A Test of Trust... Who Are Your True vs Fake Followers?

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

A Test of Trust

Do you want to know what's the method to check on this. You don't need a Steemit tool, scientific method or technology to check on them. A simple method will do... Just follow them back. This is a Test of Trust and I have proven that this method works by catching hundreds of them who were currently have been added to my blacklist register. If you have been thinking of giving them (the Fake Followers) a second chance, just forget it... Nature Cannot Be Changed. The moment you re-added them to your list, they will again unfollow you. I have tested this also and that's how the blacklist register came about. Todate I have over 100 people registered in my blacklist register.


Source

Respect for Respect

Since I joined Steemit, I stick to my principle of respecting people who followed me by following them back. I believe those newbies deserve to be given chances so that they too can build their own good numbers of followers, a motivation to keep on going in this platform. I trust that the respect that I gave to anyone by following them would mean that they will continue to follow me after I followed them back. But this was not the case for some of them. To those who have been doing it the wrong way, trust me you cannot succeed in this platform this way, there is no shortcut to success.

Steemit is Different

I have read too many articles saying that Steemit is unlike other social media. It is not Facebook which you follow people easily, means follow for follow. But I don't know why I am reluctant to follow that advise. I continue to carry on my chosen way till now. That's why you can see that the number of my followers and followings are quite the same as I also have my favorite authors to follow so my followings will be slightly more than my followers.

Unity Is Strength

Holding this principle of mine has a set back. After a while I realized that the numbers just don't tally. I well understood how much the difference between my followers and my followings. So to clear the doubt in my mind, I started doing a checklist to compare my followers vs my followings. And to my surprise, some of them has unfollowed me the moment I followed them back. Phew... that's kind of nasty right and selfish right. It's like I was lured to follow them and they were just waiting to be added and once followed, they will immediately unfollow you. I have been wondering what's the reason of doing that, isn't it weird?

Conclusion

I hope you will also maintain a register of your followers like mine. I make it a discipline to make a weekly comparison exercise (followers vs followings). It is tedious but must be done to protect your own interest. Somewhere here, some people were having such a big followings through this cheating method. We cannot fight them all, but we can prevent it from happening to us.

Take care everyone and Stay Blessed.


Yours truly,
signature_3 (1).gif
signature_4.gif-

Sort:  

I'm aware of tools that can be used to discover your "dead followers", but this offers a new perspective to the issue.

I don't have a blacklist, but I have a hand written list of individuals that I get the most value from.

I make it a priority to interact with these individuals.

PS I will copy this message to HHG 6

Hi @jacksondavies, it's like solving a mystery for me. Before I tried using the dead followers tool but it cannot really give me the correct data as it has a certain time limit of tracing the dead followers. I also have my list of individuals that I like. It's good to keep both. It's like balancing an account for me. Hahaha. Have a good day!
PS I will copy this message to HHG 6

Well, I normally follow a person based on the articles they'd wrote, not the "F4F" - follow 4 follow style in Instagram O.o

Still, I agreed with your thoughts, we must gain our respect here, by being a true and genuine person :)

Hi @wilhb81, I agree with you. I used to do that, that's a good way. But for me, I treat it differently due to the fact I am supporting newbies with my efforts. Both have pros and cons. But still I think you need to check your followers in disguise. I hope you don't have. Just to be cautious okay.

Well Ainie, I also keep on checking my followers list and i also follow the rule “follow for follow”. It’s a easy way to trust people. Thanks for one more great post Ainie. Take care😊
P/S: will copy this comment to HHG6

Hi Shanu, follow for follow is not so healthy actually. It has pros and cons. The only way to understand your true vs fake followers is to maintain a register like mine. Can you imagine I have now over 3000 followers. My list is growing by the day and so it become so long for me to do. But I feel it is the best thing to do rather than not care about it. I watched many users who have rubbish contents but their followers were amazingly too many. I observed and checked their stats and you can see that they practically just add anyone and then they waited until they were being added to the list and then zass they will immediately unfollow. This is a very selfish tactic but practice by many. My objective is just to protect my own interest. You know with the numbers of my followers, bad people can take advantage easily if I am not careful with it. Thanks Shanu.
P/S: will copy this comment to HHG6

@ainie.kashif - This indeed a very interesting article. Perhaps you must do a post on the blacklist register :0

Hi @rlt47, I am still pondering on it... the blacklist... hehehe
P/S: will copy this comment to HHG6

Hello @ainie.kashif, is a riddle that you follow and follow, my way is to see who votes me, and I always take a new income randomly to support them, sometimes I check my list and choose several randomly and vote.
PS I will copy this message to HHG 6

Hello @rvag5, how are you. I practice the same also. I appreciate those who always gave me upvotes. They are the silent supporters who must be acknowledge no doubt. I will follow them to show my appreciations. Yes, that's a good practice to do. Thanks @rvag5 and have a pleasant evening.
P/S: will copy this comment to HHG6

I have been wondering about this. Also I have a question maybe you can answer. I want to follow certain people and not get muddled down by some that I don't even though I support them. There is a mute button beside their name in the following register, does that just make their content not show up?

Hi @teggit, yes the mute button works that way. I never use them though.

Thank you @ainie.Kashif I feel I am just getting lost in a lot of followings and then I can't find who or what I want very fast. I am going to do my check of unfaithful followers today.

That's good to know. Don't forget to copy your comments here to HHG6... take care @teggit and thanks so much for resteeming my post. Keep calm and Stay Blessed!

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Thanks @followforupvotes, appreciate so much.

You got a 3.03% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @ainie.kashif!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60255.54
ETH 2640.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55