Retail Wreck? Over 1,000 Stores Close in a Single Week

in #economy7 years ago

 "It's been a tough week for the retail industry, with more than 1,000 stores closing their doors for good. Luxury retailer Michael Kors announced it would be closing over 100 locations, and electronics giant Radio Shack closed 1,000 locations across America.The retail industry, which represents $5 trillion in economic impact, has changed significantly over the past several years. More than 100,000 retail workers have lost their jobs since October 2016."

More...

Man, this recovery is doing GREAT! I can't wait until it really starts picking up. Good thing all this manufacturing is popping up to fill in the much needed gaps.

Sort:  

Intersting. I a lot of blame can go to E-shopping.

It's a symptom of a service based economy. E-shopping puts pressure but its no more than 20 percent.

That's a fair point. Radioshack is also quite expensive from my experience. It's the reason I haven't shopped there in years.

Canary in the coal mine perhaps?
and yes it is expensive

I've never heard that expression before. Good to know xD

I can usually buy the same product online and have it delivered for less than the price at the store.

Unless i need the product immediately, i usually don't buy at the store.

Agreed. Huge online shopper myself. The shipping times are great these days.

I'm not terribly concerned about the big box chains, but everyone should support their local small businesses where they can.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59608.09
ETH 2475.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46