You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: #STEEMGIGS: (TIL(Today I Learned)) — My Upvote is Still Worth 0.000 After All

in #steemgigs6 years ago (edited)

But the reward SP AMOUNT is totally different compare to BUYING Steem and Steem Power with SBD because the SP reward amount is DIVIDED by STEEM price (reward divided by steem price = SP). ;)

SP can only be used internally while STEEM can be traded externally. ;)

We earn LESS Steem Power (SP) with 100% Power Up reward setting while we earn MORE STEEM/SP with the default 50% SBD / 50% SP (buy STEEM with SBD to Power Up).

The steem.supply computation you mentioned for Steem Power reward has a big difference if we use the 50% reward (SBD) to buy Steem/SP (1 STEEM = 1 SP). ;)

Sort:  

I don't see how it's much different. When you calculate the reward amount you divide by the steem price. When you buy using SBD you divide SBD price using the steem price.
You can still power down SP, although anyone building their account can keep it as SP.
And yes, The 50/50 is better now, that's why I calculate it using the 50/50. I suppose if you wanted to estimate 100% power up posts then you would remove the sbd entirely and not divide the steem by 2 (still multiply by 0.75 and divide by steem price).
Currently it's more efficient to spend SBD on votes than to send it through the market. If you buy from the right people you can make 3-15% more than if you had simply traded in a market.
Currently you can sometimes get your SBD investment back and the SP's for free,

When you buy using SBD you divide SBD price using the steem price.
Where did you get that? 😅 Only SP is divided by STEEM price. When we divide SBD to STEEM vise versa we only get its RATIO, not SP. ;)

We can buy SP at actual STEEM price with SBD at Steemit INTERNAL "Currency Market". So, when SBD price is higher than STEEM price we get more SP. :)

This is my screenshot 4 months ago, SBD price is higher than STEEM. With less than 1 SBD I got 4 STEEM/SP:

Today, SBD price is LOWER than STEEM price so I got LESS STEEM/SP. I always buy STEEM and Power Up as soon as I receive SBD rewards even it's a "cent" and power down when I need cash

Where did you get that? 😅 Only SP is divided by STEEM price. When we divide SBD to STEEM vise versa we only get its RATIO, not SP. ;)

Right now the prices are as follows,
SBD = $3.43184
STEEM = $3.99631
So if you have 1 SBD to figure out how much STEEM you can buy you would do $3.43184 / $3.99631 = 0.859 STEEM

I say STEEM and SP are synonymous since you can always get a 1:1 for these, the only difference is liquidity.

Note that at first we were talking about Rewards calculations, not buying steem. The reward calculation also divides STU by the steem price as part of the calculation.

I was confused because I only use the INTERNAL MARKET to easily get the current value of STEEM/SP. Got you. Haha! I used your formula and the result is the same when I get the ratio (1SBD/RATIO).

I am still referring to the rewards, the 50/50 reward. The 50% SBD to buy STEEM and POWER UP (add SP).

My goodness I hate this Steemit math it reminds me of my college days :-D

So what formula are you using to calculate STU to SP?

Reference above screenshot:
SBD/1.174572 😅
(SBD/price of SBD/STEEM)
That price/ratio is automatically provided at Steemit "Currency Market" I only input amount of Steem when buying 😅

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63064.93
ETH 2468.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55