If you can't stomach Whale-balls every day, there are other options

in #steemit6 years ago

And no matter who you are, or where you are, you can pull someone up the ladder behind you.

title.png


When you combine the Steem Power usage in self-voting, vote collusion, and Whale shilling, is it any wonder you've not been hit by that chunky upvote recently?

Pending payout is directly proportional to how well you can shill yourself to the whales

@liberosist - Understanding the free market (or how you should learn to stop worrying and not be butthurt)

You can check out the 'shill' taking place by visiting the wallets of many large accounts, reviewing the direct transfers to these accounts, and then visitng the upvotes on recent posts of the senders.

May I suggest that a more palatable method to success and happiness here on the Steem Blockchain can be achieved by looking down the ladder, and not up.


Ways to lend a hand - There is more than just an upvote

Mentor someone or a community

This will take time and energy, and so be careful of burnout.

How? Provide blogs and comments that answer common questions.


Provide instructions and guides

If you've found a technique that works for you, share it!

Bookmark definitive guides produced by others and share those too.


Provide encouragement and Ideas

You could do a vlog for dtube - You could write a how-to for utopian-io.

Boost others

Ever read a post and think you know someone with similar interests or could help in this area? Drop their name and credentials into a message.


Credit and use the ideas of others

Repeat the good ideas of others and cite them


Spot the hard-working underdog

See someone singing the praises of others, engaging tirelessly and positively across the community? These people you should befriend.


Help others with time-consuming tasks

Weekly reports, engaging posts that require feedback to comments - lend a hand with the comment curation, it will be appreciated.


Use your professional skills here

Marketing, IT, Art, Psychology, etc - Bring your skill set to the table, your knowledge can help others advance.


WHY?


helpothers.PNG


Supporting Evidence

happy5.PNG

happy2.png

happy1.PNG

happ12.png

happ4.png

happ3.png

happy6.PNG

happy7.PNG

happy8.png

happy9.png

happy10.PNG

happy11.PNG

happy12.png

I could go on, you know who you are - Thank you.


Opinions may differ over whether you'd rather wake up to a 10 SBD transfer to your wallet with a request to upvote a post, or the above...

... I know which I prefer.


Cheers

Asher @abh12345


1,2

Sort:  

I used to think it was all about the upvotes , until I realIed that mentality is not going to get me far now I’m trying to start a project to help others , though it might be slow at the start, I have faith

I think switching focus is a great idea and I wish you the best of luck!

Thank you !!

You are right sir

a more palatable method to success and happiness here on the Steem Blockchain can be achieved by looking down the ladder, and not up.

The more people we help come up the latter from down, the more success we and steemit blockchain make at large.

Thanks @samiwhyte, I'm glad you are here providing support around you.

You hit the nail on the head.

Everyone wants to look "up" to the heavy hitters to pad their accounts. While we all love a 500K+ person to come through and hit up our account, true success comes from continued effort with those who are looking up to oneself. That is where the action is.

One thing I did like about the SOG was the spirit of helping others out. It was pure, selfless, and done without fear. It was an act out of love...connecting all of us individually so we could grow this platform together.

Massive changes are rarely done by the masses. Most are followers. It is the minority that always are the ones to get in there, take a stand, roll up their sleeves, and get to work. SOG exemplified that. 40 or so people really made an impact on hundreds, if not thousands, on this site. It also instilled the idea of passing it on to all those people...hopefully many of them will use their SP for that purpose, no matter how small it is.

There are plenty of areas to give...people do not have to look too far to find that.

Thanks for another insightful post @abh12345.

Thanks for the supportive response @taskmaster4450.

I suppose that in the beginning you have little choice but to look up, but I think it's also worth looking around to see those around you and spotting the 'keen climbers' - form a community of these people ( hello #newbieresteemday ), and the journey should become easier.

Easier because your group can perform the items above, such as blowing each other's trumpet ( when it's appropriate and hello @davemccoy @beeyou #newbieresteemday ) and working on lengthy tasks like responding to competition entrants.

Thanks again and enjoy your day of 'rest'.

It is way past my bedtime to leave a proper response. You rock Asher. I do love the underlying words. Night!

I know that feeling!

Short responses are appreciated at times too, I know you have that community spirit in check!

In regards to using professional skills on steemit,I have been doing just that. I was a marketing coordinator years ago and I have used that skill and knowledge here. It's all about connection, making contacts and utilizing basic business know-how.

It has really assisted me in many ways.

Plus my love for writing, helping others and mentoring. All wrapped up, as my husband would say... it's the complete package.

Excellent!

I can see these skills shining out from what you do here, and it's great to have you around Dawne. Thank you!

You're welcome! Being here, on steemit, has definitely given me some unbelievable experiences!

The only thing that I have been looking up to is my voting power to be more than a penny lol. Oh and having more time to be on here. I believe that encouraging people and engaging with them in a positive way and helping them is the way to go. You are only at the top when you get the pure satisfaction of helping someone and seeing them achieve their goal. I love your post. It speaks true meaning of being human and being nice to one another. How we should be to everyone in real life. Thanks for sharing ^_^

Aww, thank you!

It sounds like you have adopted the right plan of action and I wish you good times here!

hey @foxyspirit, you are so right here! Only those who are truly selfless take great pleasure in helping others succeed. What a wonderful world it would be if only...But perhaps, with a little hard work and determination, we can all,together, make that happen here.

The world is what we make it, right? So let's make it right. :D

This is what I'm doing..I try to befriend talented people whose SP is too low rather than approaching the whales.

My blogs,I think, are mediocre considering many others who spend almost 8 or 9hours researching and writing a single blog..It would be painful to see the post going unnoticed with the dollar value $0.00 even after waiting for two days! But I'm sure,steemit is going to sustain for years and in those days these talented minnows will be the bosses..Making them my friends means I can learn a lot from them which in turns certainly would help me a lot in future.

Thanks @athyasankar

You make some good points that make me think to suggest that it is on other blogs initially that you should spend your time, earning the followers which will hopefully come to your content.

Good luck!

Community is such a huge part here. I wish I had found a place I enjoyed sooner than I did. I went a very long time without one after not liking the some of the places I tried out. I just prefer smaller places where I can do something that has impact.

Steemit is a strange and wonderful place at the same time. Sometimes people just need someone to be a little bit of light in their life and suddenly things become far more enjoyable. I’ve been spending little more time these days talking with people on discord. Red fish accounts are really fun to engage with on a personal level. They are so new and really just need someone to be the one to stick their hand out and offer some help. I’ve noticed after some long conversions suddenly their activity on Steemit and there wiliness to be active in community goes to an all-time high.

It is always interesting where the conversions tend to go. “If only a whale come by and upvote me just once that give me the start I needed.” Ah if only someone just spend hours typing to you so you could go out and perform better in the long run! I received a fair bit of help when I was new I’d take that over just getting a onetime vote from a massive account.

Recently I had been giving followfriday a go. I realized I could break it up and use it to for full a few things. First I could highlight a redfish/minnow that has been struggling but doing great work. Second I could focus on a minnow that I have been engaging with for quite a number of months now. Finally, I can share with people that follow me an account that been usually around for a while but not always massive that I just find has been doing outstanding.

Some of the more funner and interesting people i've meet on steemit where not from me finding their blog. It was from someone recommending them to me or people just kept talking about that person to the point i just had to see what i was missing out on.

This good reply got my attention. So I decide to follow you. Please get ready as I always ask lots of questions. But I would already be very happy if you just answer 1 in the coming weeks.

I might not always know the answer but I do tend to try my best. Researching and answering questions is best way to learn here.

What an excellent response containing some gems of information!

Recently I had been giving followfriday a go. I realized I could break it up and use it to for full a few things. First I could highlight a redfish/minnow that has been struggling but doing great work. Second I could focus on a minnow that I have been engaging with for quite a number of months now. Finally, I can share with people that follow me an account that been usually around for a while but not always massive that I just find has been doing outstanding.

Brilliant! This is how to Steemit!

So glad you are finding traction with activities like this. Thank you for providing insight and proof of what works!

I agree my friend. Well stated. Keep paying it forward brother!

Thanks @wwf!

You are one of the masters of the paying it forward 'ideal' and a credit to the platform.

Thank you for being here as a guide for many.

I believe than helping smaller users, even if we are small as well is basic for this community and this project to succeed in the long term.

As more people come to join the platform, the amount of help and advises will necessarily increase accordingly, and older/bigger users are certainly not enough to help such a massive amount of people.

In my case, I belong to a new community called @promo-mentors which was founded by @futurethinker , and in there we offer several of the things you mentioned, like for example:

  • Mentor someone or a community
  • Provide instructions and guides

We have mentors that actively help users in making better posts. Mentorships are for several subjects, like science, poetry. We even have spanish speaking mentors to help that community.

  • Boost others
  • Spot the hard-working underdog

We also do this with what we call "Encouragement boost". Which is where our mentors put the best post of users who receive little reward, so we can give them our community vote.


So I believe what you say here is spot on, and should be applied by more and more people. That's the only way to have sustainable growth, and if everything goes well, this year should be one with explosive popularity for steem.

Cheers mate.

I belong to this community and I can testify to the good jobs you guys have been doing there. I hope to rectify my power issues and become more active there.

This initiative is just what's required and should be the approach adopted collectively and individually.

You are right in saying there are too many people here for the bigger idea to reach, which leaves it to everyone to do their bit to support each other and the growth of the network.

Cheers!

Thank you for doing your best to grow and encourage the Steemit community! I was fortunate to enter a contest were I received a nice upvote a couple weeks ago, it was very thrilling! I really need to find a community on here soon, but im quite shy and dont want to intrude. I have had some repeat visitors on my posts of people I am beginning to know and talk to everyday, which is great! This is my first month and I am really enjoying learning as much as I can about Steemit and how complex it is. Its like a puzzle where every couple of hours I learn about a piece that I had idea existed! I know it must be a lot of stress to be a dolphin/whale on steemit... my goal is just to be a minnow for now, lol.

I have had some repeat visitors on my posts of people I am beginning to know and talk to everyday, which is great!

I'm very happy to hear this! It sounds like the puzzle pieces are starting to fall
Into place.

I understand what you mean by not wanting to intrude, but you can do it with some great comments (like this one) and hopefully be welcomed into your communities of interest.

Thank you for your comments today!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54441.42
ETH 2433.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.14