Steemit Iron Chef 2017 #02 : A Wild and Free Melange A Trois with Queen Anne's LacesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit-ironchef7 years ago (edited)

I had a wild time, alright! I could have died, if I didn't know what I was getting into. A primitive melange a trois is more my style, but the Steemit Iron Chef contest is pushing me to try to be more refined. That may be a losing battle, but I still had fun! Come on into my post and watch!

wild carrot melange 5.jpg
It's free love! Love for Wild Carrots and other wild, feral, and free companions growing here at Haphazard Homestead!


Getting It All Together

The partners in this melange a trois are three roots that really go well together. The center of attention is the featured ingredient of this round of the Steemit Iron Chef contest -- Carrots. But not just any carrot. It's the Wild Carrot, also called Queen Anne's Lace. It's the exact same species of plant (Daucus carota) that has been domesticated into all the carrots we grow in gardens or buy from the store. But the wild carrot is a common weed!

wild carrot melange 2.jpg
It's critical to know the difference between Wild Carrots (left) and Poison Hemlock (right). My post on Fire-Roasted Wild Roots has more detail on identifying Wild Carrots correctly.

The other two companions often escape from gardens and take up a feral existence - the Jerusalem artichoke or Sunchoke, and Elephant Garlic. These three roots go so well together. I used them in a primitive melange a trois in when I made Fire-Roasted Wild Roots for the Steemit Culinary Challenge. But that was in the early spring when root crops are still in wonderful shape, full and sweet!

So the challenge for this threesome to be enjoyable was being able to find roots in good shape, especially for the Wild Carrot. When they flower in their second year, wild carrot roots become emaciated, so they aren't good for eating. I headed out with a shovel and gathered plenty of all three roots. Yay!

wild carrot melange 3.jpg
The long white roots on the left and right are both Wild Carrots or Queen Anne's Lace. They are exactly the same species as the carrots we grow in a garden or buy at a market. The reddish roots are freshly dug Jerusalem artichokes. Above them, these Elephant Garlic aren't gigantic, but these are garden escapes that don't get any care.

wild carrot melange 4.jpg
This Wild Carrot root is from a mature plant that set seed. The root has given all its energy to support the flowers and seeds. It's reduced to its wiry core. It's stiff and wouldn't be tender enough to eat.


Getting Ready

I cleaned the roots and put them in a roasting pan, and then in a 300F oven. I drizzled on a little olive oil and salt and pepper. The roots cook at different rates. The Jerusalem artichokes finish first, then the Elephant Garlic. It gets soft as butter!

wild carrot melange 1.jpg

wild roasted roots 2.jpg
These Fire-Roasted Wild Roots are more primitive. I cooked them in a foil packet in a campfire for the Steemit Culinary Challenge in the spring. They were delicious, but too primitive for the Iron Chef and we have a ban on fires until our fall rains move in.

But @progressive-chef challenges us to "elevate" our dish. So as each root was roasted until it was super tender, I mashed it or put it through a strainer, to make a puree. But all three roots are sort of white and they don't look so attractive sitting side by side. So I brought in some pretty plants. Rose of Sharon flower petals are always pretty. And I found a ripe few Black Nightshade berries. You can see another way I use Black Nightshade berries in my 100% Free Homestead Smoothie.


Enjoying the Melange!

I made a starter plate by putting a dab of each pureed root on a Rose of Sharon flower petal. I added a crispy carrot root on top. I put a swipe of each root puree, separately on the plate, so you can see what each looks like. The roots are divided by the Black Nightshade berries. Can you tell which is the Wild Carrot puree?

wild carrot melange 6.jpg
The Wild Carrot puree is the darkest, on the right. The Jerusalem artichoke puree is at the top and the Elephant Garlic puree is at the bottom.

This is a great starter for a meal. The taste of the wild carrots really shines through, and goes well with the smoky flavor of the Jerusalem artichokes and sweet leek/garlic flavor of the Elephant Garlic. Ingredients: Wild Carrots, jerusalem Artichokes, Elephant Garlic, olive oil, Rose of Sharon flower petals, Black Nightshade berries. Thanks, Homestead!

wild carrot melange 7.jpg


What Do You Think?

I hope you have a chance to try Wild Carrot roots sometime. It's amazing how good they are when they are roasted!

  • Do you have Wild Carrots in your area?
  • Can you tell the difference between Wild Carrots and Poison Hemlock?
  • Would you try my Wild Carrot Melange a Trois?

I write about foraging because I believe that we can all have lives that are richer, more secure, more grounded, and more interesting by getting to know the plants and the land around us – in our yards, our parks, and our wilderness.

I would like Steemit to be the premier site for Foraging on the Internet! If you have any thoughts about foraging, or experiences to share, write a post and be sure to use the Foraging tag. And check out the @foraging-trail to see curated quality posts about foraging. Happy Foraging!

Thanks @progressivechef for creating the Steemit Iron Chef contest series.


Plant List

Wild Carrot or Queen Anne's Lace - Daucus carota
Poison Hemlock - Conium maculatum - HIGHLY TOXIC! DO NOT EAT!
Jerusalem artichokes - Helianthus tuberosus
Elephant Garlic - Allium ampeloprasum
Black nightshade - Solanum nigrum - ripe, black fruit
Rose of Sharon - Hibiscus syriacus - flower petals


** Haphazard Homestead **

foraging, gardening, nature, simple living close to the land

All content is 100% Haphazard Homestead!
My YouTube channel: Haphazard Homestead

Sort:  

Its impossible to read one of your posts without finish hungry! 😅

Thanks! I'm glad to have all these weeds around me! ; )

Having you in steemit iron chef is the best thing that I could have wished for! On top of your unique entries each time, we all get to learn so much from your vast experience!
I'm really very intrigued by these wild carrots, never knew they even existed my friend!
I'll be on the look out next time I make my foraging tour in the forest here in Mauritius! Thanks for warning us about the Poison Hemlock, that's scary!
Your presentation is so lovely, both the rustic and refined one!
Warm hugs from Mauritius!

Thanks so much, @progressivechef! I haven't been on Steemit much lately, but I have to get here for the Iron Chef contest. It's a wild contest, for me at least, lol! You've gotten spectacular entries. It's really drawing out the creativity in everyone!

Oh what a honor to have such a dedicated contestant like you my friend! Thanks so much for that! I really wish to see more posts from you though!
The entries each week are just amazing, getting harder for me to choose a winner now!

Wow you really do know your root and veggie names!! A starter made beautiful and delicate by the Rose of Sharon flower petal bases...

Really want to stretch out my fingers, get ahold of one of those pretty bites, and omnomnom on it!! =P

Thanks! These were tasty bites, for sure! :D I figure it's better to be clear about what plants I'm eating, since they are often wild plants. Getting mixed up from a common name could have bad consequences. I like learning what plants are called in other places, but the scientific names are our common language.

'the scientific names are our common language' You sound like a passionate and established botanist!

hehe but a very wise notion..I respect that, though I must admit, I'm close to being the biggest noob when it comes to plant names =O=D

So many little kids love learning those complicated names of the dinosaurs. The scientific names of plants aren't any harder than dinosaur names. But kids all think it's fun, while grownups think of scientific names as work. I think of learning plants like learning more about friends. And then it's a lot easier. Get to know a new plant friend today, lol! ; )

very good! i have tried to identify them before but gave up as i didnt want to risk it, i couldnt tell the difference but i will check out your other post now. i thought nightshade was deadly! but i trust you- you obviously know what you are doing :)

Thanks! Glad you enjoyed my wild carrots and other roots. A good sense of smell helps identify wild carrots. They do smell like carrots - and the poison hemlock stinks like mouse pee!

There are so many nightshades, like tomatoes, peppers, eggplants, and potatoes. The deadly nightshade (Atropa belladonna) is really toxic and the trailing nightshade (Solanum dulcamara) isn't for eating. But the black nightshade (Solanum nigrum) is good when the tiny fruits are really ripe -- all the way black, not green or purple. There is a lot of misinformation about black nightshade. Sam Thayer, a great forager, has the most thoughtful review of black nightshade that I've seen. I've enjoyed eating the berries for a long time.

Hello Dear @haphazard-hstead it's been awhile since I've seen your posts and I was wondering what happened. Well, I am glad to see your wonderful entry for Iron Chef competition. I never tried wild carrots before, but I definitely would love to try. UPV & RSD

Hi Lena! I'm hoping to be posting more regularly, real soon! I hope you do get to try wild carrots sometime. When they are raw, they aren't tender and sweet like our domesticated carrots. But roasting them sure makes them tender and brings out their sweetness. Thanks for the Resteem!

awesome and very creative dish

Thanks! It helps me appreciate all the wild carrots that are such a common weed here. I'll post more recipes with them sometime, I'm sure. They have a lot to offer!

Beautiful foods and they look yummy! It's great that they were from your nice garden! ;)

Thanks, @tangmo!

You're welcome! ;)

WoW - This is such an educational post and your creation is fantastic. Appreciate you sharing your knowledge about vegetables. I recently used another root vegetable - beetroot to create sandwiches for the Steemit Sandwich Contest. I studied a lot about beetroot and it was so much fun. I am now very interested in learning more about vegetables. Your blog will be my go to blog now!

Thanks for your kind words, @steemit-foodie! There are so many amazing vegetables to learn about, that's for sure! A beet sandwich sounds good! :D

Congratulations @haphazard-hstead! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54483.11
ETH 2297.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28