Untalented Contest by @surpassinggoogle: Who am I?

in #steemgigs7 years ago (edited)

After reading the thought-provoking article birthing the untalented contest by @surpassinggoogle. I decided to participate and provide answers to his question “who are you?”

IMG_20170930_222714_320.jpg

I am still on the journey to discovering myself as I have always thought to myself, “who am I.” I thought it was my academic performances or the amount of wealth I accumulated. At some point, I thought it was my relationship status.
The beginning
I was born into an average Nigerian family and as the first child; a lot of responsibilities have been bestowed upon me. My parents have always wanted me to be better at school and to this; they always compare me to other successful students at school. I always felt sad and depressed deep down but this never showed up on the surface because I was easy going and always seemed happy.
As criticisms of not being the best at school increased, I lost my self-esteem and always sought validation from friends and colleagues. I later improved on my academics but not by competing with myself but with others. My parents later got divorced, and my life was never the same again.
The search

As I studied and made friends, my life became controlled by peer pressure. I am shy, but when I find myself in a comfortable environment, I loosen up, and I can be so much fun. Thus, many think I am coy. There was a time I couldn’t visit a bank or run errands because I so shy and I thought everyone was always looking at me and thinking I am not good enough.
I started my journey to self-discovery in my last year at secondary school and I thought to have loads of money was the way to knowing who I truly was. I chose my supposed career path on this premise. Unfortunately, as many undergraduates at Nigerian universities will say, “I didn’t get the course I want to study because I didn’t meet the cutoff.” I am also in the category of these students.
The Discovery
After this failure, I sat back and thought about who I was again. I thought about counseling, visiting a shrink but they are quite unavailable in this part of the world, or maybe I didn’t search enough. I got an offer subsequently to study a course that lead to the discovery of my who I was.
I study Medical Laboratory Science at the university which I got to fall in love with it, and I met people who encouraged me and gave me a lot of advice. In my sojourn to discovering myself, I met @destinysaid, @valchiz, @edumurphy et al, under the @africaunchained project that led me to steemit. All through these events, I eventually came to understand who I was.
I am an optimist as well as a pessimist so you can call me an “opemist.” I believe friends make up an essential part of an individual and one should know he/she is talented no matter what others say. Through my journey in life, I have learned that helping people is one of the best ways to be happy and fulfilled. You partake in healthy competition with individuals, but ultimately it is a competition with one’s self. Every single aspect of an person; their character, personality, and those little thoughts that stay inside makeup who they are.
The conclusion
I hope to be an academic someday and travel around the world impacting knowledge. I would love to help people find meaning to life, do research and find cures to some incurable diseases that we have today.
I am glad to be here on steemit and reading “surpassinggoole’s article. I hope to add benefit here on steemit, maybe become a whale like @ned and @dan and eventually continue to promote steemit and build a better and stronger brotherhood.

Sort:  

i used to be shy too but it has reduced a lot. i used to be shy to go to public places especially where girls are. it has gotten better over time

I would love to help people find meaning to life, do research and find cures to some incurable diseases that we have today

bro do not give up. because you did not make university now does not mean u will not make it later. Just keep on trying bro. Stay blessed

Thank you @ewuosu. I won't give up and I'll keep trying.

Great story, goodluck, I wish for your succes

Thank you very much @markjason

your welcome

Thank you for the story I think being an opemist is probably more healthy than being an optimist or pessimist :)

Thank you. That has been my resolution as I will be hopeful and still have my doubts.

Very lovely. It's good to know you.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @learnandteach01 to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here! || Check out our contests as well!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Thank you for participating to Art Explosion!

This post has received a 6.10 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @fun-dr-n-light-n. Send at least 0.50 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Congratulations @learnandteach01! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Keep on steeming!
From the redfish rank
My support

Thank you very much for your support.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64294.34
ETH 3494.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54