You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: They Laughed When We Said... $3 dollar Steem

in #steem6 years ago

Well said. I remember $0.07 Steem.

I also remember having a "decent" post that got legs and got going. At the time, I think I got 23 SBD and +/- 282 SP for it. It was "good" but it wasn't that much. But at current rates, a little over $1,200.00. For one blog post. SO there's that...

I'm still going to stand by the assertion that any "problems" Steemit may/may not have aren't related to bots, circle jerks, spam or something else like that... but to short term thinking vs. long term thinking.

Do you want to nurture the goose that lays golden eggs so you can have golden eggs for LIFE, or do you just want lots of golden eggs, NOW?

Sort:  

Whether or not we agree on the problems, you have been steadfast and steady and an important part of my journey!

Someone else who just keeps on posting. :)

Yup, just keep swimmin'....

I haven't even "Rage Quit" Steemit ONCE!

Have you changed strategies at all? I think I'm on at least my 3rd strategy change. It might be #10. lol

Not substantially-- a few tweaks. In the beginning I was very focused on writing "magazine style articles" and that has given way (somewhat) to more anecdotal and personal opinion pieces — which is actually (a) how I prefer to write and (b) how most of my original blogs in the late 1990s and early 2000's were structured. More of a dialogue, if you will... which has helped me increase engagement quite a bit.

Part II: I realize I have no hope in hell of keeping up with my followers, so I have a basic core group I try to keep up with; I try to be very interactive on my own posts... and anything beyond that is totally contingent on whether I have time left over. I have close to 4000 followers and (sadly) I have NO idea who 80-90% of them are.

Short version: I would rather engage sincerely with 200 people a month than try to leave 8-word comments for 2000.

I mainly only interact with about 5 people on here I think. Originally I was hoping to interact with all of my followers but I've never gone back to look at them. I think my first 30 I kept track of. I think about 1/2 of my followers are dead. This site has major retention problems. If you upvote yourself I can upvote you but right now my vote is below the .02 earnings threshold. This site can keep you real busy. I wouldn't mind having it as a full time job but going forward I will try to be more helpful and educational and improve society. I'm confident this platform will survive even without me but I would also like it to survive better with me right now. lol

There is something to be said for being an early adopter and earning steempower when the price is low. At the moment though it feels like we're in a top and the price might pull back (but that's probably just me being pesimistic).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58130.32
ETH 2361.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38