You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Friendships that Reach Around the World: SteemFest Dreaming

in #steemfest6 years ago

I have a confession, though: I’m a little scared to go that far from my family at this point in my life. Maybe that’s all the more reason for me to go, to push boundaries and remember who I am as a solo adventurer.

This touched me - you can read in my own #roadtosteemfest post what doubts I have about going, and part of that is gaining confidence in myself as 'The Wanderer', the solo traveler again. I lost that confidence, but I know nothing makes me happier than taking on solo adventures - it's one of the best feelings in the world!

I read in the #steemsugars discord that @soyrosa is going (AHHHHHHH! I want to meet Rosanne so bad!)

Same here woman, same here!!!

And why would other people benefit from me going to SteemFest? Well, I'm fun, I have a positive energy that's contagious, and who doesn't love a Canadian?

Amen


Gosh, if I were able to get you here personally I would! But to those who are going to pick the one that gets the ticket to SteemFest: I more than vouch for this woman! She is a huge supporter of both people and communities as of Steem itself and all that it concerns (promoting voting for witnesses is just an example!) - If we could get het to Krakow we'd experience a huge boost in energy, love and promotional value alone! <3

I truly hope you'll be able to come and we can get to know each other face to face dear @katrina-ariel! Ooooooooh the hugs! :D

Sort:  

First of all, I love you.

Second, I went and read your post. I'll leave the comment here 'cause short on time and it all fits together, but OH how I want to be there and spend time with you. I'm still not sure, even if I get picked, if I'm brave enough to go, or if I'd try to back out as graciously as possible and let someone else have the chance.

This part, from your beautifully honest post, could just as easily be said about having children:

It shouldn't be such a burden for me to go somewhere. But it is, it drains me, I miss the spontaneity that I used to have.

It's totally different, and I love my kids and am so grateful for them, but my life would be infinitely more free if I weren't a mother. And that takes a lot of adjustment, over a long period of time. And it'll change, but I can relate to that sudden lack of freedom, even if our situations are not the same.

In the comments of your post it seemed like there were quite a few people who will be there offering to help, so I know you'll have friends in Poland. If I go, I would really need to figure out who could help me feel safe. My head would be wrapped up in figuring out logistics, and how I'd handle different situations. Maybe not a bad thing to think about, but I tend to overthink. ;-) Ah, we humans lead such interesting journeys. I'm gonna upvote your comment since your post was past payout, but thanks for mentioning it! I'm so glad I read it. :)

I have so so much to say to this comment, but the main thing is: 1) I love you too, and 2) I would be more than glad to guide you through it all: from finding the best tickets (skyscanner.com!) to how exactly to travel once in Europe <3

And yes, I felt from your post that in ways our situations are much much the same - it's the limitation of freedom, the 'feeling held back', the loss of a huge and important part of yourself... I honestly have gone through all stages of mourning. In a way when life chances big time you have to say goodbye to a part of you.

Hug your children, I know this is not about them, they must be amazing <3

Thank you! And, no, the lack of freedom isn't about them, it's about me. I'm so grateful for them, and they get soooooo many hugs. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62750.78
ETH 2444.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66