Steemit-Ironchef Round 10 ~ Monochrome Food ~ Green ๐Ÿ’š is the healthiest color!

in #steemit-ironchef โ€ข 6 years ago (edited)

Did you know that green vegetables have the most amazing health benefits of all "superfoods"? When the @progressivechef announced the new #steemit-ironchef theme last Friday for me, it became pretty clear very early what color I would choose for the contest: ๐Ÿ’š Green ๐Ÿ’š.

Fresh green foods protect, nourish, heal and vitalize our body. Why it has this impact on us, is a real miracle of nature! It is not to explain with few words but I would like to briefly outline the reasons. I promise, if you haven't heard about it before, you will be astonished - at least I was!

One of the most remarkable live-giving substances on earth is chlorophyll. Chlorophyll is the substance that makes the plants look green and enables them to to carry out photosynthesis and to produce their body substance from inorganic substances such as water and carbon dioxide. Chlorophyll - also called 'green blood' has a structure similar to our own blood pigment haemoglobin. They are almost identical. The only big difference between both is a magnesium molecule in the center of the chemical structure of the chlorophyll where in the chemical center of haemoglobin sits an iron molecule. That might be the reason that chlorophyll has a huge impact on the health and quality of our blood. It has a positive effect on the rebuilding of new blood cells in the bone marrow. Furthermore do green vegetables in combination with iron substitutes remedy iron deficiencies much easier and faster than the iron substitutes alone. Chlorophyll supports the detoxification of the body, the reparation of radiation damages and promotes the sorecure.

You see, I had no other choice than to create a green dish for the #steemit-ironchef challenge. All the rules for the contest can be found in this post by @progressivechef: STEEMIT IRON CHEF 2018 Act 01 Round 10 : Contest now OPEN!!!

So I went to the green market and bought a huge amount of green vegetables and fruits so I could fill my plate with different shades of green:

I had a rough image of what I wanted to make absolute but wasn't sure if I would need all of these things.

The first thing on my to do list were some vegetable patties.

To make them I cooked a small broccoli and some kale leaves in vegetable broth until soft (softer as I would like to eat them normally). I drained the veggies and blizzed them up a little bit and mixed them with cooked quinoa, chopped parsley and coriander leaves, some oat flakes and some shredded flax seeds and seasoned with salt fresh ground black pepper and crushed garlic.

I formed the patties with wet hands and placed them on a baking sheet on baking paper and baked them in the oven. Uhm - yes, I got quite a few - more than I expected. The remaining waiting in the freezer for another day to get a vegan burger outfit ...

The next green food on my plate is a green hummus. It was made of a can of garbanzo beans, some fresh parsley and coriander leaves again, a tablespoo of tahini, some garlic, lime juice, olive oil and ground black pepper.ย 

The third part is a green mousse I made the day before off of soyghurt, fresh peppermint, coriander and parsley leaves, nutritional yeast, lemon juice and some lemony olive oil. I blizzed everything in in my smoothie mixer and let it sit in the fridge overnight. Actually this was created accidentally. I made a green sauce for another dish and the leftovers thickened overnight and it became a wonderful fluffy green mousse. So this qualified for the contest.

The green beans and the brussel sprouts were cooked in the same vegetable broth as the broccoli before but were removed from the heat soon enough to be still 'al dente'.

I decorared everything together with an avocado, some cucumber, celery, green tomatoes, raw zucchini noodles, and slices of a lime and served it together with a salad of portulak, watercress, glasswort and rucola, fresh mint tea and a fresh not sweet but very green "lemonade". For this lemonade I put fresh mint and coriander leaves together with lemon and lime juice in a mixer and mixed it carefully. To serve I put a little bit of this mixture in a glass and filled it up with sparkling water.

And that's how the table looked like when we really started our green food feast ... Only eight patties were left over for the freezer after we finished! ๐Ÿ˜‹ I definitely enjoyed this different kind of dinner last Monday evening. Only the hubby wished to see an additional color and got himself some red cherry tomatoes and some tumeric yellow hot amba sauce ... ๐Ÿ˜†

Sort: ย 

Very nice and tasty looking :)

Dont forget your greens!

Indeed! ๐Ÿ˜œ Don't forget them! Thank you!

Congratulations, your post has been featured in issue #3 of The Make It Healthy Project MAGAZINE!

Thank you!! Again?! This is so amazing!

I wish you lived next door.

Oh yes! This would be so cool! We could cook and eat and laugh together, learn from each other and profit from each other's experience. ๐Ÿ˜Š

Maybe we could start our own Steem town!

Yes, an autarke vegan, zero waste, organic food growing community! ๐Ÿ˜„

That's what I wish for, too every time I see a food post from @pusteblume! ๐Ÿ˜

You did an amazing job with all those green. Those photos just made me crave for some green ๐Ÿ˜Š
I'm reblogging this because I'm supporting the #makeithealthy movement! ๐ŸŒท

Thank you soo much! I appreciate this a lot!

My pleasure!

Very well written post with showcasing amazing green products, wonderfully realized preps and lovely plating we have here my friend!
How I wished to have my hands on all of those beautiful produce...hmmm!
Thanks so much for the great lesson on the importance of greens!
Great entry as usual!
I will definitely try to make your veg patties one day...looks so nice!

Oh, the patties are definitely worth a try! Thank you for your kind words! I am glad you like my post!

That is spectacular! I really like your salad with the portulak (that I know as Miner's Lettuce, Claytonia perfoliata), watercress, rucola (that I know as arugula), and glasswort! I don't see too many people using glasswort - I'm glad you can get it in your markets. And the portulak, too. Both are so pretty and distinctive in their natural form!

The patties, mousse, and drinks look so good, too! You know how to cook green! Anyone should be able to find something green to enjoy in your spread, even if they don't think they like vegetables. :D

These are so kind words! Thank you very very much! I appreciate it a lot! ๐ŸŒฑ

This looks seriously healthy I love everything green :) another great entry from u!

Thank you, @celestialcow! I appreciate your support!

looks like a green feast ...love it !

Almost too many greens! ๐Ÿ˜† Thank you!

I am having a green salad for dinner! Not as fancy as yours, though :) I love the avocado-snake in your plate :P

Haha! I tried to make one of these fancy avocado roses that are so popular nowadays ... but it didn't work. ๐Ÿ˜† So I arranged it just somehow!

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious? Read @resteembot's introduction post
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

ResteemBot's Maker is Looking for Work

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64550.89
ETH 3156.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30