Steem: Looks don't matter unless you are ugly

in #steem5 years ago (edited)

Much like money doesn't matter unless you are poor. At least with being ugly one can build a stellar personality, become highly skilled, earn well and be attractive in other ways. If you are poor and need money, there isn't much one can do other than - act like you are ugly and develop into the kind of person that is hirable.

I know, I know - it is always someone else's fault we are poor because if it was our own choice, we'd choose to be rich.

Asher wrote a post about him crossing over 2000 SP in earned curation and how once he thought that curation returns were insignificant. I used to think the same but like him, watching it overtime has changed my thinking quite a lot.

I am one of those idiots Asher spoke of who manually votes and doesn't maximize curation returns but, I still manage 50-60 SP a week from voting on content. In the comments Ash asked @meesterboom when he can live off curation and that is an interesting question to explore I think.

I live in a pretty expensive country so for me to live off curation getting 50 SP a week, I would need to be able to sell about 4000 dollars worth a month meaning, I'd need 20 dollar Steem price. Unlikely to get there soon? Yeah, I better keep working.

But like Asher said, watching CR grow overtime (if powering up) gives a very good insight into how things work in general and of course, how instant gratification is going to limit future possibility. The two+ years I have been working on Steem, I have definitely not been living the high life because, I am aiming toward future possibility. While not everyone can do similar or at the same level for a range of factors, all can do something.

Perhaps the reason is that I am ugly. Well, not hideously ugly, but ugly enough that in order to have the relationships I have had, I needed more than my looks. I am also raised poor with a scarcity mindset so the skills I needed to develop in order to survive well enough took a fair bit of work.

Luckily, I have a very big sense of humour.

Humans aren't very good at visualizing or 'feeling' processes like compound interest.

For example, do you know, the rule of 72? If you quickly want to estimate how long it will take to double a number with interest added, just divide 72 by the interest rate. Try it:

http://www.moneychimp.com/features/rule72.htm

Easy right?

But, I am a skills coach of sorts and skills tend to compound too but, they don't necessarily have numbers attached.

Are you a straight man? Are you single and looking? Can you dance?

Why not? If you want to meet women, it is probably advisable to be places where women might be. Oh... Tinder. How's that working out for everyone? Happy? What about when you are 50?

Work skills are of course the similar. Walking into a job with skills is far more advantageous than walking in needing to be taught how to tie shoelaces. The thing is though that pretty much all skills can compound against other skills to create a unique profile to make one attractive to an employer. Oh, you don't want to be an employee?

Good.

So, what skills do you have that you can utilize to be able to earn enough to cover life's costs to the level you choose? Hmm. Perhaps you should start as an employee and grow some more skills along the way.

The world is changing rapidly and while everyone wants what I call, Workless wealth, most people do not have a unique enough skill or personality profile to have it. To earn well, one generally has to be able to stand out of the crowd in some way, not blend in. Unless one already has resources available to attract more resources.

When I came to Steem I had no such resources but, I did have some skills with one being my ability to work like a whipped horse and another, my ability to delay gratification and remain uncomfortable rather than expanding lifestyle decisions. Without those two things, the chances of me ever living off Steem would be approaching zero.

But, most people here will never live off Steem but, that doesn't mean it can't provide a very decent revenue stream for many people if they are willing to do it a bit rough for a while, earn, power up and let it compound. One year or five, it doesn't matter, just work and patiently grow.

A thousand Steem today is worth about 450 dollars and will generate around 3 Steem in curation a week. Not much right? Well, that compounds and over time and with posting, that 1000 Steem becomes 1500 and generates 5 Steem.

That means that when I am able to live off curation at 20 dollar Steem, that 1500 Steem account is earning 100 dollars a week in curation. Not bad for 450 dollar initial investment and that doesn't factor in other benefits or price rises. 5000 potential dollars a year is pretty good for not having to do much, and while not famously wealthy, it is nothing to scoff at. Oh, and that 1500 will be worth 30,000 dollars and just be sitting there, earning quietly forever.

Now, I don't know how all this will pan out and I don't know when Steem will be worth 20, 50 or 100 dollars but, I definitely think that there is value in developing oneself into a position to find out.

I might not be able to be anything other than ugly, yet it doesn't mean I have to settle for being unskilled and lacking opportunity as well.

This is the age of the internet where almost anything can be learned for free and, we are entering into the age of the Blockchain and digital assets where those skills are going to be able to be earned upon without needing a centralised employer. To take advantage of it though, the skills and knowledge need to be held, just like assets must be in order to have advantage from them.

There is some kind of push to make 10,000 minnows but, for those who are doing the making, consider that rather than making bigger fish, help them learn to grow themselves and understand that the opportunity for them and the community as a whole is amazingly bright - even if highly uncertain.

The Steem community has a lot of ugly in it.

It also holds a massive range of beauty and some very highly skilled people. Use the skills to earn, learn ways to make sure that what you earn becomes an asset class that can both be held and provide and, understand that the responsibility is your own.

So much opportunity and I hope you don't waste yours - but if you do, that is your choice.

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]
(posted from phone)

Sort:  

It takes a bit of imagination; but not that much, really.
Steemmonsters is on the cusp of rolling out card delegation; which is going to be massive for passive income.
You'll be able to invest in a card and lease it out for Steem.
Players who can't afford to commit to a purchase can pay you for the chance to win tournaments and do daily quests with your card; making you a completely passive landlord over that property.
Roll those earnings into more cards and watch how quickly that gets real.
This whole place is in sandbox mode; it's intoxicating :)

Roll those earnings into more cards and watch how quickly that gets real.
This whole place is in sandbox mode; it's intoxicating :)

I heard about this today and since I don't have any cards, I am disappointed :D No, it is really good and if we start pushing the similar ideas out to other areas including RCs when there are many users, it is going to be very interesting indeed.

As I have been trying to push for a little while now, Steem is not a currency, it is an Asset Class.

Really inspiring read. Maybe it’s time I actually start looking at maximizing curation rewards. Haha I just kind of vote stuff I like when I see it. 🤷‍♀️ I kind of figure the rewards are pretty insignificant, but you are right. It could be a pretty cool passive and compounding income source as Steem rises in value.

I am not much of a maximizer myself but learning how it works has helped me understand more about the platform in general and that has helped me enjoy it more in other ways too. Originally, I had no idea about the processes of Steem and really only started looking into it after almost a year on platform.

Over the next few years there will be a fair amount of opportunity to earn steem but it will taper off as more people come on and of course, as the pool shrinks over time due to the decreasing inflation rate.

Where can I learn about Curation from A to Z?
I looked on YouTube, but couldn’t find any complete guide...

Search on Steem, Youtube is for shills that generally don't know what they are talking about. It is worth digging around for a bit.

Thanks for taking the time to answer me.
Does the Curation have the potential to bring me more earnings than just upvoting my own posts and comments 10 times a day?

No however, if you want support from other people you are unlikely to get it by upvoting your own posts and comments 10x a day. At least, I am not going to vote on someone who does that. What that means is you can't earn much more than what your own stake allows but that might be fine depending on how much stake you have. If everyone did the same, it wouldn't be a very bright community would it?

Indeed; I guess I'm not a very bright individual just yet...

Tagging me in a post and then cussing Tinder - I don't know what to think at this moment!

10$ STEEM would do me at current curation rewards, but I'm not going to settle for that while the going is still good, a bit like Tinder, until I'm 50.

I am just Jelly because my dating life was pre-Tinder and I had to learn to dance.

Don't settle... Be the kind of person someone will swipe right(?) and settle on.

Well it's good to hear you picked up some moves, like these perhaps?

8512973.gif

Settle? Probably not. If i'd have settled life would have been financially easier on multiple occasions :P Bullshit smells worse than money though.

I wish I had Beyoncé type moves but unfortunately i mostly learned in Finland:

At 2 mins... Looks like a recent dance craze has stolen this original move!

I know of at least two Fins who have got some moves @eveuncovered @celestal :D

Don't give me any pressure for SF4 👀

We need to start practising early for SF4!

So, we just dance alone in our rooms?

I'll just find some of the herbal remedy and you will feel no pressure :D

Haha, I will remember this :D

I am just Jelly because my dating life was pre-Tinder and I had to learn to dance.

Nah, Tinder is shiet, dance moves are a much better choice ;)

I didn't know that 72 thing, fancy that.. I learned something today!

I am an enabler of creating more value from the elderly. Now, teach your friends.

I would but I can't remember who they are!?!

I have been on Steemit for a little over a year now it is only recently that I really started to look at my curation rewards and how absolutely abysmal they are. I have been making some changes to the way I vote in an effort to get them up higher. I think so far I have maybe doubled them or tripled them. I still have a long way to go. Much better than the 1 SP per week I was earning.

Are you part of Asher's league? Worth looking into.

@abh12345

Pretty sure bozz is signed up in all the right places :)

I think so yes. I believe I have gotten rewards in the past from there. I thought they were just for engagement but it might have been for curation. Thanks for the heads up.

Cheers from one ugly Steemian to another!

Nothing wrong with ugly.

I have used it to my advantage many times.

I’m yet another of the CR ignorers. I realize in reading your post that there’s a reason behind it. I don’t care about maximizing steem income in general, though I do mentally keep score of whether my post rewards are going up. For me curation is where I support others. I choose who to reward as a very serious duty and awesome opportunity of this platform. Nice I can earn from doing it, but I’d still do it if I couldn’t earn from it.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I think when one holds enough Steem, it doesn't really matter that much for CR. There is no point to spend the time maximizing and there is more point to spend the time enjoying. the Steem on post rewards are a decent indicator.

This post is tripping me out.

Is this about calling out the superficiality of modern society or is it an analysis of some form of niche crypto investment scheme?

Also, I pretty much think the 20 dollar Steem dream is dead. Screenshot this or whatever, tell me how to punish myself when im proven wrong. Since, of course i kinda wanna be so dead wrong.

See you in a couple years at the latest :D

20 dollar Steem requires a Market cap of about 6B, that is not much when only 25 percent of the supply needs to pump for it.

The Steem community has a lot of ugly in it.

Apariencias.jpg

Just catching up and I saw Ashers post earlier and mine is similar to yours in the way of curation for passive income. I honestly believe that the ones that know how to grow and power up will have many choices to earn in various ways and this is just one of them. I also agree with you on the 10 000 minnows that they need to understand how to learn to grow as well.

I also agree with you on the 10 000 minnows that they need to understand how to learn to grow as well.

Making minnows out of people who are going to powerdown at the next pump is going to be quite ridiculous. Sure, it is their right to do so with what is in their wallet but it would be a massive waste.

Couldn't agree more and it is important to find the right ones. A few gems have appeared but finding the numbers and delving deeper you see what we already know.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56834.19
ETH 2500.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.27