Phery Animation Attempt - 01 ^.^

in #steemartists6 years ago (edited)

Phery_01.gif

Banner_01-02 (2).png

I've always wanted to do a quick animation of my characters.
I switched jobs last year and had to improve my skills in After Effects. Apart from my regular tasks I had the time (and passion, of course) to make my own little animations.
They had to be put aside tho for quite some time.
So here we are with my little Phery flowing with energy. You can check the illustration in one of my previous posts here:
Phery Mallory - Wallpaper

Border_01 (2).png

To make this wavy energy looking effect I used Saber for Adobe After Effects. It'a free (well, at least it used to be) Plug-In made by the Incredible Andrew Kramer from Video Copilot. I've followed him for like five years or more and still have new things to learn from.

Border_01 (2).png

The original file was 1920x1080 px. Because the whole project/animation is an experiment, changed the hair and body only. I played so much with this plug-in that almost forgot about the background. Maybe I should do a second version with moving cracks or passing shine over them.

To make the effect following her contours I had to trace the hair and body separately and applied it on two layers on which placed the saber. The most suitable preset for the body was the Fractal, and for the hair - the one called Patronus. There're more than 30 preset styles so you can experiment a lot with it.

After a night of tweaking and adjusting I came out with this result. The composition was 5 seconds long but I couldn't make a .gif (I had problems with the current version of After Effects I'm using which is CS5). So decided to export the frames in PNG sequence and arranged it in Photoshop. The final animation is only 2 seconds but with the looping forever option. Also had to change the dimensions to 576x324 px (even with 256 colors selected the final image is still a bit crappy).

It's not really something unique but it's still practice. Hope to make more and better in the future (with my other characters) because this was really fun.

Border_01 (2).png

Hope you like her!
^.^ Have a great day, everyone! ^.^

Sort:  

Ohhh shiny!
A good first attempt...the sky is the limit :)

I think that hair and wind are generally rather aesthetic thing. I feel like the "loop" could be smoother. The drawing itself is top notch.

Thank you, @zeroooc! ^.^
I have to work on that more!

That's a very nice glow! Your works never cease to amaze me ♥

Thank you, @kothy! I'm so glad you like it! ^.^

Ahh it's so pretty! Probably just as well you forgot the background as it keeps the focus on the character this way. If you wanted a bit of movement in the background too it would have needed to be more subtle, enough to show that they're in the same scene but not enough to be distracting. It looks great :)

goatsig

Thanks, @ryihnn! I'll include this in my second version of the animation. ^.^

Beautiful character! And a very nice glow ^^

Thank you so much, @kristyglas! ^.^

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 53615.59
ETH 2344.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.13