People are leaving... Because..

in #steem6 years ago

People are leaving... Because...



I hear this AND it gets said like it is a threat or a bad thing.


People leave because:

  • They don't make enough
  • They don't like mean words
  • They don't like flags
  • They can't handle unfairness
  • Its too messy too much spam, or other things they don't like

My response?

Okay, See ya.  It was fun to know you and I wish you luck.  Steem isn't for everyone.  This community is voluntary there is no reason to expect everyone to stay and like it here.

In my early days on SteemIt I was also quite focused on User Retention, but in my past career people paid to be on our website, not the other way around.   I've realized  a focus on User Retention doesn't apply here.  
 

There are plenty of creative and smart people here, they are figuring out how to get visibility and earn and they are adjusting their expectations.  I watch new minnows come in, ask some questions, get frustrated and then figure out how to make a space for themselves.    This is a decentralised platform with no leadership and 1000 people who think they are the only one who truly understands what Steem it is "supposed to be".  It's messy, it isn't for everyone.  That is okay.

 It isn't up to me to say who should stay on Steem and who shouldn't, but it has become clear to me that not everyone will be able to handle it in the current form.   Maybe some of them will come back when we have other front-ends and communities.  Why would we want to retain someone who is triggered by Memes or so focused on what others earn they can't enjoy creating their own content.  That seems cruel.



 Communities and SMTs will likely help to create a community that reflects your values, but not everyone is going to do well in the current situation.

SteemIt isn't for everyone

  1.  If you can't handle what other people say and do with their stake, this may not be a good fit for you.
  2. If you want to pull out a lot of money quickly, this might not be a good fit unless you already have a lot of stake
  3. If you suffer from envy and greed, this might not be a good fit
  4. If you came here thinking it would be easy to gain a lot of stake easily, this may not be a good fit for you.
  5. If you really like everything to be "fair", this may not be a great fit for you.
  6. If you need to earn a living, unless you have whale support, this may not be a good fit for you.
  7. If you need to be able to predict what the value of your investment is, this may not be a good fit for you.
  8. If you are impatient and need to see daily uphill progress, this might not be a good fit.  (I struggle with this one)
  9. If you think a flag is an act of violence or abuse, well...  This may not be a good fit.

It makes more sense if:

  1. You are a talented content creator wanting to gain a bit of investment capital while you hone your skills and practice networking and getting connections.
  2. You are already a content provider looking to supplement your income.
  3. You are speculating that crypto is going to take off and some of that interest will fall to Steem.
  4. You are talented at programming and creating applications and tools in a young economy.
  5. You enjoy writing and communicating and are willing to struggle through building an audience
  6. Hundreds of other reasons that do not occur to me at this moment.


There are thousands of examples, but it isn't a fit for everyone, consider your investment and content goals and carry on as it makes sense to you.

Proceed...  If you think you should.

@whatsup
 

PS Quit comparing your earnings to those on the Trending page and remind yourself what you were earning before you got here.



Sort:  

I'm sharing a lot of your sentiments here. It's weird to me that there are so many people complaining here. Especially when it comes to how much money they're making.

I know we all have different views on what's valuable, but a quick test that will be applicable in many situations is asking yourself "Could I get paid to do this outside the Steem ecosystem?" and I think for most of the people complaining, the answer to that is no, and if I'm being totally honest it's actually HEEEEEELL NAW!

And when it comes to self upvotes and all that, I wonder if people understand that allowing someone or some entity to hold large amounts of your money is extremely valuable. If someone has $500k there are a ton(many involving zero risk) of ways to make more money from that $500k. Simply by people holding large stakes in Steem they are doing something valuable for the entire system. If they are active and curating and whatever, even better, but nobody owes anyone else anything simply because they have more.

You win the prize for situational awareness, sir.

That just got you a follow, never seen that before! Haha.

You offer some great points before joining steemit I was earning 0, now I earn enough to not starve in Venezuela and even afford certain luxuries like going to the movies once a month.

I know my case is especial because 1 sbd is worth more than 1 monthly wage.

Its not that bad! the last time i took a look at a cup of coffee... around 100ml of coffee... it was 400k VEF, so you can actually buy 3.2~ cups of coffee with a monthly wage but you can get 1kg of coffee beans for around 600k and make coffee for a few weeks, but its still half the minimum wage... malnutrition is running rampant and people are down 20kg on average from what they where back in 2015~

1 sbd is worth more than 1 monthly wage

Is this for real???

Yes, 1 average Venezuelan monthly wage is worth around 1.300.000 VEF some people even earn a bit below that.

1.300.000 VEF = 1$ = around 720k VEF AirTM source AirTM is where most of the USD/Crypto to VEF transacctions are done, so you are looking at around what? 1.80-1.90$ monthly wage and a sbd is worth around 3$.

I can provide more information or sources if you have more questions.

Holy fucking cow, 1$ monthly wage 😓 you gotta recruit more Venezuelans to steemit mate. It may change their lives.

We're on it! The community is growing around us. :) It's still a bit slow because Steemit is slow at the beginning, as you know, and people need to work everyday, so they don't have time for testing a new platform most of the time.

However, I've persuaded many to stay and it's been worth it for them. :)

I can't believe this... So how do you live with that, what kind of prices are at the shops in your region?

The government gives the poorest citizens a bag of subsidized food and you they have to manage with that, those of us that are lucky to know english and have access to the intertnet to a certain extend are able to participate on platforms like steem or do freelancing.

Regarding prices, a 2L bottle of soda, for example, cost around 280.000 VEF so if you work for a month you can buy a whooping 8L of Coke!

Food is really expensive if you want to just go and get it, this is where the queues you have seen online in photos or videos happen, hundreds of people queuing for hours/days and camping in front of stores trying to get cheap subsidized food.

The last time i dared to look inside a Mcdonalds, a big mac was around 1.000.000 VEF lol

Lol, your comment makes me wonder what world are we living in... you should open a school of English and teach the children so they will have the chance to a better living. I don't know why the world's wealth is distributed like that...

Its more a problem of mismanagement of wealth rather than a distribution problem, we where sitting on a pile of diamonds when oil was at 100$+ and every oil producing country managed to get richer and get an amazing savings account with that....

Only the Venezuelan government managed to turn a pile of diamonds into a pile of shit and poverty....

Indeed I knew about that piece of history, but I didn't thought it got so bad. I am really sorry to hear these things and I hope that in time, your country's economy will get better so that everybody will afford food, education and comfort without any overwork.

I'd like to learn more from you.

[email protected]

Thanks

Stop by the steemspeak discord server. https://discord.gg/f5Caxr

THere are many people who leave but, the numbers also lie. I don't think the number of signups is representative at all otherwise there would be a hell of a lot more introduceyourself posts. Even now, half of them there don't even qualify as new users.

There are people on all platform that disengage. I haven't posted to instagram or twitter for ages and Facebook very rarely. The disngagement numbers just aren't made overly public as it is not great for the advertising revenue.

If you suffer from envy and greed, this might not be a good fit

Greed seems to work fine for many, large and small.

about the numbers.. you would probably seen it but. just a reminder.
https://steemit.com/steemit/@themarkymark/steemit-creates-accounts-for-scammers-and-nobody-else

Actually, really good points. The numbers do not always add up.

People go inactive they come back when the prices are up. Overall though, it is growing. It seems obvious though it is growing.

I don't know who decided we are going to take over Facebook, but I don't think we will. I also don't think we need to.

We will take over Facebook when the CIA decides they no longer want to support Zuck ;)

I'm still here but it sure would have been nice to know about stuff like the .02 earnings threshold when I first got on and I think it should be lowered to .01. I thought all the upvotes on here counted but I was wrong.

what would you have done differently if you had known?

Not wasted about 1,000 or more upvotes and I probably would have started using bots sooner so my votes would count.

What? I've been on Steemit for a year and a half and I didn't know there was an earnings threshold. Could you point me to a post where this is explained?

Thanks for the link. I don't think ignoring dust is a bad policy, I just would have wanted to know that in advance. Especially because my vote for comments was usually worth 1 or 2 cents.

Your welcome. It does suck wasting 1,000 or more upvotes plus the curation awards. I think we need to do a better job of educating new users.

Rounding down dust votes isn't robbing. It's an anti-spam measure.

I think .01 would still work fine and help more people stay on the platform.

I love this place and it is mainly because of the people who do the 9 things you posted that SteemIt isn't for everyone. If more people would just do their own thing and stay off of all the blogs that just complain everyone would be so much happier.

Everyone is not going to agree and that is what makes it social media, tokens are just an added bonus after all things are said and done. Sure some can make this place a business but the average user needs to learn how to be social before expecting a paycheck.

One of the best written and most grounded lists with reasons I have come across about this platform so far!

So many people start out here with the wrong reason just to make some quick money and expecting instant succes. The ones who would actually have a blog regardless monetary rewards and really enjoy it all which makes them willing to be patient and put a lot of time and effort into are the rare exceptions. These are the ones who will have a very high chance to make Steemit into an extra bit of income without making a monetary inestment.

A mindset that really helps when starting out, is to think in relative earnings instead of absolute (very few people do this). The growth percentage in relation to the steem power you own. Smaller accounts are able to easily crush all the big whales when looking at earnings this way.

"5. You enjoy writing and communicating and are willing to struggle through building an audience"

Yep. That's why I'm here. This place is a damn mess but I'm doing alright so far.

Very level-headed assessment.

Steemit simply isn't for everyone-- and that's ok!

Even for me personally, sometimes steemit has been good to me, sometimes it hasn't. Right now, it's good.

As you say, there are different ways of going about doing this thing. No way is "wrong" per se, but that doesn't mean actions don't have equal and opposite reactions.

I found myself mentally nodding my head as I read through your posts.

IMG_3598.GIF

Thank you.

One of the characteristics of maturity in any field is the ability to keep your eyes on your own paper. There are at least a half-dozen communities I've found in less than two months here that I'd be happy to be a part of even if the entire rest of Steemit disappeared into a wormhole. The problem for me isn't lack of engagement, it's figuring out which of these great options for engagement to spend my time and energy on.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95