New sketchbook ---> new traditional sketch ^.^

in #steemartists6 years ago (edited)

Thumbnail.jpg

Banner_01-02 (2).png

I've recently finished a very complicated commission for a former colleague of mine. The pay was also quite good so the minute I received it, decided to upgrade my set of traditional materials. ^.^
I quite enjoy sketching and that also helps me get away from the pc for couple of hours - my eyesight is getting worse from too much staring at the screen. XD

This is a midnight sketch of my OC Phery Mallory. If you're curious to see her painted digitally, just click on the links bellow:
Phery Mallory
Phery Animation Attempt - 01 ^.^
Phery_WIP 01 ^.^
A Time of Tranquility

Border_01 (2).png

Here are some of the materials I bought yesterday.
20180802_165341_HDR.jpg

One of the sketchbooks has only black paper sheets so I combined it with a white chalk pencil. Can't wait to show you the results in my next post. ^.^ The surface is very smooth and easy to draw and you can smudge the pencil's strokes as I love to do.
20180802_165133_HDR.jpg

20180802_165211_HDR.jpg

Border_01 (2).png

It's time for the first piece in the red sketchbook. ^.^
I only took two pics of Phery, mostly because I got caught up in drawing. XD
It took me approximately two-three hours to finish, but the hair still has work to do. It was done after midnight. XD
20180804_003104_HDR.jpg

My next step is to scan it and painted digitally. I recently finished couple of animations on After Effects to improve my skills, so why not animated Phery? XD
20180804_010746_HDR.jpg

Border_01 (2).png

To compensate the lack of works in progress I present you my new fluffy companion during lunch and coffee.
This is an adorable and quite large cat from a restaurant near my home. And very photogenic too. XD
20180729_141132_HDR.jpg

Border_01 (2).png

I hope you like it.
Have a great day, everyone!
Thanks for stopping by!

Sort:  

That cat was the cherry on top. Nice sketch you got here. The shading and depth, even if it's just a sketch, I bet you would have any problems rendering it like one of your digital arts. :D

Thank you, @adamada! ^.^ Hope I'll have time soon to make it digital. ^^

Beautiful sketch @katalinaooma, looking forward to the black paper works :)

Thank you, @midlet! ^.^ I'm so glad you like it! ^.^
I'm still practicing highlights on the black paper sheets, hope it comes out something pleasing. ^.^

Very soft and elegant sketch, katchan. I really love her demure expression which says a lot of things to us.

And fat kitty <3.

Thank you, my dear! ^.^ She's always very insecure in herself (she needs to be prised more by her husband XD) despite her beauty and grace.
And that kitty is FAT! XD So fat that it actually can take the whole chair. He was pushing my leg with his palms the whole time, he needed more space or just wanted attention... no idea... XD

That hair piece is mad, I love it! And don't feel bad about lack of work in progress, I think once you start drawing you just tend to draw. You'd need a setup to get your phone to just take a photo of it every so often while you keep working. This is why screen recorders are handy when doing things digitally ;D

But I'm quite happy to take the kitty pic in lieu of wips and I don't think too many other people will complain ;D

Thank you, Ry! ^.^ Really glad you like it! It took some time, but I used a special help from this thing:
20180805_123749_HDR.jpg
I have it since my college years. We used to make clothes cuts. ^^

Yeah, screen recorders are great, I should really learn how to use them, one of my commission is actually a time-lapse video of an illustration.

Glad you like the fat kitty. He's really adorable. ^.^


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Thank you, @c-squared! Much appreciated! ^^

Ooh there's nothing better than new art supplies to put a great big smile on your face, is there?

I love that sketch- you've captured so much with simple lines.
Wow- that cat is huge - he's gorgeous!
E x

Thank you so much! ^.^
Yeah, I feel happier spending money for art supplies than clothes. XD
It's strange, I know. ^^

Hehe that's not strange in my book 😂

beautiful, katalina ! her profile is so lovely and i love her closed eyes with that heavy lashes * ___ * gorgeous shading also <3 looking forward to see you progress this * ___ *

Thank you, my dear! Glad you like it! <3 <3 <3
I really want to make her look good enough with colors and everything. ^.^

Lovely pose and expression, and really nice incorporation of soft shading with bold, thick lines. The hair piece is really nifty on its own. I also like how you used some of the proceeds from this to buy more art supplies.

Thank you so much for the great comment, @see.feel.write! I'm so glad you like it! ^.^ I always try to invest some of the money into new supplies. That way I feel like it's not wasted. ^.^

If it means more great art to look at, I'm all for it.

I like all your artworks, but this one is very elegant. And it's always nice when you receive some money for your work to buy new stuff. Enjoy them! :)

Thank you, my dear! ^.^ Much appreciated!
Yeah, I love shopping for art supplies! ^.^

Another great illustration!

Thanks to @anouk.nox, this post was resteemed and highlighted in today's edition of The Daily Sneak.

Thank you for your efforts to create quality content!

Thank you so much! I'm glad you like it! ^.^
And special thanks to the amazing @anouk.nox! <3 <3 <3

You're welcome @katalinaooma :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 54657.34
ETH 2331.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.14