STEEM Food Tours #1 : Crisostomo - Blue Bay Walk, Pasay, Philippines

in #steemfoodtours6 years ago (edited)

I'm participating in the initiative of @jeffjagoe to build a collection of food reviews rooted upon the STEEM blockchain. You can read more about it here. I'm confident that this will boost the value of the community, and will atttact users outside to be part of Steemit and to whatever this will evolve to. Also, I'm a self-proclaimed foodie, so I'm very much excited to take part in this project.

Crisostomo STEEMFoodTours

Being a local food blogger

I took my passion for food to a next level by creating my own blog. It has been running for more than 5 years already, and I couldn't be happier. Or so I thought. That was until Steemit knocked on my door (or was it otherwise), and by then I felt the "hunger" to showcase my reviews to a bigger/wider audience. With this, I'm happy to offer continuous support to @jeffjagoe in this project. Hence, I'll be dedicating exclusive content for #STEEMFoodTours at least once a week. I'll be using the same style of writing in my blog, since that's what I'm accustomed to. I hope that's alright with you.

Anyway, my blabbering is perhaps making you hungrier, so I would now continue on with the food review.

Crisostomo Restaurant Interior

Crisostomo - a fancy Filipino restaurant

For this post, I'll be sharing with you my experience dining in Crisostomo which is a Filipino restaurant serving classic traditional dishes with a dash of fanciness. It is located in Blue Bay Walk in Pasay City. Full address is found below where you'll also find the summary of the review for a quicker read.

Crisostomo Interior in Blue Bay

Posh and modern interior

The interesting thing about the interior is that it combines traditional elements with modern design. This result to a "refreshed" classic. The chandeliers also further add a posh touch to the ambience.

image

Classic traditional Filipino dishes

Crisostomo chose to preserve the classic appeal and taste of traditional dishes. There might be subtle changes, but it retains the core flavors and ingredients. Hence, if you are looking for the "old-style" homy Filipino dishes, Crisostomo is a great candidate.

Interestingly, names of dishes have references to Dr. Jose Rizal's (our national hero) obra maestra, a novel called El Filibustero, which is a good read reflecting the colonial era of the Philippines.

Anyway, let's check out some of the dishes we had.

Mais ala Sibyla by Crisostomo Restaurant

Mais Ala Sibyla (P475 | $9.50) - a seafood soup sweetened with corn. This gently kisses the buds with its lightly sour taste balanced by mild sweetness of the corn and finishes off with seafood essence.

Don Filipo by Crisostomo Restaurant

Don Filipo (P345 | $6.09) - an adobo-like dish using squid ink as the base of the sauce mixed with vinegar and soy sauce. It features the right pull and push of sourness and saltiness over fresh squid.

Sinang Con Lai by Crisostomo Restaurant

Sinang Con Laing (P255 | $5.10) - a vegetable dish using gabi ("taro") leaves mixed over coconut milk added with some hint of chili. You'll love how intensely creamy it is tightly hugging the leaves with rich flavors.

Kare Kare ng Kura by Crisostomo Restaurant

Kare Kare ng Kura (P550 | $11.00) - a savory dish consisting of beef and vegetables all cooked with crushed peanut. The taste is very much balanced -- peanuty with right amount of sweetness. It's also creamy! For me, this is one of the awesome Kare-Kare dishes I've tasted.

There you go! These are the dishes we tried for this particular dining experience, all of which paired well with white rice. I'm giving them two thumbs up for the quality and taste! One of the highly remarkable Filipino restaurants!

Crisostomo - Summary and Quick Guide


Place ★★★★★
Taste ★★★★★
Service ★★★★
Value for Money ★★★★
Budget: at least P400 ($8) each for a sharing type of dining experience for a group of at least 4

While Crisostomo may come a little bit pricey for a Filipino restauramt, you'll definitely be in for a treat with its cozy modern ambience. Also, the taste of dishes ranged from above satisfactory to excellent, which make the price very much worth it. Try having the Kare-Kare, it's really amazing!

Also, the servers seem accommodating and friendly adding to the fantastic experience!

Location: Blue Bay Walk, Pasay City, Metro Manila, Philippines

Day 8 of 30

I subjected myself to a 30-day challenge (read more). I'm amazed by how content can come easily, but maybe that's because I'm still on my first half. I'm also commenting more, so I would say that I'm improving. Hoping for your continuous support!


I am a proud member of @trulaloo, a group that produces quality entertainment content for everyone. Individually, I love to tell stories about travel, food, art and etc. You may want to follow me at @anotsopopularkid. Hope to connect with you!

Sort:  

All I can say is WOW.
Thank you for such an incredible first ever entry to kick off the #STEEMFoodTours! I am blown away by how great you put this together. You truly set the bar high!

All of the food looks unique! I don't think I've ever had a dish similar to any of these. I would like to try the Kare Kare ng Kura. The way you described it sounds delicious!

Thank you very much for the kind words. I was really pushed by my excitement over the initiative.

Kare Kare ng Kura is really something I loved! I even "scraped" the sauce that stuck to the pot, since I couldn't seem to go over it.

It looks delicious. Your review makes me want to dine on that resto

Thanks for dropping by @gunter01! Yes, I couldn't help but get hungry when I was writing this post.

Good day, @anotsopopularkid
Your post was chosen to be part of our daily featured posts for today. This is to motivate every author to produce quality content like yours. Thanks for promoting Filipino food on Steemniverse. You received 100% upvote from your @steemph.manila family.

Thank you very much for the support @steemph.manila!

Wow! Reading your post makes me nostalgic for the motherland! I haven’t visited since 2010 and I’m sure there are so many new restaurants there now. That laing makes me hungry too.

Yeah, thanks for dropping by! Are there Filipino restaurants in where you are staying?

Just a few and they’re not as good as the ones back home!

My family went here last 2016 for my grad celebration, we didn’t really like the food because it’s just average for us which we thought of it being pricey. But it’s good that maybe they somehow managed to improve it. 👍🏼

Thanks for dropping by @johnarvee12!

That's a possibility, although it may also be due to taste/preference. Maybe it just so happened that we were the "right" crowd for their food.

The only way we can tell if you'll be checking it out once again. Haha! Na-curious tuloy ako. :)

Haha! True! Maybe I’ll give it a shot again someday. But definitely not with my family again lol

PS don't forget to leave a copy of your post's link to the main weekly contest post to complete submission!

Yes, I wrote it as a reply to my earlier comment. :)

Ahh that is why it didn't pop up as a reply to me.. That makes sense and that works fine! Sorry for the confusion. Cheers and thanks again for the amazing entry!

No worries @jeffjagoe and thanks once again for this project! By the way, what are you using to notify you of replies/comments? :D

.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97