Create your own Feeds (and other steemit ideas)

in #steemit-ideas8 years ago

I follow a lot of accounts here on steemit. More than I follow on YouTube or Facebook or any other social media site. I follow just under 300 today, but yesterday I was following just over 300.

Why am I following less today?

I went through the accounts I follow to find the ones not worth following because my feed (which is now the Home page), is so full of varying kinds of content that I’m finding it hard to find the type of content I’d like to read in a given moment.

For instance, as a noob to the ideologies of voluntarism and anarchism I’m really interested in delving into these topics to get a better understanding of the theories and ideas behind them. (If you anarchists have any literary recommendations please share them) But in truth, I don’t always have the head for them. Sometimes I’d prefer to just read a smoothie recipe to prepare my protein shake before I hit the hay!

Bring back the ‘Feeds’ tab.

I’ve found the people here in our community to be well-rounded individuals with a variety of interests and topics. Certain account holders are very consistent authors and write mostly the same topics that they are most familiar with. For example we have recipe writers, anarchy writers, travel bloggers, poets and story writers.

Wouldn’t it be great to be able to organise the accounts we follow?

My interests for example include dance, fitness, history, feminism, and of course steemit news!

If I could create my own feeds here’s what I would do.

  • Steemit
    I am constantly missing the important posts about steemit and what lies ahead for us. Every time @dantheman comes out with a post my brother asks me what did I think of it and I have to answer “oh crap, I didn’t see!”. I follow them and I check my feed every day but we live in different time zones and I’m never online when they post. I would love to have a Feed that I would call Steemit where I can put @steemitblog, @dantheman, @ned, @steemfest and even include some of the great steemit related contributors like @roelandp, @anyx and @heimindanger.
  • Dance and fitness
    As you might know from my splits training series, fitness is a big part of my life. And I love dance whether I watch or partake. I would love to be able to create a feed for my fitness related contributors like @cryptoiskey and @sirwinchester along with my favourite smoothie blogs to help with my protein shakes.
  • Art
    I wasn’t as much into art before steemit as I am now would you believe! Steemit has a funny way of incentivising you to look into things you wouldn’t normally consider interesting only to find yourself a new passion! Here I would put @kaylinart, @kimal73, @opheliafu, @timelapse and some of the great photographers too.
  • Anarchy
    I would create a feed in which I would have steemit authors like @dollarvigillante and @sterlinluxan so that when I feel like reading about this content it’s right where I need it and I never miss a post.

What would you do if you could create your own feeds?


Other steemit ideas

These are just a few ideas my brothers and I have talked about to improve steemit.

  • Perks for Steem Power
    There is incentive to be a whale or a dolphin, but not enough incentive to be a fat minnow, and sometimes it’s hard for a minnow to imagine reaching dolphinhood. Perks would create a demand for steem power even for the minnows and there are far more minnows than there will ever be whales.
  • Tag approvals
    This posts suggests that tags on a post can be upvoted or downvoted according to relevance and readers can even add tags to a post.
  • Yubikey for logging in

Something like Yubikey could solve a serious problem steemit is having due to the 32-character password.

Steemit Harassment

Due to the success of a petition directed at the steemit developers we are soon to see all 'hidden' and 'muted' accounts not just greyed out but hidden from our Reply feeds! So if you have been finding it difficult to ignore a particular troll you should soon find it much easier.

I'd like to take this opportunity to suggest one more improvement to give users a way to ignore unwanted messages.

A View Memo Button


Messages like this one can be an eye sore. But even more importantly, when a troll loses one window for harassing somebody, the wallet can become the replacement. And the tenth of a cent isn't worth reading them.

Sort:  

being able to sort feeds would be great. I'd also like to see users who post a variety of content be able to have something similar to youtube channels so they can organize their posts into categories so users who like recipes can see just that topic.

Have to admit i was dissapointed when they removed the feeds tab, it seems like it was in the correct spot. Don't like it where it is now. Nice ideas beanz:)

Good ideas ( I love them all so much) well illustrated in an excellent post. More power to you, @beanz!

I miss the feed tab too, and the search option for tags is not very user-friendly IMHO. That's why I unfollowed everybody about 2 weeks ago and started from scratch, just so I could get a handle on the content that I truly enjoy while leaving enough room to find new people without feeling overwhelmed.
I am so glad that the developers are working on hiding those nasty posts and if someone wants to give a tenth of Steem to make sure you know their displeasure then they've got some serious problems. Really. Who does that?!?

The feed still works. Your own is on your homepage and to view mine you just enter @beanz/feed into the url in the address bar.

Lol. Check my wallet. Only a special type of individual does that.

now, I remember what I'm missing from the Feed. It was there and gone and felt I miss something. guess it has not been here long enough before it's gone. :-)

I miss everything. I'd like to be able to follow lots of users without missing anything

@beanz, thanks for this post - didn't know that the feed tab is actually gone till I read this - I went looking for it and found it on the dropdowns when you click that person in the ring of your profile.
I have the very same reason I follow people - so I also want to see them in my feed.

Well the homepage is now our feed, but for the purpose of organising who we follow into different feeds I would love to bring back the feeds tab. Especially now with the reblogs....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58625.96
ETH 3101.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41