Weekly SteemFest update - 7 more weeks to go!

in #steemfest8 years ago (edited)

TLDR:

Six days ago ticket sales for SteemFest started. I'm quite happy with the sales sofar and see about 7 early adopters buying tickets every day, most of those are actually "Long Haul" tickets from USA and Canada! I guess it's because it's now the right time to book cheap flights, for example via SkyScanner.net

This week I had great chats with @kevinwong who will be DJ'ing at the end of the Conference Day 1 after @tatianamoroz Album Release show. Kevin has been a very talented music curator as far as I can judge based on his (many) entries on @radiosteem :)

I spent some time on getting the VISA for @infovore (Nigeria) straight... Wow, this really confronts me with the hassle he has to go through to get to Amsterdam for a couple of days... I needed to write an official invite, get his hotel reservation already set, a 'Schengen Travel Insurance' and already got him a 'speakers ticket' so he can present all that data when he is due for his appointment this monday!

Furthermore I had a call with @firepower about setting up on-site support and liveblogging during the event. @firepower really got some firepower during the call, as somehow he managed to electrify himself while recharging his computer on a power outlet... Luckily it all ended allright with a nervous giggly, you can only have after these kind of events ;)

With @anduweb who generously offered his help we worked out the Support Pages for SteemFest. Those pages truly become a resource for all questions you might have about the event.

Then, wow! @good-karma offered to make the mobile app for the event. As an experienced mobile devver, you know him from the eSteem mobile app (iOS updated yesterday again!) I am really looking forward to this. One can say, hey it's 2 days, what need is an app for. But since many of you are coming from outside The Netherlands, and 'roaming' is still kinda an issue, we are envisioning an offline map of Amsterdam and ofcourse program info...

Yesterday I had a quick meeting with @cass and we discussed the mobile app, as he will make design for it. Great to meet him again in real life as he is becoming an Amsterdam regular :) heisse scheisse Cass! Then I went off to some 'growth hacker' event to meet some 'internet peoples'... Bizar that no one still knows about Steemit. I'm planning to change that with all I can and I think SteemFest will definitely be of help.

Next to this it was all about short nights, many chats in Steemit and then today I could happily announce a new batch of names for SteemFest.

Also, we've introduced an interesting group offer where you get 10% discount if you order 4 tickets at once, for you and your Steem friends, read about it in the announcement post. With the four of you, if you are in good standing, I'd recommend to book your SteemFest Volkshotel Package in (1/2) of the 20 twin bedded rooms, if you wanna stay for almost zilch in the official hotel... (47.50 per night per person if you split equally). Of course if you are a couple you can just go for a double room.

Ps. Did you already see the updated SteemFest.com

Sort:  

Great update and looking forward to this... Thanks for all your efforts man!!!

This is going to be epic! Resteemed and tweeted!

Thanks @roelandp for what you are doing! I encourage every single steemit member to vote for your witness paynode (rank 45 currently)
I bet many don't know that it is your witness! There is no excuse now....
https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Thanks for the update and, as planned would love to go, if I had the enough "steem" to make it! All for one and one for all! Have a blast and namaste :)

Wish I could go. Great to see this coming along. Wonder if we should find a way to launch HAVIN there maybe with a bunch of hazinas around the hotel and local businesses.

I wish I could make this, looking forward to the live blogs.
Have you thought about seeing if any of our very talented artists would like some of their work displayed at steemfest.

Do you mean your artists or Steemit's artists? All speakers are steemit users atm. There will be music, dj, literature, cooking, coding and more!

Sorry, I should have been clearer, I meant artists like @opheliafu who post pictures of their work here on steemit. a steemit gallery would be pretty cool

@roelandp What does one have to do to be a speaker at SteemFest? I am very interested. Thank you for the great post mate!

Imagine some will. Read about a singer that will be singing there. :)

Great event on the way!

I think it will be very interesting )))

I am in Canada... aka Canadastan, just learning about all this now, TY for the post and details!

Great piece and thanks for sharing an update of the Amsterdam Fest. Up-voted, following & looking forward to reading more of your updates. I posted a piece earlier about the potential valuation of Steemit that you and your followers may find interesting. If you get a minute have a read. It has certainly got my Twitter followers thinking!!

“STEEMIT is no ordinary Social Media site, it’s pure GOLD..!!”

https://steemit.com/steemit/@stephenkendal/steemit-is-no-ordinary-social-media-site-it-s-pure-gold

Cheers.
Stephen

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57688.87
ETH 3100.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37