Welcome To Monster Rumble!

in #steemit-webcomics6 years ago (edited)

MythCreatures_Intro-Image-.jpg

Hey All!

This is my entry for this week's web-comic contest by @cobmaximus.

We have a pretty awesome topic this week.
This week, it's all about Monsters and Mythical creatures!

Ooooohhh so plenty of awesome to choose from.
My imagination just went on overdrive.
I had a couple of ideas, but which creature?
Hmmmm.. Hmmmm....

Then it hit me! Why not gather them up? Why feature only one creature?
So a story stormed inside my head. And man, I thought it was good... Really good.
But I also thought it was very ambitious and will require so much hard work.

I told Cob that I had some ideas (I selected two. One really simple, like a 3-panel comic
and the other one is the epic one).
I wanted to do both but I don't think I can finish on time. So Cob decided for me:

"Choose the ambitious one.."

So, I took the hard road and went on to finish the most epic comic I've ever done so far.

It took time..
It took guts..
Now it's here...

I'd like to give some warning first though. Some of the scenes here are too graphic.
So this is not the usual stuff I do. Squirmish people, please stay away.
Just kidding! Please check it out too.
I've drawn it in the most cutesy way I can. (you get to see a unicorn!)

And now for the feature presentation...

comic-entry-mythical-beastWIN.jpg

Yep. The invisible man was there all this time. Even in the first panel. He was riding the unicorn. When I was conceiving the story I already thought about him as the winner. But how do the other creatures lose? Hmm.. I thought the only real threat to him was the Wolfman because he can smell his presence, so I had wolfie taken out early by Dracula. How did Drac got the jump on him? The wolfman was too preoccupied with eating the delicious mummy and forgot all about the match! It was quite fun thinking about how to take down each mythical creature one by one. I pondered hard how to take out Dracula epicly and which creature to do it. A stake to the heart would kill him but which monster would carry the weapon?
Then I realized, why not make the stake, a unicorn? Thus my favorite scene in the comic was born. Have you ever seen a unicorn impale Dracula? No? Well there you go!

Frank is afraid of fire (cue movie: Hotel Transylvania!) but who could burn him? Well why not the unicorn too? So now you know that unicorns let out a deadly flatulence when they breathe their last breath. This is actual fact and totally not made up! Spread the word! Hehehe.

Designing the characters was really fun!
My inspiration was the cast of the animated film "Hotel Transylvania".
Here's a peek of my raw drawings on paper:

2018_0224_10091600.jpg
First I sketch them with a mechanical pencil.
Then use a 0.1 unipin and a 1.0 artline calligraphy pen for the ink.

I have these scanned and edited / colored via Photoshop where I also add the text.

And that's a wrap!
Man I'm exhausted!
I hope you all enjoyed it!

I’d like to say thank you again to @cobmaximus. His wonderful contest has inspired me to bring out the best, and has helped me improve very much.

I invite everyone to join in on the fun! The webcomic contest is done weekly. You may have an amazing story to tell on the next theme! We encourage even those who are not able to draw. You can use stickmen if you want to as long as you can convey the story that you have in mind.

If you'd like to see more of my webcomics, please drop by my steemit blog!
Stay tuned for more! I'll be posting a new one next week!

Here are some of the previous webcomics I made that you may want to check out:
-- At the end of the day.. The kids always win..
-- The Super Blue Blood Moon

Thank you so much for the support!

Ohana sig.gif

Sort:  

Oh dang, I forgot that unicorns fart fire when they die as well! Loved the surprise twist. This whole thing is hilarious, and thanks so much for the detailed post around what was already a really cool comic strip!

This post was nominated by a @curie curator to be featured in an upcoming Author Showcase post on the @curie blog. If you agree to be featured in this way, please reply and:

  • Let us know if we can quote text and/or feature images from your post.
  • If you would like to provide a brief statement about your posting, your life or anything else to be included in the article, you can do so in reply here or look me up on Discord chat (@gnashster#6522 ) or even (last resort) email, same username as here with ye olde gmail appended.

You can check out the previous week's Author Showcase to get an idea of what we are doing with these posts.

Cheers - Carl (@curie curator)

heavy breathing cat 1.jpg
Hi Carl!

It would be an honor to get featured in the Showcase.
Please go on ahead and use any part of the post.
I'll look you up on Discord for the other details.

Thank you so much for the interest in this ol' silly post.
I'm very happy you loved it!

Awesome! Thank you so much @carlgnash! This made my day! 😁

Great comic, nicely drawn and laid out. I even laughed out loud! Congratulations on the win and nice payout.


SDG

I'm so glad you liked it! Thank you so much for dropping by!

Moral Lesson: It's good to be invisible sometimes. Use silence to your advantage. Haha! You just gave all of us a good laugh, @guri-gure!

Use silence to your advantage.

This was something that was talked about at our Sunday school in church this week. Something my wife @lildebbiecakes is working on.


SDG

For introverts like me who find solace in silence, we forget that such can be used as a weapon, too, @sighmanjestah. Is it another of @lildebbiecakes awesome projects? Best of luck!

Cheers,
Jeanne

Hey @sighmanjestah! Ooohh I bet @lildebbiecakes is working on something very awesome. Can't wait for the surprise! :D

Hahaha yeah. Invisibility is one awesome ability!
Thanks for dropping by @jpmkikoy!

this is the best comic you've done so far no questions about it :D! I'm very happy you ended up making this comic :D! Raising the bar to all contestants :D!

Bro this is your fault! Hahaha! Thank you so much!

OMG the payout for this post!!! that's awesome dude!!!

OMG I know right? It's unbelievable! 😱

LOL! OH man that's hilarious hahaha from farting fire to the invisible man winning that was a surprise!

Haha! Thank you so much! I'm glad you liked it!

This is so cool bro!.. This is my current favorite in your comics.. COOL!

Thank you bro! 🙌

wow!!! just wow that was awesome.. hope to see more from you @guri-gure

I'm happy you loved it! Stay tuned for more! 😉

of course I love seeing more of your work 😊

you're welcome :D you've inspired me again to draw :)

Wow. That is one awesome praise. Looking forward to your stuff my friend!

yeah thanks for the inspiration :)

I like the ending of this comics strip! As of now I will be your fanatic :D

Thank you. Honestly that sounds a bit scary.... But still, thank you! Lol! :D

Nice animations and excellent humor there hehe.. good job on the comics, looking forward for the next :)

Thank you so much for the praise! Pls do stick around! There's more to come! 😁

really funny @guri-gure, I knew the invisible man had to be in there somewhere.😂

Hahaha! He's my favorite character. So easy to draw. Lol!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57296.76
ETH 3055.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32