You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: One Of The Leading Opera Houses In The World! "Wiener Staatsoper" At A Glance And My First Job As A Background Actor.

in #steemit-austria6 years ago

What an elegant and stately old building. There surely will be a lot of memories attached to that building. I hope you and your friend can live out your wish to attend a performance together.

My mother was an opera singer and was invited to sing on the radio, but her father wouldn't allow it. He said that decent girls did not become public figures. I really wish I had some recordings of my mother singing, but in those days it wasn't as easy to record sound as it is today.

Sort:  

Wow! That’s amazing! I bet she was singing a lot for you. Did she??
I am waiting for the right moment to walk inside and finally bombard myself with a few hours of magic opera. This will be a huge challenge in a way. “Decent girls” Hahhaa oh well!

LOL... yes, people had strange ideas in those days. Of course, there probably was SOME truth there as in most cases. There are generalities and exceptions, but the old folk didn't believe it or just didn't know any better. It was an opportunity missed and never to be available again.

My Mom didn't sing very often, but when she did, boy was it powerful. I would say her voice was similar to that of Sara Brightman when she sings opera.

As my Mom got older, her voice began to crack and she would get so frustrated when that happened. She stopped trying after it happened a few times.

Bless your Mamaaaa!!!!!🙏

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63423.51
ETH 3252.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91