing me more stuff I'm not interested in that stuff I am. However, I like what you're doing here so why not.

93 followers.

I think this post has a catchy title! https://steemit.com/health/@choogirl/i-got-invited-to-participate-in-group-vaginal-steam-clean

I can definitely understand where you're coming from. However sometimes I am pleasantly surprised! Especially when I have the chance to expand my interests :).
Thanks so much for taking part!

Fun XD

I currently have 116 followers. How are you going to track this thing? o_O

ps - if it helps I found it from @whatamidoing XP

Awesome! Thanks @ryivhnn. @whatamidoing now is great!
I realize that I forgot about the shoutout part. Thanks for reminding me, I have edited the post to reflect this :)
Which link would you like me to share for you?

Haha cool, hope that helps your tracking at least a little bit. Though if it takes off enough you may need a web rather than a spreadsheet XD

Erm...ahh...crap I donno [flail] I'll let you pick if you see anything that catches your eye, otherwise can I take a rain check for the piece I'm working on atm? XD

Yay thanks XD

Also how long you running for and what are you checking for? Just how far the post went? If anyone's follower count went up?

I probably should have asked these earlier, but there was too much blood in my caffeine system at the time XD

I will share the statistics at 12 hours, 24 hours and 7 days. I am looking to see how many people the post reached, and how many people interacted because of those resteems.

There's the legend :-p

I'm known far and wide. ish

You're a true hero to those despised, real excrement of the world like me xD

you have convinced me ..I have re streamed your post :)

Thanks! I resteemed your last post as well :)

Thoughtful post. Resteemed.

Awesome thanks. How many followers do you have and which post shall I resteem for you?

Documented and resteemed.
Thanks for taking part in the experiment! :)

Hey thanks. How many followers do you have and which post wold you like me to resteem for you?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17