How to discover everything Facebook knows about you.

in #steemgigs7 years ago (edited)

image
The most popular social network in the world accumulates data of almost 1,500 million people.

With this data, the giant created by Mark Zuckerberg sells ads segmented to other companies. For example, to a restaurant that seeks to reach women between 25 and 40 years old in a certain city who like Asian cuisine.

Even adjusting the privacy settings, it is impossible to prevent the network from storing information about you.

In recent years, following controversial cases such as the Austrian Max Schrems - whose investigation into what Facebook knew about himself led to the largest class action lawsuit against the company, the case Europe vs. Facebook- the company has made its data and privacy policies.

I wanted to know what Facebook knew, so I downloaded the data about me that the social network has - go to the "General" section of the Facebook configuration and give it to "download a copy of your information" - , and investigate other data stored in my profile.

These are some amazing information that Facebook has about you.

1. The 'co-ordinates' of your face

When downloading a copy of the main data about me that Facebook has, I got a package with files for photos and videos, and a file called "index.htm" that must be opened in a browser. This file allows to visualize this information in an organized way.

There are 34 points on the face that are fixed, the distance between those points can be calculated, and that calculation allows an algorithm to automatically identify a face.

That's why, when a friend uploads a picture in which you leave, Facebook gets to know that you are the one in it and suggests that you be tagged.

But you can prevent the company from keeping that map of your face and recognize you in the photos.

To do so, you have to go to "Settings" and choose the option "Nobody" in the question "Who receives suggestions to tag you in photos in which you seem to be present?"

2. Where are you, inside and outside the internet

One of the most surprising sections on Facebook is "Security." There is information about the computers, cell phones and tablets that you used to enter the page.

In my case, the list covered the last three years. There are the IPs and also the dates and times when I accessed Facebook, the browsers that I used and even the cell phone operator with whom I connected.

The file also has cookies that Facebook stored in your browser, files that record traces of navigation about the time I stayed on each page, the sequence of clicks I made, the data I put in an online form, and so on.

If I disable the storage of cookies on my computer, I can not use Facebook or many pages and services, which is why these products are not free as most people think, you pay with your personal data and your privacy.

Even the photos you share on your profile can trace detailed information about where you were when you took it.

3. Photos that you "forgot" on your cell phone

The section of "synchronized photos" of the data downloaded from Facebook is also intriguing. Since I did not have any, I did not know exactly what is stored in that section.

The Facebook app for smartphones currently has an option to automatically synchronize your cell phone with your profile on the network.

If you use the option of "connecting with Facebook" in other pages and services, you should know that what you do in those pages can also be used in Mark Zuckerberg's network.

If the option is enabled, the page communicates with your cell phone and transfers the last photos you took, without having to do it manually, to a private album. If you want, you can make that album public and share photos with friends.

Many unintended publications of intimate photos end up happening like this, like the activation of the automatic photo synchronization of the cell phone on Facebook, the person does not know it.

4. What you would like to buy

In the "Ads" section of my data file, I found a long list of companies and topics that Facebook thinks I'd like to see on my wall.

Most of the items were correct, but some did not make much sense, like movies that I do not like very much or names of cities with which I have no relationship. Below is a list of ads that I clicked on the site.

Facebook decides what ads it shows you based on your behavior in the social network.

If I do not want to see more ads on Facebook, there's nothing I can do.

It's impossible not to see ads on Facebook, in the same way that it's impossible to have 100% privacy using social networks, one thing is incompatible with the other, it's selling ads as the platform makes money.

But does this mean that the company is sending this information about you to other companies? Facebook says no and, it is not possible to prove otherwise.

4. All your searches

Not all the data that Facebook stores about you is in that file available for download.

All your interactions, comments, "likes" and searches in the social network from the moment you entered, are stored in the "Activity Log".

To get there, click on the down arrow in the upper right corner of the page, next to the padlock.

One of the surprising details that I found in that section, in the "Photos" item, are all the videos that I saw inside Facebook, even if I did not "like" the posts in which they were or written comments. Just give the "play" and the site records that I saw it.

In the same way, everything I typed in the search section since I created my account in 2007 is registered: names of people, events and other keywords.

The registration of activities is the best way to know, in real time, the information you are giving the site. If you share songs that you are hearing, books that you are reading, if you decide to see posts of a friend on your wall or confirm the presence to an event. Everything will be there.


If your found any thing remarkable then please let me know.


Sort:  

Hey @khalidjr11, I am a curator of the Whaleshares Curation Team. I have selected your post to be presented in a live curation discussion on Monday 12th March. Your post will be awarded a 100 Whaleshares vote on the night. I do hope you can come along and spectate. The event will be held in The Curation Lounge on the Whaleshares server.

Here are links that explain things: https://steemit.com/steemit/@nikflossus/the-17th-whaleshares-curation-show-hosted-by-lindahas
https://steemit.com/steemit/@lindahas/the-17th-whaleshares-curation-show-come-and-listen-to-me-mess-up

Thanks for choosing my post @kotturinn. beacuse of some issues i am unable to join this event but I'll be sure to join on your future ones :)

No problem! Great topic to cover :)

Facebook is an intelligence agency wet dream.

Thanks for your comment @rawdawg, I appreciate that :)

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 17 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 18 SBD worth and should receive 53 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Wow, good to know that, Thanks for sharing @khalidjr11. You made an amazing content, We sould connect and support each other by follow each other. I already upvoted you and following you, please think about that. My apologize if I sent this post to you already.Thanks and greeting from @chanthasam

Thanks for your comment @chanthasam.

well done...thanks for sharing...

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious? Read @resteembot's introduction post
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

ResteemBot's Maker is Looking for Work

Resteem bot Boost Your Post. Send 0.100 SBD and your post url on memo and we will resteem your post on 4500+ followers from two different account.@stoneboy and @vimal-gautam.

Facebook, like google, and others are tracking literality everything!

I barely use facebook anymore. Kinda glad I don't now lol Upvoted :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64572.94
ETH 2630.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82