One Of The Leading Opera Houses In The World! "Wiener Staatsoper" At A Glance And My First Job As A Background Actor.

in #steemit-austria6 years ago (edited)

Every time I pass by the wonderful and majestic building in the city centre on the famous Ringstrasse boulevard, I stop, look up, stand still for minutes and feel proud to be born in Vienna. 

Adress: Opernring 2, 1010 Wien

G'schichten aus des Wiener Wald! My Tale.  

My mother told me more than once that I could have been a famous ballerina because when I was 4 or 5 years old, an elegant lady approached her at the park, to praise my talent for rhythm and movement. I was spinning around at the playground, singing some songs, I heard on the radio. She offered a place at the Viennese opera school

Oh well ......She was right about my love for music but this carreer didn't work out too well because beside dancing in most house clubs and techno festivals in the world and standing in the background on some opera stages in my high school days, to earn my first income, I didn't walk the path towards such destiny. 

I do not regret!

My father wouldn't allow me to join and I was too young to fight for. He was a full blood musician, played 12 instruments and each of his three children had to learn one as well. We grew up around quality sound. 

I am still wondering why he didn't want me to join this class. The doors were closed since then. I never asked him. 

The Opera House stayed magical for me and after all those years I feel more and more attracted to classical music.   

I hope that one day, I might have a chance and can see one of the 60 operas and ballets, over 350 performances, scheduled each season with my dear friend Daphne, an opera singer.

Maybe our wish and dream will become true, to sit next to each other, to enjoy one of our idols singing just for us. She lives in New Zealand but we met in Bali a few years back at the Seminyak Rotary Club, doing our charity work. 

We kept in touch since then and she keeps me updated what programs are running in Europe. 

Let's do It Girl! 

Here is the program for 2017/18!

Calendar and Ticket sales 

The opera house is shining like the streets Christmas decorations. 

Meanwhile I share those photos for her and everybody who comes to visit my hometown. 

Don't miss out to go at least on the panorama tour

In 2013, director Dominique Meyer launched Wiener Staatsoper live at home, a project for digital outreach: It allows opera and ballet lovers all over the world to follow the performances of the Wiener Staatsoper on their digital devices. - Source  

Architecture : Exterior , Interior , Backstage, Auditorium, Safety Curtain

Wiener Staatsoper at a glance 

Read more about the History and Reconstruction after World War II. 

On May 25, 1869, the opera house solemnly opened with Mozart's DON JUAN in the presence of Emperor Franz Joseph and Empress Elisabeth. The popularity of the building grew under the artistic influence of the first directors: Franz von Dingelstedt, Johann Herbeck, Franz Jauner, and Wilhelm Jahn. The Vienna opera experienced its first high point under the direction of Gustav Mahler. He completely transformed the outdated performance system, increased the precision and timing of the performances, and also utilized the experience of other noteworthy artists, such as Alfred Roller, for the formation of new stage aesthetics. The years 1938 to 1945 were a dark chapter in the history of the opera house. Under the Nazis, many members of the house were driven out, pursued, and killed, and many works were not allowed to be played.- Source 
  • 600,000 spectators each season
  • 9 premieres
  • 60 operas and ballets in the repertoire, from Baroque to contemporary
  • 45 live streams each season
  • 1 Opera Ball
  • 220 singers, of which 60 ensemble members
  • 30 conductors
  • around 100 dancers in the Vienna State Ballet
  • around 200 stage hands
  • overall 950 staff members
  • 1709 seats, 567 standing room places

Visit also the Cafe Oper and most famous "Wuerstelstand" close by.......

Elegant Ambience!

The Stars!

I really enjoyed those times as a background actor or extra, performing at various opera houses in Vienna and one of the most memorable ones was The Tales of Hoffmann by Jacques Offenbach at Volksoper Vienna, Währinger Straße 78, 1090 Vienna. It is the main stage for pperette, musicals and sophisticated musical entertainment. 

I just found out scrolling online, that this Operette is in the program for 2018 and I will go to remember my first walk on stage from left to the right, in high heels with bright lights shining on me. I was shivering but it was fun when I made it to the other side without falling down, my biggest fear. 

The Tales of Hoffmann, Sat 05 May 2018 and many more dates 

In 1881 a fire broke out at Vienna‘s Ringtheater during a performance of "Hoffmann", and the orchestral material was later destroyed in a fire at the Parisian Opéra Comique. Was this the devil himself getting revenge for his satirical treatment in Offenbach‘s operetta "Orpheus in the Underworld"? In any case,
the devil also plays a central role in "The Tales of Hoffmann" by thwarting all of the titular hero‘s love affairs. 
Hoffmann‘s faithful Muse leads him back to the thing which enraptures and comforts him the most: art.


Find many articles about Vienna and much more in my Blog

Yours @mammasitta 

Don't forget : Be The Fire From Within!

Follow also my minnow profile @massivevibration to keep on spreading those MassiVe Vibes. 

Feel free to join my steemit chat channels at "mammasittas, austria, massivevibrations, baliohbali" to post your links. 

Join MAMMASITTA's Steemit Network and twitter account #steemitvibes 

Sort:  

Da kommen ja ungeahnte Talente ans Tageslicht ;)

Kann mir gut vorstellen, dass du auch auf der Opernbühne Karriere gemacht hättest :) Jedenfalls bist du der Musik treu geblieben.

Ein ganz toller Artikel mit super Fotos!

Let’s go for Hoffmann’s tale in der Volksoper @vieanna !!!!

Very gladly :) Or another performance in the fantasic Viennese Opera House!

Yeah! Ich weiß es ist teuer aber ich würde so gerne wieder mal in der Oper sitzen

Das machen wir - nachträgliches Geburtstagsgeschenk ;)

Freue mich .....

Hahahaa no no no nicht wirklich! Techno und Clubs waren mir lieber.

A magical, musical building... I love this architecture; we just don't have anything like this in the States.

You may not have become a ballerina, but your words and images dance for us here, on Steemit. Thanks for this beautiful post!

Awwwwww That’s so sweet to Say and yes I actually kept on dancing and spinning around my whole life! Hahaa!
You got some awesome buildings! I lived in the States for 15 years and saw many great ones.

Vienna was the center of an empire! Now it’s your continent. Let’s see for how long it will take to shrink to our size hehehee

lol At the rate we're going, it won't be long! Cheers!

You got a point hehehe

What an elegant and stately old building. There surely will be a lot of memories attached to that building. I hope you and your friend can live out your wish to attend a performance together.

My mother was an opera singer and was invited to sing on the radio, but her father wouldn't allow it. He said that decent girls did not become public figures. I really wish I had some recordings of my mother singing, but in those days it wasn't as easy to record sound as it is today.

Wow! That’s amazing! I bet she was singing a lot for you. Did she??
I am waiting for the right moment to walk inside and finally bombard myself with a few hours of magic opera. This will be a huge challenge in a way. “Decent girls” Hahhaa oh well!

LOL... yes, people had strange ideas in those days. Of course, there probably was SOME truth there as in most cases. There are generalities and exceptions, but the old folk didn't believe it or just didn't know any better. It was an opportunity missed and never to be available again.

My Mom didn't sing very often, but when she did, boy was it powerful. I would say her voice was similar to that of Sara Brightman when she sings opera.

As my Mom got older, her voice began to crack and she would get so frustrated when that happened. She stopped trying after it happened a few times.

Bless your Mamaaaa!!!!!🙏

Its true we always have dreams, at first it might seem like that is the way our life will fall in, but as time goes on we fine out that there is also some thing hidden underneath. A talent that will expose and make people marvel. I think that was what happened.

Am a chorister and love music a lot too. I do sing and lift my spirit through singing. For once in my life as a younger lady , I wanted to go for auditions in order to use my voice more effectively

Am sure you love what you do now and it gives you great joy.

Antways sweet mamma these places are lovely, vienna is sure a place to behold. They are beautiful!🤗🤗🤗

I bet you you sing your soul out at Sunday church! Hallelujiaaaaa

I used to go in New York because it was so inspiring but Here in Austria it’s very boring at any church. Museum’s are amazing and those opera houses.
I really do miss singing and dancing for Jesus .....

😂😂😂Yeah yeah ... haaaaalelujahh...haha. yeah I do sing my heart out. But the community I am now do more of their native song and I do not understand much of that but once I go to my community I always join the choir.

Now am a lector and read in church in my present community. Have a nice day my friend.

That’s so awesome! I wish there would be different and more vibrant church communities here. Sing it loud girl!!!

😚😚🤗🤗

My mother told me more than once that I could have been a famous ballerina because when I was 4 or 5 years old an elegant lady approached her at the park to praise my talent for rhythm and movement while I was spinning around the playground, singing some songs I heard on the radio. She offered a place at the Viennese opera school.

You would have been great in that field. Why would your farther not like it, Seeing you must have inherited it from him?

Beautiful piece as usual friend. Been a while. I hope you're doing great?

No regrets at all! Just a story how life could change in seconds and minutes.
I did a lot in music....so! All good! I am glad to see you again on my blog .ive been a bit tired of spending too many hours on steemit and my apology if I might have overlooked yours. 🙌

I haven't been consistent either. No need to apologize ma'am. Been sick for a while.

I am so sorry to hear but me too ....got some issues/ I wish you more than well !!!

Its not only that building itself but how you captured the surrounding area in the first picture that is beautiful, impressive numbers and sounds like you got a plan already @mammasitta

Thanks so much Simon :) so good to read your comments here . much appreciated. Yeah I love that ambience in the first photo as well :)

there is some magic in that city, there is a beauty in that city, it is you overthere!
Perfect place with lovely people; must be magical!!

It is what it is " Magic" wherever I go here.......still Vienna for now.
I am a tourist in my own hometown. Kind of funny!

damm the pics were outstanding and its great to know about that epic

Always wonderful to see you on my articles 🤩 thanks so much !

you made my day :D yay thanks a lot :)

nice review of the opera house and good to know about your singing talent.

very informative post.every moment i learn something from your post.love to read it.

That’s awesome to know 🙏 that’s why I write

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70638.80
ETH 3565.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73