HARD STEEMIT TIMES: TEST FOR DEVOTION

in #steem6 years ago

Dear, friends we all know and see that Steemit has not the best times now: the activity of users has fallen much, many of them have lost motivation to go on with their blogging because they don't get as much profit as it was before, some months ago, when the price of Steem was higher.

I've seen a great post of my friend @nainaztengra recently, and it was very thought-provoking for me.

So here are my own thoughts about it. Please share your opinion as well!

So many people just leave the platform now. Moreover they withdraw all their funds from accounts, being afraid that the price of Steem will go down to the very bottom (the history of Steemit had periods when the price was much lower than now!).

From the one hand, it's evident: people don't get much profit, theu lose interest and motivation and leave.

But from the other hand, what doest it look like?

When Steemit flourishes, develops and grows, it's full of users who praise, admire and get profit here.

We all get here what we seek for: communication, friends, new knowledhes, experience, profit, so let's appreciate it.

But when hard times come, all these admirers disappear...

I amn't going to judge anybody, I've no right for it, and I don't liek to do it.
It's a choice and a decision of these people, it's up to them, but what do we have in the issue?

People leave and withdraw funds, thus they devalues and destabilizes the price of the token even more!!

So the platform not only loses users and support, but it loses stability more and more.

The price of Steem depends on BTC much for sure, but it depends on demand as well. If it is low, the price will fall to the bottom.

You dig yourself into the pit.

If you really liked Steemit and got profit here, so maybe it's better not to hurt the place that was good for you and brought you money, but to stay and be a faithful friend of it?

A friend who can be nearby not only when everything is fine, but when sh*t happens as well, and it happens in life from time to time, we all know it.

The situation looks like all people are happy to milk a cow and drink her milk, but not all of them want to feed her before it. But there will be no milk without good food and care.

Personally I'm in love with this platform, and I'm thankful to it and to all steemit friends for my interesting time here and profit I've got here for needs of my family!

I'm sad about the price of Steem now as well, but I amn't going to leave Steemit.

I'm here for 9 months already, posting constantly every day during all this time, no matter what the price of the token was.

I believe now it's just a hard period. There is always a rainbow after the rain, even a double one! (just the picture from my background shows;)

Let's be positive and thankful!

Steem and Steemit will be in the top if we believe in it and will support it!

Sort:  

Хех... я тут 2 года, почти с самого запуска. И всякого повидал.

Это совершенно нормально что люди приходят на хайпе и сливаются когда рынок медвежий. Но это всё пена. Надо смотреть не на цену токена а на перспективу проекта. Вот факты:

  1. Технология Graphene это единственное на данный момент что может держать крупный медиаблокчейн в рабочем состоянии. Остальные просто не тянут столько транзакций. Топовый графен-медиаблокчейн это Стим. Ближайший конкурент Голос на порядок меньше. А в области других технологий конкурентов тупо нет
  2. Стим активно разивается. Тут полно движухи, появляются новые приложения, прокачивается базовый протокол. Сейчас цена токена ниже, а вот пользы от него стало больше и эта польза только растёт.

Так что и цена подтянется со временем, никуда не денется. Но сейчас наша "дойная корова" ещё едва родилась и даже на ноги толком не поднялась. Всё интересное впереди. А продавать стим и сваливать надо было когда он стоил 8$. Продавать надо дороже, а покупаить дешевле. Сейчас есть смысл только его покупать. Все кто делают наоборот, просто прогорят.

Зато нам, покупателям и держателям стима, от этого одна только выгода. Так что без паники )

спасибо за мнение!
я без паники, я как в том фильме "за державу обидно":)

Well said. I really value those folks who continue to post every day, andnwho care about the community and the idea as well as “milking the cow.”

The situation is a bit depressing right now, to be sure. That said, I think it is good that some of the phony fairweather accounts leave!

yeah, some kind of cleaning;)

well those who give up easy and leave when there is not much money most likely where not good for the community in the first place. You should be here because you enjoy it, you enjoy giving and creating and doing. Not because you can make a few bucks and run away.

totally agree with you! that's the point I tried to say
when we focus just on money, it's wrong and destructive, we need to enjoy what we do and try to do it better, then money will come as a logical result
money isn't a goal, it's just a way to reach our main goal

Thank you for your post @taliakerch. Devotion. Great word. I like it.
Commitment. Belief.

We all ultimately have to have faith in what we saw in Steem to begin with and I do not think that has changed. I wrote my own post of encouragement Sunday to do my small part to "keep on keeping on" ...

Keep posting! 😊 👍

Steemin’ along and on the move ... Posted using Partiko Android

Your points are very valid, @taliakerch, but we really must remember that steem is technically still in beta.

It may be a bit too soon to write it off just yet. 😎

My feeling is that a number of critical issues still needs to be addressed before we should consider things in full production.

One of the less regarded ones is the scalability issue which is being kept at bay by throwing RAM at it. Development is underway to deal with the issue... yet nothing concrete at this point.

Then there is the matter of counterfeit steem which was addressed in an old blog post of mine whose link is provided for your reading pleasure.

https://steemit.com/steem-network/@novacadian/where-is-the-trust-in-proof-of-brain-mining

Another blog post of mine suggests a means to help deal with counterfeit steem. Its link is provided below for your reading pleasure.

https://steemit.com/steem/@novacadian/a-decentralized-capcha-annonymous-proof-of-brain-verification

Hopefully if those two critical issues can be dealt with then the rest is political as new users begin to erode the inbalance of stake which we now find on the platform.

Call me an eternal optimist, but to me the future looks good for steem and DPOS.

I like the captcha idea, too. Someone else even mentioned captcha tokens to keep it human. I think that is where we can get the eyeballs working again.

Yeah, @smitop offered some great, and practicle, feedback. Thanks for your input as well, @digitalfirehose!

Your argument makes a lot of sense in an attention economy. Nice write up. Oh, I need to read the other one, too.

I just assume that not everyone has become to love the community more than the money. I’ve got a strong feeling you are one of the fortunate ones that realized quite quickly that SteemIt is not about the money - just like me.
I’ve made friends here, which I never thought would be possible. After all, we’re all completely strangers to each other, living on all sides of the globe, thousands of miles apart.
In spite of the low Steem price, I still feel we’ve got something good going on here.
It’s been a long time since I could experience the attitude of helping each other and paying it forward in the ‘real world’
we shouldn’t fool ourselves: every single Steemian signed up for the platform because of the promise that good money could be made.
I am lucky enough to meet new people every day who show a real passion for the website and the community, just like I do.
If the people who were only here for the big bucks decide to leave, I son’t feel bad. After all, this means that the people who stay actually care. And maybe this could be the turning point. Up until now, greed has been king of Steemit. Maybe this is our chance to make community queen.

I know I’ve just invested a lot of new money today. Because I believe, I believe that things will turn out for the better if only the people who are passionate stay behind. This might be our chance to fix some things that went went wrong somewhere along the way - when all pzople cared about was the money.
Maybe it can happen, maybe I just still believe in fairy tales, but I’m sure gonna stick around to see whether I’m right or I’m wrong :0)

nice time to buy Steem;)

I/m glad you've found your place here
I never expected to find here so great and open people as well!
I never believed they can be so nice and friendly to a foreigner..

Steemit is a fairytale;)

It was indeed a nice time to but more Steem, considering I bought some at $0.80, at $2, but also at $4, lol.

Maybe I’ll feel sorry again when the price drops to $0.50 again, but I’m pretty confident it will go up again at one point in the future :0)

Be patient and everything will be back to normal :D

Thank you for using eSteem

i love it here, i don't care about the price that much tbh

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

It's also important not to take the lack of response personally. I already love to write, so I just keep posting. And if fewer other people are posting, then any upvotes I happen to receive will yield a slightly larger dividend.

Then later, like when someone figures out that transaction demand is the only thing that will break the synchronicity between Steem and Bitcoin, the price of Steem will rise naturally. And that point, I can be happy that I was powering up all this time.

Also, don't quit your day job just yet, unless you're a whale. I think that is where the real drop in demand went. People who thought they were going to make a living here are seeing that the market is fickle as hell.

Keep your day job so that you're not so dependent and worried about Steemit. And then keep posting.

I don't have any other job except of Steemit;)

and yes, I've left my past way of earning money to devote my time to Steemit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60111.17
ETH 2322.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53