How i have lost money that i made on STEEM and how you should not do my mistakes!

in #steemhelp8 years ago

Be aware of few things

Theres not enough tutorials or nobody even thinks to read them registering here. Me contained.

Please read this if you made account here to be sure you will be able to ever get money you made on STEEM - which i wont be able to anymore - lost over 500 USD :(

  1. When registering write down the password - this is obvious.
  2. After registration go to account -> permissions

Now this is CRUCIAL you need to write down all 8 keys.

Actually 4 key pairs.
If you wont do it on the very first login the ACTIVE and OWNER keys will be gone forver - and you will not be able to use funds at all.

Hope this helps because ie myself i would never thing that something is visible just on 1st login - there is not warning for this of any kind.

Sort:  

You can still get your ACTIVE and OWNER private keys if you need them(If you have your password),
https://steemit.com/steemhelp/@dantheman/get-your-private-key-from-your-steemit

But I agree that if you loose your password you loose everything

good to know :)

I am not very technical I don't understand this much.

We can use funds? How? Why? I am barely-there when it comes to the techno stuff. When I go to the link here, it is written in crypto jargon, and I can't follow it, nor do I know why I need to follow it!

Im not quite sure I understand your post 100%, (English is not my native language)but the only thing you need to do in steemit.com is to keep your password safe, there is nothing else to worry about. I posted the above link so that people know that nothing is lost if you don't copy all your private keys in your first log in as the OP states. If you ever need your private keys the instructions in the above link will help you retrieve them, in the feature there might be an easier way I guess.

#1 should be enough - your password is the master key.

Yes, but is the information correct, I have to install a steem wallet to use the command line to retrieve the key needed for exchange and transfer of steem. On Steemit.com??

Ok, I sure hope there's another work around, 'cause Steemit certainly dropped the ball on notifying people of this. The 'wallet' isn't exactly user friendly on linux.

Keep it Clean!

Damn, I think I don't remember all of my password, My account is auto logged in at my browser though. I can see 4 keys under account > permissions.

Posting
Active
Owner
Memo

Oh wow thanks for posting this I had no idea!

i don't understand the problem

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60268.51
ETH 3201.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43