Steemfest Day 1 Hackathon and Costello Area After party

in #steemfest6 years ago (edited)

I knew, during the hackathon presentations, that I wouldn't be able to keep up with all of the tech talk, and new information. Luckily @juanmiguelsalas was there recording video. I am even more blessed to have his permission to use any of his materials from the hackathon for my post. So, I am able to take a trip back in time, and take my notes with the ability to pause, ect. After you read this post, I will highly recommend you to check out his blog: @juanmiguelsalas, and give him some upvotes. He also has a YouTube Channel where it will be convenient for you to go through and check out the rest of his content with ease. If you enjoy this post, please go check out his videos, give him some upvotes and a subscribe to his channel. I will have some links at the bottom to make this easier for you.

@juanmiguelsalas does a great job of capturing the spirit of the opening day of SteemFest, and the opening words by @RoelandP. Roeland thanks the SteemFest sponsors Steem, Decent, Bitshares, and Peerplays Blockchain Standards Association. Also, it was recommended to only connect to the wifi with a vpn, and proper security on your computer, so following suit from more experienced steemians than myself, I decided it wasn't the best time for me to log on.

After @RoelandP's opening words, @sneak comes on to represent for the Steem Blockchain. Here he introduces https://developers.steem.io/ the Steem Developers portal, which is an amazing set of resources for developers wishing to build apps on the Steem Blockchain.

He briefly introduces the contest, and the awards schedule, while pointing out a few developers in the room.

An aside I forgot to mention in the last post. When I first met @sneak, we were discussing the new logo, and he told me that someone said it looked like trump with his silly wave of hair. Once seen, never unseen. You're welcome!

Next @wackou comes on to discuss Bitshares, some of it's history, and more about the contest. He explains that Dan Larimer, co-founder Steemit, also created Bitshares. With Bitshares 2.0 came a split of the base framework, that implements an efficient toolkit that anyone can use: Graphene. @wackou explains that Graphene is now used by Bitshares, Steem, Peerplays, and many other projects.

https://github.com/bitshares/bitshares-core
https://github.com/bitshares/bitshares-ui

Graphene brought Easy to Remember User-Names, Multi-Signature Permissions for Accounts, Smartcoins pegged to Real World Assets, the ability for Users to Create their own Tokens, Decentralized Asset Exchange, 3 second blocktime, and Large Capacity for Load.

This change also brought Witnesses (Delegated Proof of Stake), Committee Members to Vote on Blockchain Parameters, Workers who propose work to be done, and can get paid upon, and Proxy voting, so that a user does not have to depend on their own research, but can allow a trusted individual to vote on Witnesses, ect.

https://docs.bitshares.org

@wackou goes over a lot more technical information, a host of wallets that support bitshares, lite wallets, mobile wallets, blockchain explorers, backend development, front end development, ect.

You should also check out the slides from that presentation, here:
https://github.com/wackou/slides/blob/master/steemfest2_hackathon.pdf
There is a lot of good resources in it for developers (who the presentation was really for), if you are interested in coding an app based on bitshares.

He goes on to explain that Roeland made a proposal to Bitshares, and the proposal was voted on and approved, which resulted in a 1111 BitUSD prize for the best project from the hackathon!

Next come out Martin Smolka and Josef Sevcik to present Decent. This is a decentralized content distribution platform, they merge blockchain, and IPFS to monetize any type of digital content such as games, videos, or music. Anyone can upload their content and sell it through Decent. Most content distribution platforms take most of the profits when they sell your content, decent takes out the middle man. They offer profit sharing, content is encrypted end to end.

They offer a prize of 3.000 DCT, and were hoping for some sort of txt based integration with the Decent Blockchain.

For more information about Developing projects with the Decent blockchain, please check out these links.

So, the idea, is ideally, to create an app that combines a few of these blockchains and wows the judges.


After the presentations, all of the non-hackers mingled with the hackers and the developers, I wasn't ready to leave any time soon. However, after a while the non-hackers started to drift and I started to feel out of place again... so I headed over to the Hotel Fenix, to collect my wristband and my official SteemFest namebadge.

I got a lot of other cool swag, I'd love to be able to say I managed to hang on to all of it... however... life moves fast, and sometimes the swag stays put :( Speaking of which, I took a lot of great pictures from the...

Costello Area After Party

But, those pictures didn't stay put... of course, I have a million copies of silly "Creamy and Delicious" videos and out-takes, and then my phone was mostly dead for half of the conference, so I'll be leaning on the fact that many other's heavily documented our time there. Which is good advertising for them, hopefully :)

(img source: @juanmiguelsalas)

What more can I say? This was the end of a loopy amazing introduction to SteemFest. Everything was glorious, and decadent, I met many people that first night that I barely talked with again, and a number of people who I would continue to chat with as the week went on. I was among the last to leave, eventually realizing that with no sleep the night before, I needed to get some rest. Unlike many steemians, particularly @quinneaker (who can go days with a few hours of sleep), I need sleep.

So I went back to my hostel, to (hopefully) have my wits about me for the Conference Day 1.

Next Posts in the Series:

References

Out of Gratitude for his generocity, and abiltiy to capture the moment, a portion of this post's payout will go to @juanmiguelsalas :bow:

Brought to you by @NewsTeem

Join us on the SteemitBC Discord Server

Sort:  

Great piece, love the amount of information you got into one post!!>

Great music,,,great rock party. nice celebration

I love the Untittled Video.... :)

Looking forward to following this series! Great work documenting things. :)

That's how I found this one. Too many posts flowing through the stream to catch them all. :)

Look at the smile and the love in everyone's face. This is really amazing :)

very informative post.thank for sharing

Congratulations @inquiringtimes! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 53.0% @minnowbooster upgoat, thanks to @inquiringtimes
It consists of $10.97 vote and $3.66 curation
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @inquiringtimes to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99