Competition, Over-Due and Needed.

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

Sitting back and letting Steem fester along is soon going to become a luxury we don't have.


If you are unaware we've lost some good users to a new site called Scorum, it is a sports commentary site  based on Steem, it might even be a copy I didn't read their white paper.  Only because I am not that interested in sports anymore.  If I were I would have checked it out.

https://scorum.com/en-us

On EOS Trybe is now live and active.  You can find it here:  https://www.trybe.one

My experience was that the site was slow and the articles less personal and friendly.  Back to the old essay style Steem used to have.  However it is going to create some interest and people should and will check out the competition.  They are airdropping tokens to EOS holders based on the snapshot in June.  In addition, there are ways to earn Trybe via various activities.  I didn't try to publish anything there, because I thought it was dumb and intimidating that my article had to be approved.  I am not trashing their business plan, just evaluating if it would be a good fit.

I've built my own loyalty to Steem through my own efforts, and I've made friends here.  I have a following and my posts get great engagement and I do not take any of that for granted and I am happy and grateful for it.  Love is a verb.  I love Steem due to the time and the energy that I have put into it.  I also have watched many of you grow, I know your story, have seen pictures of your family and that creates loyalty to me.  Loyalty that would be hard for me to walk away from.

However if we are chasing new-users and retaining those who don't have 2 years of effort in, or those who do have 2 years of effort in and are unhappy we are going to have to do more and do it better.  That is all there is to it.

We've had 2 years to create invested end-users who will stick through the hard times, price is low, rewards are low and the site and the community feel stale.

Tides are turning and the power is shifting towards the Content Creators.  The game is changing and we should not shun the competition, we shouldn't ask people not to talk about it, we should learn from what they do better.  We should up our game, not avoid discussion of other projects.

If you are mad I am talking about another project, you should have been mad at me all along, I've been carrying on side relationships with many other projects and so have many of you.  ;)

This is your wake up call, competition is coming...  

I told you it would.

https://steemit.com/steem/@whatsup/content-creators-the-tides-are-getting-ready-to-change?sort=votes

@whatsup

Sort:  

I have a Scorum account and it's great actually, in my opinion the developers of Scorum have no ideas of their own, it is a complete photocopy of Steemit.

But it's a tiny niche.

Agreed. It is a "We are not Steem" site. :)

Scorum is not my thing at all.. sports. I enjoy doing sports, not talking about them. :D

haven't looked at trybe but the idea of getting articles approved is interesting. It should keep a higher level but, at what cost? If it is anything like some curation projects here, it is pretty well form and fit, hence the essays. Don't favoritism, culture and censorship questions get raised?

I was writing a steem love story but decided against it because it had been steem content all day..... it tends to have that effect. I love it here too.

Yeah, I'm not that excited about National Level Sports.

I guess I don't really like formal blogs, but yeah I wonder how it is going to scale.

I guess I don't really like formal blogs, but yeah I wonder how it is going to scale.

I hope they hired professional editors because it sounds like they made a newspaper. Is it going to be The NY Times or, a high school production?

Dear @whatsup I love to find in your writing a little bit more about you and to know you, there is something I completely share and it is "loyalty" when we believe in something and we have a commitment to what we do, we create that loyal link between people. Finally those who write in steemit and create projects and new ideas are human beings, with feelings, dreams and many want to grow. That's what I found in steemit, many people trying to create content to be seen and sharing in communities to be heard. This activity, allows us to know the human being behind each publication and that creates new friendships, for example I know about you, that you like to cook listening to music and that you have fun moving the energy in positive, besides that you are loyal to your friends and that you believe in this platform, which you defend, that makes you for me, a close friend, although I do not know you and I do not know how you are physically, but your joy if it has been with us, which gives a human face to Steemit.
I would say that steemit, apart from being a Blockchane block creator, has also made it possible for her to have a human face before all the members, creating new bonds of friendship among many people in the world.
I'm still here, working little by little and trying to continue learning a little more about her. I like to read you, as a follower.
Good vibes.

Trybe is slower than a horse stuck in molasses.

I've heard good things about Scorum, but it isn't the sort of thing I tend to write about.

Those are only the first two though we've still got plenty more to come. Can they compete with Steemit? I don't think so. Not yet.

"Trybe is slower than a horse stuck in molasses."

Ha ha ha, Jeezzle, good one! :)

Agreed, it might be great, but not my cup of tea.

Q's:

What is the competition - those ones don't look any good - I'm sure there will be others, but the ones I've seen so far were pretty lackluster

What is xaero1 - a new bot?

I'm not scared of a Hyundai Accent Mk1 website

but I live in terror of a new Toyota Prius website (every second car in Wellington is one of these)

Haha! The competition is weak, but it is coming.

How do you know? - first it was Medium, then Minds - but they both suck...

And scrotum is a boring looking American sports site...

What is next?

I really can't get over the name. Why did they call it something so similar to scrotum? I still can't figure out why.

Why not? :)

Good points. I've got no rebuttal.

I have never heard about Scorum or Trybe so this is more of a lesson. I am into sports but never really got the interest of blogging about sports. I feel like it's too limiting in terms of niche but I can't talk much on something I have never tried, right. Steemit for me is the online village of them all. Here we have communities with a larger community. A chance for anyone in the world to change a life on the other side of the globe.

To Steemit 🍻

Posted using Partiko Android

Today was the first time I have heard of scorum. Their coin does seem more stable than Steem. https://coinmarketcap.com/currencies/scorum-coins/

I didn't notice any slowness with Trybe today. I do like the Steemit setup better but for the people obsessed with the Trending page I think Trybe is better. I don't know if Trybe has a feed like Steemit has. My mini Trybe article did get approved but I don't think I have gotten any upvotes or money off of it.

meh. Sports are a distraction at best.... Nothing to get worked up about, just a few jocks drinking beer ...

I hadn't heard of Scorum, so consider me educated. I'm into other things more than sports, and only have one life, so I won't be using it. . .

. . . unless it's like Amazon, which started with books, and everybody giggled, "Ah, it's only books, sure Barnes and Noble will struggle, but that's about it" and then one day, nobody was giggling any more cos Amazon owned every product, and every person, and every country in the whole world! :0

Who approves the articles on Trybe? Sounds overly exclusive to me. I may check that it, if I can find the time, just to find out what's going on.

"This is your wake up call, competition is coming"

This is a very good thing. Change is already in the air, good change, with Partiko and Steem-UA and different front ends, and this new competition will get developers minds spinning even faster. Let's have great things happen while we're all still alive to see them. :)

I just noticed Scorum coins on CMC. They are something like $0.30 a coin already, which is pretty damn good considering that the site just came out. I'm not a big sports fan either....but I did watch the Oklahoma versus UCLA game today while I was working....so maybe I do have a place on that site after all? Worth checking it out I think.

That’s every interesting I checked out trybe now and heard EOS was going to have a blogging platform but didn’t think it would be so soon! I think Steem has gone through enough of the first teething problems and those who have stuck around have invested way to much to just jump! Its going to be an interesting battle of the platforms and we’ll see who wins! I do think the SMT could be a double edged sword that makes or breaks the steem blockchain

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yeah, they have a lot of projects coming out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62777.23
ETH 3059.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81