Lesson learned: money doesn't grow on a tree even in Steemit! (what to do with spammy posts?)

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

First 2 days went really quietly. I posted my first post in a way that would be the most recognizable and shared the link in the steemit.chat.
I got one of the warmest welcomes, I have ever got from any community.
At that point I realised(but didn't take really seriously), that if I want this community to really know who I am and my purpose of being here, I have to respond to the comments and also comment on my new followers blogs. Well I did the first of two, but I didn't commented on many posts, just some. I thought it's not cool enough
What you think that happened? NOTHING exactly nothing happened. Within 3-5 days from posting my first article I received 50 followers. Well you might think that it's a lot, but I promise you, you can do a lot better than that.

So when the realisation came that I have to put more effort in order to see actual impact in this community and see this transformed into "original quality content creating moneymachine".

SOOoooo I started to follow, I started to follow people who I thought would be the best content writers(I did that for some time). What I didn't realise, was that I am never able to assume straight away who will develope there ability to write and who won't. So after reconsidering my "how to gain followers" strategy, I started to follow everyone I encountered.

FOOL, you might say. Maybe, maybe...................... , maybe I am just a fool who is following too much, too many people.
And don't get me wrong even just following is hard work (I have gained ~400 followers, but followed ~4000), especially if you think how later on I will short out my feed list. Maybe I am not doing any favour for myself or maybe I am, who knows. Only thing is that I know that my blog needs to reach wider audience, because I have loads to share from personal experience.

My idea for time being is to do so called blind following for some time.. from week to up to a month and write some really good quality content on my blog. Once I have established the good connections and found people I really like. I will start to unfollow those who are just spamming our community, "why?" you might ask. And why on earth you want to do it that way?
WELL, first I think it is just rude to pay someone who isn't exactly working! I think that one picture per post isn't enough or one joke doesn't exactly serve the purpose of this community. Second, me.. just ignoring those people doesn't make any difference. Thirdly I think that there should be actions on frequent spammers.
Recently I read a short, but worrying post about Steemit sustainability in long term from @troglodactyl and I really understand where the guy is coming from.

I personally think that only way to stop short, really spammy accounts, we should flag them. Because everyone else who are sharing from the bottom of their hearts will actually lose money to posts that doesn't change the World, but are rather just snarky remarks in the middle of our wonderful Steemit

If you agree that spam posts should be flagged, please Comment , also you can Resteem and Upvote if you think there is someone who has had the same question! Let's talk about it and see what Steemi community really thinks, because maybe it is just me?


Cogitare extra arca archa!
Always up for quality content!

D.H. Woodland

Sort:  

My intention is to provide useful, if not at least interesting, posts that will bring value to my readers. Thank you for being of the same mind!

I totally understand.. What you think of spammers and what is spamming for you @belindahhq?

Spamming is posting the same information ad nauseum, or making posts under topics which they do not truly belong (e.g. network marketing - and I love the business concept, and am part of a company myself - under politics). :)

Just starting myself, but I agree already, spamers should be flagged and I'm sure at some point it will happen. Bigger will community grow so will spam

Hola, I think you'd be interested in my content. @organiccacao. I will be sure to check yours out too. In Joy, Christina

agree with you...money doesn't grow on a tree..need breathless & sleepless hard work & luck in every field..great post:))

Good points @dhwoodland, however my most recent post is a photo and my caption. :) I have much to learn, but I appreciate this forum for social media and I'm also sharing what I enjoy. I hope my content will be appreciated.

Thank you @jdhenry! Checked out your content and upvoted last post!

Wholly agree with you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62567.99
ETH 3431.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47