Awesome Dining Initiatives on Steemit

in #steemfoodtours6 years ago

I was reading a recent post by one of my favorite Steemians @daan.

He was expressing his concern that he and his girlfriend were becoming "foodies".

I offered the term culinary explorers, but that doesn't roll off the tongue quite as well. I like that term though and I am going to go with it.

I would probably feel very out of place in a five star restaurant or some of the fine dining places you will find most foodies. I do however enjoy good food and I like sharing about it when I find something that really appeals to me.

This brings me to the real reason for this post. I wanted to let you know about two initiatives that I have discovered on Steemit and I hope that they begin to grow as more culinary explorers find out about them.

SteemFoodTours

The first one is called #steemfoodtours, it is a contest that was started and is managed by @jeffjagoe. It is really easy to participate in and it is really a shame that it hasn't gotten a huge number of submissions over the past couple of weeks.

If you are interested in participating, check it out here. As I said, it is really simple to enter the competition.

Let's Eat

The second one I wanted to let you know about is the Let's Eat app ( #letseat ). This is a great app you can install on your smartphone and it allows you to write up a restaurant review in an easy to follow format.

It connects to your Steemit account via Steem Connect and posts to your Blog. You can then go into Steemit and edit the post however you want. For example if you wanted to be able to move the pictures from the bottom to other places in the post.

@eroche has been posting updates about the Let's Eat app on his blog.

The cool thing is, I was able to use the Let's Eat app to post a submission to SteemFoodTours. I was the first person who had done this, so now those two developers are in communication with each other.

If you have a great review that you have wanted to post take a look at both of these initiatives. You might even get a great upvote or win the contest!

If you haven't yet, you should also check out Tasteem. This is another review site that runs contests on a regular basis.

They have just opened up a new round of contest for "Your Weekly Choice".

Check it out if you get a chance!

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif


Earn free crypto income with Mannabase

Sort:  

I'll definitely try out the Let's Eat app next week when I'm going to a food fair in our town. Is Tasteem working currently btw?

Yes, they opened up a new submission window it looks like. @slobberchops just posted a review to it actually!

Yeah I've just filled it in, put your names in as 'referrals' :)

Awesome!

Thanks for sharing the @steemfoodtours and @letseat initiatives! I really appreciate it. This is also the first I am hearing about Tasteem, I will have to explore and see what it's all about. Thanks again for the support @bozz!

No problem, happy to help! I think they are great ideas. I love food! I'd just die without it! :)

I do hope SteemFoodTours, Let's Eat and Tasteem combine. It will be awesome for all of us to join food contest.

That is hilarious. I recently told my partner that everything we make to eat or eat out is a post worth moment. She laughed at me. We absolutely love food and trying new things. I like the culinary explorer term!!

Thanks! My wife has to remind me to take pictures a lot of times. I get busy grilling or eating and forget. I was just doing something mundane at work the other day and realized after the fact it could have been a post.

I like 'culinary explorers' :)

I find there are initiates on Steemit for certain theme's and none for others. For food we now have three, for travel we have several but there's many others that have none.

Then there are other more general ones such as @esteemapp and @steempress, you just have to know about them.

I'm wondering if a music one exists?

That is a good question. I am not sure. It is probably important to differentiate to between listening to music or making music. Just like #steemkitchen is more for making food and the other ones we have talked about are for eating it. I would totally jump on board if there were some for listening to music!

Congratulations @bozz! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67773.95
ETH 3733.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69