You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Newbies Steembasicincome Sponsorship Program

in #steembasicincome6 years ago

Hi, I'm Aiyumi, a woman from Brazil. I'm a Perl programmer, Linux user, and fan of anime and video games despite being visually impaired. I've never had much luck with social network sites, but after @ayza - a talented artist and a reader of one of my video game fan fictions - sent me a link to her Steemit profile page, I became interested in Steemit. I came across some quality posts, the community seemed nice, and this pulled me in. Some more info about me on my introduction post.

I've been here for just a month, and am enjoying the community and discovering a lot of great content. But I'm also feeling how hard it is for us newbies to have our content found. I've never had any illusions that I'd get rich on Steemit or anything, but as someone who reads and comments on other people's posts more than I write my own, I wish my upvote were worth more so that I could better show my support for the great authors I find. It's disheartening to press the upvote button, only to have the post value remain the same. For now, just aiming to reach the point I'll be able to reach 22 SP and give 0.01 upvotes. Right now, you may see that I have 215 SP if you look at my wallet, but this is because I unexpectedly won second place at a contest last week (here's the post where I talk about it in more detail. Proud of the achievement, but this isn't my best post), and the prize was a 200 SP delegation for one week! This means I could get a taste of the other side! It's like a dream! ... And like a dream, it'll come to an end soon. In two days, the magic will end, and I'll be back to the new users' default starting 15 SP... so, I still believe being in Steembasicincome would help a bit on my journey towards 22 SP!

Here's my favorite post so far. It's about the Busy.org site, basically a different interface to Steemit with more features:

https://steemit.com/steemit/@aiyumi/trying-out-busy-org

Thank you for this opportunity!

Sort:  

Oh, thank you! My first SBI share, finally! :D

And my favorite is Slackware Linux. Certainly not a common choice!

I ran slacko puppy on a few older devices for a while, tested slackware after that but it didn't like my onboard sound.

How ironic! One of the reasons I went with Slackware was because it was the only distro that liked my onboard sound :P . I had tried some other distros' live CDs, and sound didn't work in any of them because their ALSA versions were too old. I was interested in Slackware already, and tried one live Slackware-based distro (it was a Brazilian distro called ImagineOS, but it doesn't exist anymore), and sound surprisingly worked. I confirmed that the ALSA version in the original Slackware was the same as in the derivative distro, and that was that.

I have a post about how I started using Slackware on my personal blog (though I didn't mention the bit about ImagineOS there):

http://aiyumi.warpstar.net/en/blog/how-i-started-using-linux/

The post is very old, though. It was published in 2011 and contains a translated mailing list message from 2009! So, a lot has changed!

As for something more up-to-date, I've recently written a review of Slint Linux, the Slackware-based distro that I began using this year:

http://aiyumi.warpstar.net/en/blog/slint-linux-review/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58237.47
ETH 2479.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38