They Laughed When We Said... $3 dollar Steem

in #steem6 years ago (edited)



The price was 7 cents, and I just kept posting.

Dan and Ned were fighting, the community was toxic, the community blamed SteemIt, Inc, and Witnesses said the minnows were "Draining the Rewards".

I just kept posting.

Dan quit in a manner that triggered me so hard, I am barely over it now.  (Corporate Culture, I hated how he treated his investors)  I am pretty much over it at this point, but at the time it was upsetting.

I just kept posting.

Many of my posts in the early days didn't earn enough to receive a payout, I got mad and yelled at the whales.

I just kept posting.

Earning Steem was painfully slow, and dealing with the community felt hard at times.  I made some friends and some enemies.

I just kept posting.

Sometimes I took dumb positions on community topics, and I made people mad.  Sometimes I embarrassed myself.

I just kept posting.

The reward pool was broken in a hardfork, many protested or left for a while.

I just kept posting.

The price went up after Dan left, there were mixed feelings and lots of debates.

I just kept posting.

At some point I hit 1000 SP

I just kept posting.

At some point I hit 10,000 SP

I just kept posting

It adds up faster now

I just keep posting.

What will you do?

@whatsup

Bonus:  If anyone can pull how many of my posts earned "0" payout, $5 SBD Bonus.

Sort:  

Well said. I remember $0.07 Steem.

I also remember having a "decent" post that got legs and got going. At the time, I think I got 23 SBD and +/- 282 SP for it. It was "good" but it wasn't that much. But at current rates, a little over $1,200.00. For one blog post. SO there's that...

I'm still going to stand by the assertion that any "problems" Steemit may/may not have aren't related to bots, circle jerks, spam or something else like that... but to short term thinking vs. long term thinking.

Do you want to nurture the goose that lays golden eggs so you can have golden eggs for LIFE, or do you just want lots of golden eggs, NOW?

Whether or not we agree on the problems, you have been steadfast and steady and an important part of my journey!

Someone else who just keeps on posting. :)

Yup, just keep swimmin'....

I haven't even "Rage Quit" Steemit ONCE!

Have you changed strategies at all? I think I'm on at least my 3rd strategy change. It might be #10. lol

Not substantially-- a few tweaks. In the beginning I was very focused on writing "magazine style articles" and that has given way (somewhat) to more anecdotal and personal opinion pieces — which is actually (a) how I prefer to write and (b) how most of my original blogs in the late 1990s and early 2000's were structured. More of a dialogue, if you will... which has helped me increase engagement quite a bit.

Part II: I realize I have no hope in hell of keeping up with my followers, so I have a basic core group I try to keep up with; I try to be very interactive on my own posts... and anything beyond that is totally contingent on whether I have time left over. I have close to 4000 followers and (sadly) I have NO idea who 80-90% of them are.

Short version: I would rather engage sincerely with 200 people a month than try to leave 8-word comments for 2000.

I mainly only interact with about 5 people on here I think. Originally I was hoping to interact with all of my followers but I've never gone back to look at them. I think my first 30 I kept track of. I think about 1/2 of my followers are dead. This site has major retention problems. If you upvote yourself I can upvote you but right now my vote is below the .02 earnings threshold. This site can keep you real busy. I wouldn't mind having it as a full time job but going forward I will try to be more helpful and educational and improve society. I'm confident this platform will survive even without me but I would also like it to survive better with me right now. lol

There is something to be said for being an early adopter and earning steempower when the price is low. At the moment though it feels like we're in a top and the price might pull back (but that's probably just me being pesimistic).

@whatsup,
I came to this platform with empty hands! STEEM was at $0.8( Last June)! But I keep posting, got flags, got votes, makes friend (like you), makes few enemies but still keep posting!
My dream is to see two figure value infront of STEEM price, then 3 figures, then 4 figures!
Until that dream accomplished I will keep posting :D
I can't remember 0's infront of your posts! Coz, I think I joined later and you made "WHATSUP" niche as strong when I see you in STEEMIT!

Cheers~

Just keep on posting! Reminds me of Dory from Finding Nemo "Just Keep on Swimming." I admire your persistence and resilience. I find myself internally struggling sometimes when my posts don't make money. Wow can't believe you started when Steem was only 7 cents and now it's $3. Where do you see the amount of users for Steem by end of 2018? Where do you see the price? Just for fun! :)

I have to admit, whenever I doubt what I'm doing, I do the little singy "just keep swimming swimming swimming" thing. If it doesn't clear it up then maybe the doubt is worth taking seriously, but it's surprising how often it does.

Actually, when I started in Aug of 2016 the price was around $1.50 we had more inflation and the rewards were based on a curve. The price steadily climbed down to 7 cents. :)

I am hoping someone can pull for me how many of my posts earned 0. A lot I know that.

I think we are going to see some amazing growth in 2018, I don't want to pitch numbers, so this is just for fun. The first million is the hardest, so 3-5 million users in 2018 and $25 dollar steem. (just for fun)

This was PERFECT. I couldn't have said it better myself. As a matter of fact, I'd like to feature it/you at my upcoming show on Wednesday to help encourage steemians to "just keep posting."

I host a Dear Littlescribe show on steemstar.net. My debut is Wednesday, and I'll be featuring a couple of favorite authors as well.

Would love it if you could join us! It's every Wednesday 8 pm UTC (1 pm PST).

Please send me an invite to your discord server. I am also whatsup on discord.

Here you go dawlin': https://discord.gg/akmRGv

Are you coming to the show tomorrow?

I am going to try to remember to come. I am terrible at missing these things. :)

I totally understand! I'm hoping I make it myself!

Well, here are the details if you're able to make it: https://steemit.com/steemstar/@littlescribe/sociopaths-puns-and-manbeards-littlescribe-streaming-live-8-pm-utc-1-pm-cst-wednesday

Keep on posting @whatsup !!!!!

I just keep posting.

You sure do! Nice job.

wow holy shit. Love this. #JustKeepPosting

Just keep posting... just keep posting...

Loving your recent posts, this one as well as the one about focusing on what's right instead of what's wrong. I love Steemit. It isn't perfect, but nothing is. It's a grand experiment, and I'm glad to be part of it. I focus on having fun, on the incredible interaction happening here, and the fact that even small earnings can add up. And Dory's "Just keep swimming" song can be adapted to so many things. Keep on Steemin' on! :)

I will keep posting.
Even when ive been depressed, somehoe i kept posting.
I know i have not been here long
But i kept posting
I have been ill for the past five months. On the fifth month, in March i mustered enough strength to sign up.
I kept posting
I never looked back
And kept posting
Here i am now

I hope you are feeling better and I see that you are one who will likely consider many ideas and keep on posting.

Yes. I'm catching on fast and hope to continue doing so. I'm feeling stronger everyday. Thank you

The moral of the story - keep on posting!

I have days like this where it seems hard and not worth the effort but I keep on posting. I have made it through the first 2 months on here and am loving it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 55290.41
ETH 2357.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32