Art Review: Murano glass pen for inking

in #steemartist6 years ago

Hey Steemers and Steemartists! I'm back with a new update, today I tested my new Glass Pen from Murano. I made a simple drawing to see how the pen works for inking and wanted to share my experience with it to you.

IMG_0440.JPG

The Murano glass pen was a gift from my father who went last month to Europe. He visited many places from the Iberian Peninsula and the Mediterranean Sea like Spain, Italy and Greece. In his journey he visited Murano, located in Northern Italy were he got me this beautiful glass pen.

IMG_0439.JPG


Review

This pen is packaged in a white large box with a nice red print that reminds me of old/antique manuscripts. Inside comes with a little glass bottle of ink and the glass pen with a metallic dip, secured from both side of its ends with two little plastic strings. At first I began trying to get the ink from the bottle with the pen, but it didn't fit so I decided otherwise to pour it in a plastic palette with little holes in it. I think it wasn't deep enough to fill the pen so I couldn't try the pen with it. At the end I just used my own bottle of black indian ink from Lefranc & Bourgeois which is deep enough and wide to fit the pen. I'll use the little bottle's ink with brushes later, so it won't be wasted.

IMG_0437.JPG

After making a quick sketch for the review, the glass pen didn't release enough ink for me to draw comfortably. I was a bit worried at first because it dried out so quickly, but I kept on drawing until it got used to the ink, maybe it needed a bit of dirt, I'm not quite sure haha. Finally, it released enough ink and it lasted for many several strokes which is good to flow in the process. At the end, I liked it very much specially for very thin strokes and it's comfort within it's shape.

I recommend this to anyone who loves traditional inking or lettering. It's a beautiful tool which indeed can be used to decorate your work desk as a double function. Glass pens are incredible comfy and I believe I'll use it as my main inking tool for traditional media.


Hope you have liked my review and my little sample drawing.

Please remember to upvote or comment if you like my content, this will help me to grow and study my theme choices for making quality blog posts.


Follow my Social Media

Art Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/gabeecos/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/GabeeCarreraArts/
Tumblr: http://gabeecarmon.tumblr.com/


Read my recent Blog Posts

About Me: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gabeecm/introduceyourself-meet-my-artwork-and-cosplay
Behind the Drawing: Hombre Caimán y Colombiana:https://steemit.com/artzone/@gabeecm/behind-the-drawing-hombre-caiman-y-colombiana

Sort:  

Congratulations @gabeecm! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Sweet, I love these badges ✨

Hermosa ilustración, que grandioso regalos, saludos y mucho éxitos amiga.

¡muchas gracias! sin duda es un regalo mágnifico. Quede encantada con el como herramienta

beautiful and lovely post, @gabeecm !! the inking of the hair is so nice and the expression of the girl is very happy :> i think she would have looked a bit better with a better focus on her eyes~

Thank you! I still need to practice eyes, I tend to draw them too simple. Thank you for the tip✨

nice...i like the style..

Thank you very much ✨😊

Thank you for a great review. I don't even know which is prettier - the pen or the drawing :D <3 Can't wait to see more from you!

I’m glad you like my review and my drawing. I’ll be making more reviews, step by steps, wips and tutorials ✨✨✨

That is great to hear, I'll keep my eye on you 🤓

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @gabeecm! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Awesome! ✨💫

You have been upvoted by @rentmoney thanks for participating in our Followers Appreciation Promotion

thank you so much!

Congratulations @gabeecm! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Cool! ✨✨✨

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 67043.72
ETH 3510.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.20