Should Steem be reserved for the techy-crypto-heads?

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)


The first person I recommended to join steemit was a friend of mine who is writing a travel blog. She was the first person I thought of when I explored the website and realised the potential for this community networking economic ecosystem.

I didn’t think much about pitching the idea to her, I just threw her the link and told her people here are getting paid for their content with no advertising.

Although she showed an interest her response was along the lines of

“I’m skeptical about anything that pays” for my writing

You have to admit it’s a funny world we live in when writers have become skeptical of the idea of being paid to write.

I didn’t bother explaining why I’m enthusiastic about steemit because I knew I would first have to explain cryptocurrency and I consider myself still unqualified for that even though I’ve been holding Bitcoin for the past year and a half.

The developers of steemit said in a recent interview that they are introducing the world of cryptocurrency to ordinary people by putting a blogging platform on the blockchain.

Which is very exciting for crypto-heads!

But how easy has it really been for non-techy people to climb aboard?

I asked some Facebook friends how they got on signing up.


Can you spot the techy among these?

I believe there is a simple solution to this problem and it’s not to just forget the Minnows that can breathe under water.

My brother @demotruk whote a post on this recently.

Passwords are a problem. Keys are the solution!!

My brother told me about this extra secure log in method he has for Google. When he tries to log into Google from a different computer, he is asked to insert his USB key and then put in his password. So even if somehow somebody figured out his password, they cannot log into his account from their computer without his USB key.

Steemits log in system is difficult for security reasons. If your account is hacked whatever $teem Dollars you have can be stolen.

  • The first rule of Steemit is: Do not lose your password.
  • The second rule of Steemit is: Do not lose your password.
  • The third rule of Steemit is: We cannot recover your password.
  • The fourth rule: If you can remember the password, it's not secure.
  • The fifth rule: Use only randomly-generated passwords.
  • The sixth rule: Do not tell anyone your password.
  • The seventh rule: Always back up your password.

Everybody understands keys! Even me!!

Imagine if instead of logging in with a lengthy password that must include capitals, numbers and symbols, you could simply stick your key in the USB slot, touch a button on your key and enter a simple password. This makes sense to me on so many levels! In fact if it were available I would be getting one immediately for my Online Banking and email accounts.

In their interview with @dollarvigilante, the developers Ned and Dan also mentioned other platforms for $teem in the future similar perhaps to Twitter and I can think of lots of commerce and crowd funding platforms that would attract more people to use steem. But before we can expect the ordinary individual to climb aboard I think the compatibility between extra security vs user friendliness needs to be established.

I welcome your thoughts and contributions!

and don't forget to click Follow :)

Sort:  

I've had a similar experience trying to pitch Steemit to people. I have some friends that spend countless hours on Facebook who could kill it over here but for whatever reason they just don't get it. Steem is still very immature and far from the mainstream but time will tell.

I think it's more than just time. The developers are definitely working and I'm loving the new Feed. But there are a number of issues I'm sure they are working on. It's just so early yet. I would love a log in with a key system to be possible though I would feel so much more secure leaving my $teem Dollars in my wallet and who knows maybe some day we can spend them straight from our wallets with no need for exchange!

I wouldn't be surprised if Trezor takes an interest in SteemIt, although they are very expensive for the average user it would be a pretty cool way to secure your account. They'd probably need to work in conjunction with @dan and @ned.

How does it work? Looks like a car key lol.

It's similar to the key I have (the one in the picture in my blog) but it also is capable of showing you exactly what you're signing on the screen, which is a defense against an advanced kind of attack called "man in the middle".

We need people to be open to cryptocurrencies and decentralization. Until they understand it could take awhile for the masses to embrace. That's why it's so important to keep spreading the word. Great article!

couldnt agree more - i had difficulty with the password sign up - very fustrated. Got there eventually....but a key idea would be so much easier .

I don't even feel secure leaving my account logged in, but it would be horrible to have to enter that password every time

Your post is much more to the point then mine I think. Kudos!

Yours is linked, under Keys are the solution.

Hello Beanz - excellent reflections on the onboarding and security issues.

I just wanted to point out this post by Dan in case you are not familiar with it where the current security/recovery questions are being addressed: https://steemit.com/blockchain/@dan/steemit-releases-groundbreaking-account-recovery-solution

I haven't read it, thanks for sharing!

you might like it ;-)

This is unfair...Steem should also be for the little guys who aren't geeks.

lol it was a rhetorical question.

If you read the post you'll see it's about making it more user friendly for those who aren't so techy or crypto-aware
:)

Very important points. I am bookmarking. Thanks.

I think the key idea is brilliant, would definitely help to grow Steemit. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68608.97
ETH 3280.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74