Being That This Is A Social Platform – Let’s Do Some Creating and Growing Together!!! (and there is a giveaway – you should check it out)

in #creativity7 years ago (edited)

Being a geek and a writer, I am always on the lookout for books that will help me improve myself and my creativity. Scary thought, right? But I didn’t get to be @clevercreator overnight. Yes, I have that smidge of different, but that is not the entire story.

Here is your chance to participate and learn to crush boxes! I am going to be doing exercises out of the book:

The Sound Of Paper -- Starting From Scratch

By Julia Cameron

It is a series of essays that are followed by exercises to bring out the creative in you. While this book is geared at artists and writers – I have used this book to bring about the creative in even the most gray suit-type folks you could possibly conceive of.

Being that I am a big fan of protecting everyone’s intellectual property – take the time to invest in the book because I will not be typing the exercises word for word. I will give a general overview of the essay and the exercise. Then I will include my entire work that I put into the exercise.

The Sound Of Paper was the book that got me off and running to complete my book, Lost Lizzy. I even wrote it by hand – all 80,000 plus words and worked a full-time job.

My copy is well-loved – as you can see from the picture. The other weird thing is that my copy had a printing mishap, and I love the weirdness of my book so I kept it, to work from. But I have purchased a correct version to work through these exercises, with you. Please feel free to put any questions below, I will be happy to assist with helping you work through these exercises.

IMG_0115.JPG

The first exercise will be posted this Monday. And the schedule (for these exercises) will be Monday, Wednesday, and Friday – afternoon. We will work through them, in the order that they appear in the book.

I look forward to seeing your work in the comments!!

++++++Keep in mind that images from magazines and such may not be posted on this site (even under creative commons) as we are earning money. If an exercise calls for pictures, please either draw awfully (like me) or find images from one of the online sites that allows for commercial reuse. ++++++

Can’t decide what to post or how to handle the amazing Steemit – Then follow @clevercreator to get your creative thoughts a flowing. And upvote and resteem to make the following things possible…

My Current Give Back Programs

10% of the earnings from this post are set aside to fund domestic abuse projects that are designed and maintained by @clevercreator – I am currently working towards building a long-term assistance program.

10% of this post will be given back to the SteemIt Community through the amazing folks I find while doing my curation rounds.

As my earnings grow, these percentages will go up as well.

AND THEN THE GIVEAWAY
Every post that exceeds $100, and then multiples of 100 ($200, $300, $400, etc.), I will send out a wonderful and new ;) composition book, WITH a handwritten note signed by yours truly, @clevercreator – But wait there are rules…

  • Your comment must be the most voted
  • Include in your comment what you would like to focus on in the letter (maybe something to encourage you or an idea
    that you need help with)
  • For every multiple of $100 this post earns, that many folks can will be able to win…so if the post earns $311.13, then
    there will be 3 wonderful folks that will see this book and letter come to them
  • You address must be deliverable by standard mail – I am sorry, at this time, I cannot afford a courier
  • Yes, you can live outside the United States and win
  • You can only win once every three months
  • You must have an active SteemIt account at the time the post pays out
  • Of course, the most important rule – have fun and get the discussion going

IMG_0117.JPG
composition book .jpg

Copyright © 2017 by Diamond Sutherland, All Rights Reserved.

Sort:  

Great idea! Let's get everyone involved :)
Never heard of the book, but I'm interested.

My goal is to make it fun and by working in a group folks are encouraged to actually participate.

I appreciate you.

Yes, participation is better than followers, votes and dollars to me. Keep it up :)

I'm intrigued. I'm also a lousy writer. I have lots of ideas but dialogue escapes my creative abilities. Also, spellcheck is my close personal friend... :-)

You are welcome to join along. The book is the Sound of Paper. Feel free to comment in the posts if you have any questions.

My goal is to help everyone find their creative voice :)

thanks for this great idea @clevercreator Im going to try to stick with this and see what churns out

Followed. I will be your biggest cheer section. Amazing things happen when you invest in yourself.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59368.30
ETH 2461.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45