Mindblowing Visualisation! Dive Into Many Abstraction Layers And Enjoy "Noisedive" By Johan Nordberg - Steemfest [Part4]

in #steemian-crush7 years ago (edited)

Let me tell you about a talented and very interesting young steemian I met in Lisbon who sat next to me at one of the well organised dinners @steemfest in Lisbon. 

How much better can it be to enjoy a delicious meal with green pea soup and Portuguese fish, next to @sneak @timcliff and Johan Nordberg from Sweden who works with STINC. He calls himself "Contemporary JavaScript and Grapefruit Engineer".

Our wonderful chat was one of my highlights! 

It's rare that I meet people I enjoy talking that much. Sorry Johan that I might have kept you away from your other dinner neighbours for too long with all my questions. I had a great time and wanted to thank you, wish you a great future ahead with your lovely family. It was more than a real pleasure meeting you and I can't wait to hear from you again because you still owe me a present and teach me how to be a "hacker". Hahaha! Joke aside....

I don't even know if you have a steemit account. If so, give me a sign because I hope you don't mind to call you my newest "Steemian Crush'es" :) You are special and your art projects even more. 

Johan likes to do things on the internet with computers, as he says and please take time to watch all of his awesome videos  to know what he makes! 

I was impressed about his kind and charismatic personality but blown away when he told me about his mad cool project and art installations. He showed me only one videoclip called NOISEDIVE, one of his creations and since then I couldn't get it out of my mind to write an article to let you know about it.

Here is the VIMEO link in case the video doesn't show in this post. 

All images rendered on amazon EC2 using their g2.2xlarge GPU instance, total render time was 38!! hours. Based on the work by Google researches Alexander Mordvintsev, Christopher Olah and Mike Tyka - Website/Vimeo 

bubblegum world

This is what emerges when you recursively feed noise to a artificial neural network trained to recognise places (e.g. you give it an image and the response is something like 90% beach , 20% desert, 2% swimming pool).The familiar shapes you see floating past is abstractions the network has made for the different categories. Some categories feature more prominently because the amount of images used to train them differ. For example the "fountain" category contains 111,496 images compared to only 883 in the "nuclear_power_plant" one. So that's why you see a lot more fountain like shapes than big chimneys. There's a lot more to it than that of course, and this visualisation only shows you one of the many abstraction layers the network uses.- Johan Nordberg

Here is his Twitter account  and some of Johan's favourite places/images from this dive.

blueberry fall

great gatsby
iceberg caves

Inside another artificial brain by Johan Nordberg

Thanks again! Steemfest3 it is! 

 

github.com/jnordberg

9to5 DreamCanvas 

You Want To Come In My Life, The Door Is Open. Some Words On Friendship & Steemians

Image and awesome Gif Source

My Articles about Steemfest2

Killa Steemfest in Lisbon! Steem Steem Steem Selfie To Get Started [Part1]

"S A U D A D E", The Feeling Of Longing, A Beautiful & Alluring Word In Portuguese. Lisboa [Part2]

Yes! They Call Us STEEMIANS! A Photographic Tribute From Steemfest2 In Lisbon! [Part3]

Yours @mammasitta 

Don't forget : Be The Fire From Within!

Follow also my minnow profile @massivevibration to keep on spreading those MassiVe Vibes. 

Feel free to join my steemit chat channels at "mammasittas, austria, massivevibrations, baliohbali" to post your links. 

Join MAMMASITTA's Steemit Network and twitter account #steemitvibes 


Sort:  

Ciao @mammasitta! 👋 😊 Thank you for all your kind words. It was really nice meeting you at steemfest! I really enjoyed our chat as well, I hope I get the chance to visit you in Bali sometime and check out all those cool statuettes (and work on your hacker skills ofc 😅)

steem steem steem steem steem!

OMG ! Here you are!
Can't find enough words for those clips, I watch at least once a day.
I had to bake some special brownies for this hahaha!
onARTBali in work for you....We need to do this for real! All of "IT".
Keep me updated when your "Angel" arrives!

Yes let's do it! Here's a video you probably haven't seen yet :)

Grazie tanto! Danke schoen for those " Eyes"

Astonishing visuals. The first one reminded me of the cave systems underneath Rome. Lovely post @mammasitta

Cant get enough of this .....:)

I've seen computer visualisations back in the 1990's based on the Mandelbrot set of equations. These are quite different. This one above is mind bogglingly complex. How it was achieved? I have no idea but it is brilliant.

Inside an Artificial Brain

Johan Nordberg

Most of us have already interacted with artificial brains, or as they are more correctly called: artificial neural networks. Every time you search for an image online or talk to your mobile phone's assistant millions of digital neurons fire to provide you with the information you seek.

Up until recently no one has been able to really tell what is going on in these networks except in a very abstract mathematical sense. But recent advances in the field allows us a glimpse into how these networks, and perhaps even our own brains, actually process information.

This video was made using a visualisation technique that allows us to tap in to different layers of the network and extract images. Basically feeding it an input image and telling it "Hey! Whatever you see here, give me more of it" hundreds of times so that the neural pathways taken are amplified and can be seen.

Each frame of this video is made by that process, with the previous frame being the input for the next. If you think of the infinity mirror effect you get if you connect a video camera to a TV and record it, except the camera is your eyes and the TV is your visual cortex.

The patterns that emerges in the video are the abstractions the network has made of the different image categories it has been trained to recognize. It starts using the higher layers of abstraction and progresses down to the lower layers, revealing more and more detail.

This piece was inspired by the work of Google researchers Alexander Mordvintsev, Christopher Olah and Mike Tyka that developed the visualization technique to understand how neural networks learn to classify images and where they go wrong.

There's some info with links to the research paper and example code in the video descriptions on my vimeo page if you really want to dig into it :)

Thanks for the link @almost-digital I'm off to investigate this fascinating topic further.

maybe the artist @almost-digital has the answer :)
I am only diving in ....

I just looked up Mandelbrot because I never heard about it
Wow!

That is awesome art but after watching the video, eyes were feeling like something is zooming out in the still images also. Did you notice it?

Maybe Cannabis might help ....Hahahaa

Of course, yes I did notice :) so trip!

Here is another one

It was great meeting you there as well :)

Oh Yes indeed it was Tim and thanks again for your help when I needed it. You always replied fast when I had questions.

The last video is totally amazing, i've just been starring and starring and floating :D

The Nosedive is absolutely crazyyyyyyyyyyy!!!!

Trippy. :) I feel I may need some additional substances to fully appreciate this art.

hahaha! I baked some Christmas Cookies .....Should I send some? :)

Fascinating art work!

Now I realize why you were so impressed by these young artist ;)

Na Das ist aber eine Überraschung :) Ja Jetzt weisst Du es .....Unglaublich toll! BTW , You english is perfect :)

Für Dich

Thank you for this (English) and that (Vidoe) and above all for your friendship 🌼

Die Zeitraffer-Aufnahmen sind, wie all seine anderen Werke, einfach großartig!

Diese Steemians sind einfach super ! Gell ? Was man da alles so findet

I think your friend has his own vision of art and I must say that in his works there is a certain share of talent. Thank you for sharing your impressions @mammasitta

He is a GENIUS!!!!

Wow... These images almost make you dizzy as you peer into them for definition...

Glad you made a memorable introduction at Steemfest. So many interesting people in this world, so little time...

I am still dizzy 😵
I must confess that I find Steemians most interesting these days

This is incredible art, man is a genius @mammasitta

He is beyond genius !!!

You are the master of the blog art.

wow I am blushing now :)

You are an honest lady

🐬🐬🐬

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59758.56
ETH 2523.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47