Steemit Iron Chef 2017 #01 : Tomatoes Three Ways

Hi fellow Steemians!

So, I was introduced to Steemit by a young German 'pleasure boy' (or so he refers to himself as!) AKA @rootingrobert.

I live in China, but actually moved from London one year ago and with such long holidays I thought I'd finally start the food blog that I'd been meaning to five years ago! However, technology rarely agrees with me and I am still in the process of editing photos, figuring out how to upload them online and everything else that comes along with the technical stuff!

Anyway, what kicked my ass into gear was the deadline that @progressivechef has given me!

As a lover of all things edible and a dietitian, here I am, doing what I love most- cooking (and eating of course). For me, food is a medium for artwork and in the kitchen, I like to consider myself an artist...maybe others will beg to differ! But I hope you enjoy these creations of mine... @rootingrobert sure did!

So to fit in with this week's theme -tomatoes- I decided to have a little adventure in my mini kitchen and my tomatoes went three ways.

Scrummy!

tomatoes three ways.jpg

Gazpacho

First the gazpacho. I'm not normally a cold soup fan, but I did once overindulge in a tomato gazpacho at a dinner party (to my surprise)...this little short, red, intense shot really hit the spot, so I've braved creating my own. My version has some sharpness sourced from zingy lemon and a slightly warm kick from the garlic.

I went a bit crazy with the flower show on the photo, but hey, they're edible chinese flowers which really pimped up the gazpacho!

Black Risotto Stuffed Tomatoes

Next comes the black risotto stuffed tomato. The rice was cooked Greek style (with lemons , onions and selection of green herbs) and then generously stuffed in raw, emptied tomato shells glazed with olive oil and baked for a hell of a long time!

I chose to garnish it with a cumin flavoured yoghurt dressing - mainly for the additional colour gradient than anything else (but it still tastes scrummy).

Millet Crisps, Slow-roasted Tomatoes and Basil-Infused Cream Cheese

Finally, the last stop was a funny little grain I accidentally encountered whilst shopping in a Chinese supermarket- millet. This sunshine coloured couscous wannabe tastes great when boiled, reshaped and fried. Top it off with some basil-infused, whipped cream cheese and vibrantly sweet, slow-roasted, vine-ripened tomatoes.

FullSizeRender.jpg

It looks like a lot of effort,but sure was damn well easy to rustle up so don't fear the kitchen and go create! Please feel free to ask me about any of the recipes and I will be more than happy to help.

The original @rootingrobert being fed fat-glazed, slow-roasted tomatoes from the vine by the @foodflaneur

IMG_20170906_224358.jpg

Amidst all the excitement generated by Steemit Iron Chef, I forgot to include a photo with my name and date on it so I hope it's not too late, but you can see the aftermath of the tomatoes three ways!

FullSizeRender (1).jpg

Sort:  

Thanks a lot for explaining three ways of preparing tomatoes.

So happy to see such a kick-ass post, Welcome to the wild west of crypto and steemit, :) Am good friends with Robert and am very happy to have you on here, oh I see many commenting are Narwhals, Robert will have to explain it <3

Hi battleaxe- thank you and so glad to hear that you think my post is kickass! I still have no idea what I'm doing half the time with this blogging lark- thank goodness Robert is around for me to hassle to help me out with it! Yes I think he will definitely need to explain it! :-)

Wheyyyy battleaxe mah homie. Thanks for showing some love for our new friend. Still working on Jon Snow who's currently showing rice into his tummy. Wish me good luck! :D

Robert, you definitely need to explain this whole Narwhals thing to me today! And I'll help you work on German Jesus! :-)

Oh wow, your first day here and your first post is an entry in steemit iron chef! I really feel honored by your interest @foodflaneur!
Thanks a lot @rootingrobert for spreading the word!
Your entry is perfect my friend, I love doing trilogies like that, well my non-valid entry was a trilogy too!
Great idea with the stuffed tomato with the black risotto , looks so yummy! Shame that you forget the tag, so many people makes this mistakes but i'm sure you'll never forget again!
Welcome on steemit iron chef 2017!
Wish you lots of success here my friend!
Steem On!
@progressivechef

Heeey. I am glad you liked our food-flaneur's creation and first steps on Steemit. The late night work treat she gave me yesterday was really on top.

Can you elaborate on which tag is missing @progressivechef ? The post is tagged as steemit-ironchef and I couldn't find any other tag mentioned in the requirements for participation.

We were double-checking like 10 times yesterday! :D

Just so future entries will be 100% fulfilling.

Wishing you a wonderful day my friend!

Oh gosh, the late night! I'll give us more time in future! Oh yes, the missing tag info would be useful to avoid any other mistakes! Thank you :-)

Oh i'm sorry that i did not explain this one clearly. I meant to say the proof photo my friend, it would be great if next time we can have it on the final plate and not the finished plate...hahahah!
But I know it is her own creation and is accepted!
Cheers man!

Hi @progressivechef, thank you for your warm welcome :-) Yes, cooking trio-style is so much fun! Hoping to keep it up despite the difficulty of having access to familiar ingredients in China, but I guess shopping never gets boring! Your green tomato jelly and oysters looked so yummy, wish I could have tasted them! No I will definitely not be forgetting the tags in the future! :-)

Oh i love shopping...and today being Friday is actually my favorite day as it is Market Day! Yeahhh!
Keep doing the great work my friend, you cook very well! By the tag I meant to say the proof photo with the date, but your entry is accepted, no need to worry much!

That looks amazing! The risotto stuffed tomatos very cool!

Thanks a million morkrock! I like to experiment with food and my boyfriend experiments with the photography- not too bad so far! Glad you like it :-)

Hey!!! That was your first post, welcome to Steemit lady guy! You should join us on Steemspeak.com

Ha! Steemspeak? I'll check it out today :-)

You made this?! holy smokes it looks to good to eat.

Hope you enjoy Steemit :)

God bless.

Namaste

Hi @chiefmappster, ha yes, I sure did, but I do owe it to my personal photographer AKA German Jesus for the ace photography- that's probably made it look a lot better! Enjoying Steemit but hope my inadequacies to function with technology and online stuff doesn't get in the way! Thank you :-)

Hahaha holy smokes it looks so profressional, straight out of a magazine. You two should start a food magazine o weee.

But you're welcome if I can be of any help just let me know. That German guy is one of the purest souls I have met so you are in good company.

God bless.

Namaste

Awww. Thanks buddy. Feels good to hear such words from you. I'm so glad our paths met!
Love you too ❤

You're welcome my brother and thank you funny how life works :)

Aww thank you so much chiefmappster :-)

You're welcome :))

Any friend of rootingrobert is a friend of mine :)

Welcome to the blokchain haha

Hi @picokernel :-) Yes I can understand why- @rootingrobert sure is a barrel of laughs (and is also really tall!). Ok, you'll have to forgive me but I have no idea what blokchain is so Robert will have to expand on this!

This post has received a 19.10 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @rootingrobert. Send 0.100 or more SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field to bid on the next vote.

To support our curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

Ok, I have no idea how to actually vote yet or how to send SBD (rootingrobert had too explain what SBD was to me 2 days ago!) so please forgive me delayed responses! @rootingrobert, your assistance is required!

Older post, but you can see how to do it here. Our reward pool is higher now.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@buildawhale/how-to-use-buildawhale-to-get-a-vote-worth-up-to-usd3-41

Ah wow, thanks for that insightful info @buildawhale

gazpacho I like it on a hot day

Thanks @robertchr :-) Hope you can enjoy this one as much as your other gazpachos!

Looks stunning!!

Thank you @princessmewmew :-) Though your profile picture is more stunning than the tomatoes!

Ahhh that's so cute! Thank i

BTW your tomato dish looked really delicious- wish I could have a taster of all of the contestants dishes on here!

Thank you! Me too!!
That would be fun. 😉

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68608.97
ETH 3280.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74