Steem Sustainability

in #steem7 years ago

This is getting ridiculous.  I suspect that the Steem inflation rate is unsustainable given the real productivity of the community.  There's nothing wrong with making low quality and low effort posts on social media.  We're here as a community and it should be expected that much of what we discuss will be the stuff of everyday life; not everything needs to be profound.  But if we reward such content as we are today, we're likely to attract even more spam and undermine the value of the network.

Sort:  

I think part of the issue is also that the rewards pool is getting drained at a quicker rate. I don't have any numbers to quantify this, but the amplified voting change is causing the rewards pool to drain faster from what I understand. I think this implies that we should see a correction in the amount being rewarded if the same rate is sustained.

Isn't the rewards payout rate fixed to the inflation rate? I thought voting just proportionately reallocated those rewards rather than altering the rate of distribution.

From what I understand, there's a fixed pool that all of the rewards come out of (this is why pending payouts are always changing up and down over time), and the inflation fills that pool. This is also why HF 18 (I think? or was it 17?) which changed the nature of the rewards pool caused the rewards to drop so significantly for like a month while the pool was refilling.

Maybe I should go parse the code and try to figure out what's going on for realz... @biophil, @sneak, @vandeberg... I summon thee to help us find an answer!!!!

That's my crude understanding as well, though I've never actually read those bits in the code.

Is bad content being rewarded that often? Could you give examples? Most of the stuff I see in Hot and Trending are articles with at least a decent amount of effort put into them.

The issue isn't with bad content. Bad content can be dealt with effectively by flagging. The issue is with mediocre content being overly rewarded, thus promoting the creation of more mediocre content than would be created organically on a network without additional incentives. Hopefully it's just me. I was here early and started adding people to my follow list early, so it could be that my circle is not representative of the whole network. If that's the case and I just happen to be seeing a disproportionate number of whales/dolphins scratching each others' backs then it should level out over time.

Here's an example of bad content being rewarded: https://steemit.com/norway/@tahirafd17/a-music-concert-at-a-beautiful-lake-norway

They stole someone else's work, made it look like their own and are doing it every couple of hours. All of this account's posts are other people's photos they jack and don't give attribution or add any value in their post. That's one example of many in the photography community that I'm trying to clean out.

That's the kind of stuff I just ignore. Brainless linking without even writing an opinion about the picture/video should be ignored, unless it's someone's original work.

Yeah, I've tried ignoring it, but there's so much of it now it's hiding the original work that should get noticed. Biggest thing is I don't want to see them get rewarded for it because then it sends the wrong message that it's not only ok, but it's rewarded behavior.

Exactly. This is still a young network, and what we reward now will shape who will join it. If we reward spam, we'll be flooded with it and people looking for quality interaction will eventually look elsewhere.

I guess it's something we have to learn to live with then. But. if you're sure there's plagiarism, you can always downvote (flag) it. I read an excellent post yesterday treating precicely that topic https://steemit.com/steemit/@fortified/plagiarism-some-tips-and-tricks-to-help-stop-it-from-happening

I upvoted/resteemed/followed the author because I liked his content.

And I have. I'm also reporting them to the steem cleaners with proof of where they took the photos from. I love searching for things like this, so it's kinda fun too. :)

Going to take it upon myself to clean up the photography community so that those that deserve the attention can get it without having to fight the photo thieves.

Good job. You just got yourself the 200th follower 😀

Do you think that is the solution or is there anything that we can do as a community to prevent those posts in first place?
I raised the same question in my last article, posted half an hour ago. Because I am just realising how much spam

Excellent. We need more people like you. Your comment enticed me to follow you. Thankd

I agree there's too much spam going on, but that doesn't worry me. First, I routinely take a look at my followers list and check for new ones. I look at their blog and see if they're posting any original content, not just linking youtube or urls to other articles. And I choose the promising ones. I also look at new posts, trending, hot ones and again. select who I can follow. Plus, the feeds/resteems I get help me discover new authors who share my interests, and slowly I'm building on that. I think it's the way to filter spammers from good authors. In time, the spammers will get fed up because nobody will support them.

I like your perspective. I've been wondering about this from seeing a post earlier today and your thoughts resonate with me. Fellow musician here, looking forward to following ya.

People like you will make this medium better for all of us. Thanks

I can relate. After two weeks I am starting to do my own content because I feel the same way.

I spend most of my time replying and commenting.

Domi

Absolutely agreed, @troglodactyl. This is becoming a community where value is placed on any and all content from specific individuals (the whales), where they could post just about anything including how many new followers they got yesterday (and get paid thousands to do it), - as opposed to the value of the content in general (who, may or may not, be from your average Steemian and receive little to no views / earnings). The solution to this?

Well, that one needs some deep thought.

Thanks for the write-up. Resteemed and upvoted.

Best Regards,
@abn

Reducing " class differences " is the solution .

What difference does it make what people write here? We are not writing for a newspaper or for book that will get published. In that sense there is no such thing as productivity here. The product that Steemit offers, is that people like to be here. Its matterless if they come for philosophy or for funny videos - as long as they come.
Since the funding of Steemit is entirely based on the creation of Steem, it can work. Assumed that there is not too much Steem handed out too quickly, of course.

Well I hardly ever upvote a video, or just a picture, but plagiarized articles are more difficult, you have cheetah bot but he isn't too smart.

I agree.
My opinion: minimum quantity of words per article 150-250; no picture only or video only posts, certain amount of blog posts per day, picture and video only posts should be going under flag. What you think? Would it be too much to ask?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63747.88
ETH 3130.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89