Steemit: The Curation Leagues - SBD and Delegation Prizes!

in #steemit6 years ago

Hi all!

The Curation Leagues have grown dramatically over recent weeks. This has led to a restructuring of the prizes, and the information displayed.

To enter the leagues until you say otherwise, drop a comment below!

On your marks, get set, curate!


TITLE.png


Introduction

My general views on maximizing curation rewards (to score highly in League 1) are:

  • Voting in the first minute will earn you a curation reward of almost 0.000

  • Voting between 1 and 29 minutes will earn an increasing % of the curation rewards split, this value peaking at 30 minutes and remaining the same from this point onwards

  • The goal is to get in prior to the big hitters, but not too early!

  • It is commonly suggested that 20-25 minutes is the 'best' time to vote (especially on known 'power author' posts because they are likely to have more auto-votes coming in at these times - and you want to be ahead of these votes)

  • A vote of equal weight and equal Steem Power at 30 minutes will give more reward than a vote at, for example 1 hour - first come first served, but don't arrive to early :)

  • Voting on good dtube content and utopian-io approved contributions (prior to the vote by @dtube / @utopian-io )can earn some very good curation rewards

  • Voting on @ocd posts is likely to gain good curation rewards as founder @acidyo, and @anomadsoul support these posts after giving time for other accounts to vote - you will be in front of a couple of large votes here!


As you can see, a combination of many variables such as Steem Power, voting strength, voting weight, time of vote, (and more) all play a part in the amount of rewards received.

My general opinion on maximizing engagement (to score highly in League 2) is:

  • Spread your vote and write lots of engaging comments!

The data for league 1

The raw data has been collected from SteemSQL - @arcange's MS SQL Server copy of the Steem Blockchain.

SteemSQL is now a monthly subscription service and so your support in this post is greatly appreciated!

The key formula used for 'quality of financial curation skill' is:

Curation Rewards DIVIDED BY Steem Power MULTIPLIED BY 1000

This will return the amount of Curation rewards gained per 1000 Steem Power held


The rules (which will cause auto-filtering of your account if not met so just enter anyway and see what happens!) to appear in this league:

  • Must have voted at least once on a piece of content in the past 7 days

  • Must not have leased or delegated Steem Power in the last 14 days

  • Must not have Started a Power Down (withdrawal of Steem Power) in the last 15 days

The 2nd and 3rd points above are required to reduce distortion of the figures.

And, as curation rewards for the past week are actually taken from votes made up to 14 days ago, we need a 15 day window as mentioned above.

Don't let this put you off entering though - you will be automatically be excluded/appear depending on the criteria above.

Curating for maximizing returns - League 1

The end column is what I think is a genuine indicator of how well you are financially working the curation game with the tools,including vested Steem Power, that you have at your disposal.


Chart and Analysis

Amount of SP earned per 1000 Steem Power owned



This weeks' results:

  • @steemitri is the winner! 2nd last week, and 3rd the week before - The curating mannequin has reached the top and had this to say last week:

Great!

  • @miniature-tiger takes 2nd and is never far away from the top! He also contributes to, and curates utopian-io content :)

  • @r-bot (who is not a bot) takes 3rd spot and does an excellent job seeking new and unrewarded authors, showing that a small vote on a small post can give you nice rewards too.

  • @newbieresteemday is a new entry into 4th and also supports (as the name gives clue to) new authors.

  • @pataty69 in 6th also earns a prize - good job!

Well done all, 1 SBD coming your way!



Community Curation Excellence - League 2

This the newer league which is not based around rewards and relates to engagement.

Everyone currently on my master list has a chance here - delegation dealings or not.

I've used some metrics (which is the fancy way of saying that made up some numbers) relating to:

  • Posts (P)
  • Comments - number of (C)
  • Comments - outside of your own blogs (C E)
  • Comments - length in characters (C L)
  • Witness votes (W)
  • Upvotes to others (V)
  • Upvotes to different authors (U V)
  • Self-votes - a minus score for this one sorry! (S V)


Firstly, if you are placed in this league you are doing great!

There are currently 188 names registered and so a top 40 finish puts the names above in the top 20%.

I am sending 1 SBD to the top 10 in the league this week!

Well done to @davemccoy who tops the league of engagement and excellence again! Dave is a recent delegate of mine and is really showing how it's done with regards to community engagement here on Steemit, cracking stuff!

Also well done to @abh12345, @bashadow, @themanwithnoname, @lynncoyle1, @lyndsaybowes, @blazing, @amariespeaks, @nomadicsoul, @coolguy123 , and @maverickinvictus who also sneaks into the prize money ;)

Do you want to be a part of the leagues? Let me know below!

Calculations may vary from week to week but always with a goal to find top community engagers.


Prizes sent!

Curation League 1

Curation League 2

And new delegations to:

@themanwithnoname - 100 SP
@lynncoyle1 - 100 SP

A great job guys!

And well done ALL, carry on being awesome!


Finally

A few points:

  • If you have spotted any glaring errors in my post, please let me know so I can fix them

  • If you would like to be added or removed from my personal curation league, let me know

  • If you have any other comments or suggestions, please enter them into the box below


Thank you for your support, have a great day!

Asher @abh12345


Asher is a Steemfest 2 attendee who lives off the crypto he earns on the STEEM Blockchain.
He owns 1 pair of jeans and a bicycle and values engagement and community building here on Steemit above all else.
If you like this post and think it would benefit others, please consider an upvote, or a resteem, and a comment!

Sort:  

Wow how awesome is this to see so many of my friends here... I love the concept and glad to see everyone get involved!!!

I particularly like the second game "Asher's League of Excellence" ... lol ;)

Seriously Asher this is fantastic and I'm so honored to have won the 2nd league again this week. I know what kind of talented engagers we have in the league (@coolguy123 @goldendawne and of course you @abh12345), so its something that I will keep focusing on because we all push each other. :)

Its also nice to see how fast the new entrants are picking up the importance of commenting. I don't need to even list them, they all know I'm proud to see their efforts!

I'm also grateful that you let @newbieresteemday enter as well... That will motivate and encourage the ABC's of Curation to continue to improve and realize how important "discovery" is to the platform. And btw, congratulations to @amariespeaks @beeyou and @charisma777, the ABC's of Curation have done an outstanding job of discovering newbies and supporting them! (ps... and thanks to you too @coolguy123, without your sacrifice this wouldn't be possible)

I also want to congratulate @themanwithnoname and @lynncoyle1 for your generous delegations! I know them both well and I'm sure you will be proud of what they will do with it! They are both amazing human beings and a major asset to steemit!

I also want to thank you for the prize you awarded me. It is very much appreciated and I will put it to good use soon (stay tuned, I think you will like how I spend it)... ;)

Asher thank you so much for your contributions of time, energy, and money...But I also want to thank you even more for your dedication to making steemit a place that encourages great content and amazing interactions!!! You are underappreciated by the people at the top for what you do, but not by us at the bottom. We know how much you've helped us and we can't say thank you enough!

Have a terrific day and week... And I can see you will be pushing me, so I better get to work now! ;)

@davemccoy, I’m starting to dread the word ‘stay-tuned’ from you. We talk daily but yet you surprise me all the time with new activities or news. Congrats for making it on to the top again. I’m not surprised on that one 😉.

@abh12345, we really do appreciate your support to #newbieresteemday and our members. You’ve made many delegations to our members and support everyone in so many different ways, i.e, SP delegations, stopping by our blogs (thank you) and continuously motivating our community members.

You and @coolguy123 have been exceptional role models to us.

Stolen from your recent post If you can't stomach Whale-balls every day, there are other options

May I suggest that a more palatable method to success and happiness here on the Steem Blockchain can be achieved by looking down the ladder, and not up.

Ways to lend a hand - There is more than just an upvote.

Mentor someone or a community

Not only did you tell it outright, you walked the walk! Thank you for insiring us all!

Yes I agree with everyone here, you are right about your comments about Asher and @coolguy123!!! And I don't know how you find the time to find gems like you found on Asher's post, but my hat is tipped to you @allseeingbee!

And have a few more things I'm working on, so "stay tuned" ;) lol

Thank you @beeyou for the appreciation, you are doing a good job with inspiring newbies and commenting to encourage us.

yeah, each of those copied contents from @abh12345 are truly being followed by himself and that's a commendable job.

Thanks @coolguy123. :)

I agree. Some people talk a great game, but are not truly sincere. I know Asher mean everything he says.

Well said @beeyou! I couldn't agree with you more :)

Congratulations to you as well Dave! You certainly deserve it. I'm so honoured be on the receiving end of Asher's generosity and so thankful to have met and become a part of such an awesome clan :)

Thank you Lynn! And yes it is an honor and you deserve it! You will use it wisely and I know you will bring lots of energy to everything you do! I'm happy to be part of any clan you are a part of! :D

Thanks buddy, your words right back atcha :)

Your mastery over words is again visible in this comment @davemccoy and thanks for mentioning me.

Congratulations for topping the league 2 again and I know this is is just the beginning of many such congratulations messages to you.

It's not easy to work on a community building act(with newbieresteemday) and then comment so much on others posts with so much of information, but you, @goldendawne and now @abh12345 are making it a regular activity and definitely being role models to others.

Have a nice day :)

Thanks for that compliment @coolguy123 and I know you know how hard it is because you do so yourself. I have been so far behind with launching the friendsofgondor site and newbiegames that I miss our wonderful exchanges... (lol, its only been 2 days but it seems like 2 months) ;)

I think we as a group (all of us here in @abh12345's league) will be the future force in the steemit platform because we have learned what is really important here. Asher has done all of us a great service by running this, but we as a group of individuals should be patted on the back too because we are willing to use the tools that he is providing us!!!

thank you for the mention @davemccoy :-D ! every one is really picking up the pace and it's so nice to see a bunch of names I know make the league of excellence! Congrats on taking the lead again!

:) ... thank you very much @amariespeaks ... and yes I love seeing the names I know on this list... It the list to be on!!!

lol @davemccoy it definitely is ! never was one of those "cool" kids but you know what it feels pretty damn good to have made it on The List :-D

lol... I don't know what your school was like, but you are one of the coolest people ever so you would've been the homecoming queen in my school! ;)

Hey @amariespeaks...You, @beeyou and @charisma777 deserve it for all you do to find talent deserving of a little focus and support. Nice job ;)

Well I didn't think it was possible, but I think you've just topped your previous comments with this one Dave.

Thank you, that is a really kind thing to say. How can I not vote you to the top of my blog after that!?

I'm so happy I set this thing rolling, the comments I receive each week make it completely worth my time and money, and I wish I could vote you all to the moon.

Thanks for being here!

Asher, I have been meaning to reply to this for the last 2 days. But I wanted to have the time to reply to you with my full attention

You have been such a positive influence into every aspect of what I have been involved with, I want you to know that you've been a great teacher and role model! On top of that, I want you to know that your tools (metrics) have shown me more about what I need to know than anything else here. They have shown me that this platform is so early that I can barely tell we have started. In baseball here in America it would be like the first pitch to the first batter in the first inning. We have much work to do and the group that you have attracted here are going to be the players in the future.

Engagement is the key to building any social network. The stats you presented "with the bots" show how little engagement there really is here by the humans. Otherwise we wouldn't recognzie 1/2 of all the top 50 humans on the list. Think about that for a minute.

You now have "THE" league to be in if you want to know the future connectors and influencers. Yes the names will change and the ranks will shift around due to various factors, but the bottom line is that the people that engage most will have the most real relationships over time and that is a factor that will be amazing!

I just wanted you to know, in case my teacher hadn't already considered it!!! ;)

Have a great day!!!

Thanks Dave!

Apologies for my slow response, I took a break yesterdays and for most of the day today too - I'm back on top of my replies, saving this one until last.

I'm proud/honoured/embarrassed to receive these words and appreciate the time you take each time to write them. And I think this is a key aspect to my positive influence - I try to make the time for almost every reply i receive, as well as make my way out to other blogs (although this is getting tougher!) and give support there.

I think most people are aware that Steemit is upside down with regards to engagement and quality content - most of this is taking place in the lower ranks. And so this is where I choose to engage, and try to encourage the keen to stay on track. I really do think that engagement is the grease to the Blockchain, and without all these comments flying around things would look a bit bleak for the platform.

Thank you again for your support in turn, and for almost doubling the entries into THE league :)

Omgosh Asher, never worry about responding quickly to me. Honestly I know how busy you are and I also realize how hard it is to keep up. I myself are days behind in my comments, but things just keep popping up to do. So I do my best, and I'm sure you do too! So you have my full respect and never think that you have to respond back!

One point on the fact that most are aware of the "upside-down-ness" of the engagement, it is relatively new to me. Your league is very responsible for turning on the lightbulb in that regard. You have always come across as a humble guy, but you really need the higher ups to see what your stats show. Maybe this is something that they know and don't care, but my guess is they have heard but didn't really listen. If you ever need my help in "tooting" your horn in this regard to get their, please let me know because I'm not shy when I'm passionate about making a point that I think is helpful.

You're welcome for my support and that goes both ways. I'm very thankful for the support you've shown me and also everyone else. You're engaging in the lower ranks will have a major benefit on many! ;)

Have a great day and always nice to hear from you Asher! :)

Ok that's good then, I'm happy to receive a reply on a topic, old or new.

It sure does take a lot of time and energy, as you know, to reach and support as many people as possible - what's the limit here, I don't know.

This is why I love delegating out to people who I know will further the message, in the same way that FTG did for so many.

...but you really need the higher ups to see what your stats show. Maybe this is something that they know and don't care,

Yeah... I think you could be right. Honestly, most don't need to engage to lift their follower base or Post earnings, it's dirty work to them and not required.

The user count has grown so much - can you imagine knowing almost everyone on the platform 18 months ago? :) You would be able to write a reply to everyone over the course of the week.

But yes, I'd like the numbers to been seen - and I think they are looked at by a few potential delegators, although I don't think much will happen during the current states of affairs, shall we say.

If thinks change though, I would expect to see some nice support for those greasing that dirty big Chain :)

Have a great day too!

haha... I like that ... the dirty big Chain!!!! :)

I understand your points and appreciate your insight!!!

Thnx for sharing.

A pleasure. Would you like to join in?

Thanks Asher!!! Finally Numero 1, haha!
So... now... I think it's time to leave League 1 and try League 2... what do you think? Do you have a spot available?
Big hug
Steemitri The Mannequin

Congratulations @steemitri

This just shows that many lives have been touch in this community through your effort and committment. Keep the fire burning.

Well done @steemitri! First place!

Everyone is entered in league 2, to win you need to type type type, good luck!

Yo... League 2 is tough... I know... just curious to see my position next week ;-)

For sure, 180 people on the list now!

My goal... in the top 100 ... Let's see ;-)

Oh wow I could have sworn that I would not be in the top 20 because I was busy with work stuff and recharging my energies. Having given out 500+ votes man that feels good, my next goal is to get at least 500 unique votes. 500 Stemians that I touched their lives.

I'll be sure to reach 500 comments!

I am so glad of these numbers and it feels good to be making such a difference in engaging the community.

Thank you as always!

I am happy to be trailing @coolguy123 who over 1201 unique votes!! man you are a monster

@moneyinfant you are so close in trailing me! Gotta go double time then hahaha

congratulations to @themanwithnoname and @lynncoyle1 for receiving delegations.

The 1 SBD prize you gave me is well appreciated and will go towards the Engagement Hero fund being runned by @steemitfamilyph to promote and encourage members to engage the whole Steemit community. We are pretty excited to see the outcome although of course I was banned from it hahaha.

This is your ripple effect, same as @fulltimegeek effect of engagement.

Thanks @maverickinvictus for appreciating the effort on votes.
Yes, that was one last week with so many votes I could cast, although that will be reduced from this week without the delegated SP.

You deserve an applause as well for the increase in number of comments and votes from your side.

Happy to be competing with you all and be among the list of @abh12345 which is now like one of the standard list of measuring the curation work.

Yeah @maverickinvictus, just made it to #13 this week. Haha Lucky #13! Need to up my game this week and then we'll see!

You're using your time well if you were distracted and still got such a high score. I'll have to work harder to stay ahead of you.

Having given out 500+ votes man that feels good

Doesn't it?! I like giving out as many votes as I can. Especially for the newer people, any amount can be a huge boost. Thanks, I'm looking forward to continuing to battle for the crown with you! :)

Congratulations @themanwithnoname! You deserve it for all of your witty, funny, educational and supportive comments :)

Awww, thanks. Well, congratulations to you too, because you're also witty, funny, educational, and supportive. In addition, you're nice! So there.

BTW, we haven't done an update in a while. I got down to 14% VP. I'm now trying to recover. you, on the other hand, are at 53%, so hats off to you! You win again. One of these days, I'll just have my wife hide the computer for 4 days and come back with full VP. That will be the day!

Well thank you as well; that's very nice too! So there ! :)
...we're even.
Oh wait, there's that VP thing. But you could win the prize for the lowest VP'er who still manages to upvote !:)
ok, perhaps I'm nicer haha

A great job man, good luck on reaching 500 next time!

Small ripples can make big waves - Not sure if that is true but it sounded good in my head! :D

Thanks for making engagement profitable :)

Thanks for appreciating what I'm trying to do here! :D

Congratulations to all winners and thanks to @abh12345 for putting this up and rewarding great curators and engagement on the steemit blockchain.

Thank you, trying my best and I see so much good coming out of this :D

Yeah

d I see so much good coming out of this

It has really added much to steemit and steem blockchain

HI there Asher, I have many friends I see on here. After three months this is my first intro to your posts!

Please enter me and thank you for this cool curation!

Peace. Eagle. xx @abh12345

Hi there!

Yes I certainly will.

The post is usually out on sunday, no need to ask each week to enter, cheers!

THANK you So much for the add! Cheers 🍻

Wow, that's a fun way to log on! Thank you @abh12345! Both for allowing me to be a part of the League, and for the generous delegation! I'll do my best to continue to spread it around.

And @davemccoy, one of these days I plan to take that engagement crown. Until then, well done!

My pleasure!

Your engagement is appreciated by the community, lets see if someone can topple @davemccoy this week!

WHAT a great job!!! Look at all these dedicated steemians!
Oh WOW! I am thrilled to see so many people from @davemccoy's newbieresteem initiative on the list!

And @davemccoy- awesome JOB!!! Two weeks in a row! Go get em!

And @coolguy123- always a pleasure to see your name!

KUDOS and LOUD cheers to all: @abh12345, @bashadow, @themanwithnoname, @lynncoyle1, @lyndsaybowes, @blazing, @amariespeaks, @nomadicsoul, @coolguy123 , and @maverickinvictus - LOVELY to see so many of you returning and new people entering the top ranks!!

Sadly, I have fallen down some- much to my own decision to start focusing on many more initiatives!

Well done everyone!!! I am excited to see how many more join the league and wish everyone GOOD LUCK and succcess!!!

thank you for the mention @goldendawne :-D super excited to have broke into the top 20 this week!!

So happy to see you up there @amariespeaks!! So many of our members are up there. How awesome is that!

I know right #newbieresteemday is making waves! its so good to see so many names I recognize making Asher's top 20

Slowly but surely! Our team rocks!

Way to go @amariespeaks! You, as always, are doing a fantastic job!

Oh, I am sad you dropped out of top 3 I think for the first time in league 2, but happy that you have still made it to the top 12!! Congratulations and it's understandable that you want to spend time on some other activities I am sure which are equally important to you.

Well yes, as you said, the members from #newbieresteemday and really making waves in these leagues which is surely a platform for them to get more exposure apart from what they are already getting through the efforts of ABC's and @davemccoy.

I wish you come back to top by next week. Have a good day :)

I'm not worried about it @coolguy123 - the way I am looking at this is.. I had my fifteen minutes of fame and my moment to shine for weeks. There are so many other talented authors on steemit coming aboard every day; and you know me... I love to give back, to help others and, with some new initiatives and incentives I'm looking at, I'm thrilled to still be a member of the Curation League. I always will be!

@abh12345 has been doing a GREAT job with promoting, giving visibility to so many dedicated members on steemit and bringing together a whole new group of steemians with the desire for success on the platform. (I curtsy to him... and send him a HUGE steemit HUG!)

I love to give back, to help others and, with some new initiatives and incentives I'm looking at

I know, even when we had a chat I think yesterday, you told about those new plans.

Best wishes for the new initiatives and I wish it all becomes a success story for you.

Have a nice day :)

Thanks for the congrats @goldendawne! And @abu12345 thanks for the sbd, wow I'm so grateful!

Thank you @goldendawne!

I'm so happy to see the list grow and people using this post as a guide to see how they can improve their engagement.

You totally deserve a rest and a change so do not worry, I'm sure you'll be back with a bang at some point!

Thanks so much @goldendawne! You are doing so many great things here; it's difficult to be awesome at everything, but in my humble opinion, I think you are!

Congratulations you have been resteemed as part of #newbieresteemday's top posts for the day!

We invite you to use our tag to connect with more of our members. To learn more: Come Join Us!!! (Newbie Resteem Initiative)

woop!

Thank you @newbieresteemday and congratulations on your top five finish in league 1!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 61841.74
ETH 3420.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47