Steemit Iron Chef 2017 #02 : CarrotMousse with Honeyglaze sauce

in #steemit-ironchef7 years ago (edited)

As I did last week, I made a 4 course dinner and invited some friends over to taste my carrot adventure in the kitchen, I also asked them to decide which of my 4 dishes I should enter for this weeks challenge, they all felt that it should be the CarrotMousse as they found it the most surprising and unique of the 4 dishes, quite funny for me since I am not a dessert person at all ...I prefer starters ...
Here is a picture of the plated dish
IMG_7691.JPG
Ingredients
small eco carrots
butter
honey
lemon
eco sugar
Maple syrup
creamcheese
whipped cream
Steps

  1. melt butter with a teaspoon of lemon juice
    IMG_7645.JPG
  2. add 10 peeled carrots and a big spoon of honey
    IMG_7646.JPG
  3. Leave to zimmer on low heat until the carrots are tender
    IMG_7661.JPG
  4. Remove only the carrots and puree them with two spoons of creamcheese
    IMG_7665.JPG
  5. chill the mixture
    IMG_7667.JPG
  6. add a spoon of maplesyrup and a spoon of eco sugar to the liquid from zimmering the carrots and let it caramelize slightly..
    IMG_7669.JPG
  7. carefully incorporate the carrot mix with the whipped cream
    IMG_7671.JPG
  8. Plate the Mousse with the sauce... I also added a basil leave for extra taste and choose a sexy cocktail glass...
    IMG_7689.JPG
    The flavor was very full and well rounded.. the glaze was a lovely compliment and the basil added a hint of fresh sexyness to the dessert ....I was very happy with the result ... and so were my guests ...

The Full 4 Course Dinner
I will add links to the how to's once I have made the 3 additional posts for each of the remaining dishes
Starter : Carrot Carpaccio
IMG_7631.JPG
paper thin slices of carrot raw marinated in a dressing of fresh basil, garlic, oliveoil, salt and pepper and a few drops of lemonjuice see the full post on this dish here https://steemit.com/steemit-ironchef/@globaldoodlegems/carrot-carpaccio
Soup : Carrot and Butternut squash Soup
IMG_7678.JPG
with a hint of curry and a dash of double cream... you can see the steps to this dish here https://steemit.com/steemit-ironchef/@globaldoodlegems/carrot-and-butternut-squash-soup
**Main : Carrot "Meatballs" with Couscous and a roasted carrot cream
IMG_7673.JPG
a lot of element in this one .... all with carrots ... see the full steps for this dish here https://steemit.com/steemit-ironchef/@globaldoodlegems/carrot-meatballs-with-couscous-and-a-roasted-carrot-cream
Yet another wonderful adventure in my kitchen for this weeks challenge ...I had so much fun making this !
I want to thank @progressivechef for making this awesome challenge, I look forward to the weeks to come !

Sort:  

I am really intrigued by how the Mousse tastes....I love my carrots!

Thank you and me too... it is fun to push the boundaries a bit on how to use a product ... and this Mousse I was even surprised the sweetness of the carrots that had simmered with the butter/honey mix was so full and rich, I really discovered a few new twists on how to use carrots while I was making this dinner and I surprised my guests with the versatility of the carrot ...so a winwin dinnerparty hihi

Where I am from, there is very little use of carrots in our daily meals. So I am mostly constrained by just boiled carrots, so I really love the way you presented your carrots.

Can't wait for your post on the carrot meatball, it's going to be interesting !

I am making that post now too already did the Carrot Carpaccio post and the Soup post ... the last one with the meatballs is very elaborate ... lots of elements but the nice part is that the basic you can use in everything ...

finally the steps for the "meatballs" is up here is the link for you https://steemit.com/steemit-ironchef/@globaldoodlegems/carrot-meatballs-with-couscous-and-a-roasted-carrot-cream I hope you will like it ... any questions just ask away ...

And here you come again with the full pack! I am really impressed by your dedication to this contest my friend!
What a lovely idea for the carrot mousse for a dessert! Really well thought!
That carpaccio looks awesome too, i will check all of the others just after!
Wish I was there to have a taste of all these yummy looking food!
Cheers
@progressivechef

Thank you so much ... I too wish we could all taste each others dishes ...so many beautiful entries... I will surely try quite a few of them ... great inspiration and a nice challenge to come up with new dishes and recipees

Wow, that mousse looks so rich and decedent! It really works as a dessert. What a great way to end a meal!

Thank you ... it really was decadent and surprising to my guests ... I already tasted in the kitchen nom nom

I'd like to get that spoon and dig into your carrot dessert @globaldoodlegems!

Thank you so much, it was lovely ! I wish everyone could taste it ...

That carrot mousse sounds and looks delightful!!

I guess we all are discovering new parts of ourselves as this contest pushes us to different limits =))

I think so too, the challenge is great also just to start thinking out of our regular boxes and see the product in a different way, also I am happy that so far the products have been fairly basic and affordable.... thank you !

You said it! The best part is that the products are everyday (except for the beetroot), often-overlooked veggies that are affordable and accessible...It's just amazing how we set our minds to innovating and thinking of all sorts of different pairings for the humble superstar =D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64450.12
ETH 3153.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52