A Thought About People Correlating Someone's Steem Power With How Much Respect They Deserve

in #steem5 years ago (edited)


Respective to institutional investors showing their horns in Bitcoin now and in the coming years, I feel that many "reputable" people still ignorantly assume that Steemians' value and commitment to the community are a function of their current stake.

Current stake is just a snapshot and can change overnight.

There's no need to dance around it. The actions and the lack thereof I've observed of many for long enough handily indicate this, and it pisses me off.

People are all equal. If Steem vanished, a whale will be just another human again, as they actually still are in reality.

Those who contribute with continued adoption, relentless commitment, respect, quality content, engagement, generosity, gratitude, development, and actions that generally improve this ecosystem are the real backbone of Steem right now.

Sure, people have risked money on Steem, but that doesn't mean it's a badge of honor to be in some upper class that neglects to interact or engage those outside their self-proclaimed echelon. That's ridiculous.

I've met many of these people in person and we are all the same. However, on Steem apps or Discord, they don't act like it... covered in their Steem plot armor.

Old money on Steem isn't much different than old money in the real world. Because we're all leaders in a new wave of financial and social freedom, it'd behoove those who've lost sight of this to press the reset button.

Maybe the only bubble that needs to pop is some of our perspectives.

Everyone should be treated with respect.

Everyone who puts the effort in should be recognized and given an ear, especially when Steem has bottomed out and is largely overlooked in the crypto space.

If stakeholders want more stakeholders, they should treat everyone as a potential whale.

Many may be simply waiting on the sidelines for the right time, just like institutions wisely seeking confirmation before making their move, a few clicks away from being high up on the social ladder that shouldn't exist in the first place.

Would they then have people grabbing at their coattails and popping up for political gain? Naturally... but they'd see through it because they've been observing and learning all along.

Don't judge a book by its cover.

Reward people who hustle and treat others kindly. If not, engage and respond to them as an equal.

Anyone and everyone has the potential to be just as important as the highest SP holders, or could know someone that may be in the future.

@steemmatt

Reading Test: A moving personal post I wrote earlier today I'm shamelessly hoping more people will see.

Sort:  

Gotta see through the judgment shield!
the REAL CORE! <3

I almost made you the jon snow of steem on my last piece of satire...You have some Davos Seaworth tendencies as well. To abstain from kiss assery and on the other end of the spectrum slander I chose to not cast men into GOT characters.. But, you're clearly not a villain is my point..

I have postured a few times and also hit upon this notion that any old plankton or whatever could be a click away from total dominance.. A million blown on steem is chump change to some whales in the waiting line..

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow what ahai compliment. Thanks for sharing that. I missed the post but will check it out after I get back from my curb hunt.

Your second point is spot on. Many stakeholders here now would be plankton elsewhere in crypto, so I hope a reality check reset happens if and when Steem gets more mainstream attention. The real whales aren't even here yet.

For everyone's sake, I hope our window of opportunity for that hasn't passed if competition is on our heels to be the real kicker. A whale in a shallow pool won't be much of a whale in the real crypto ecosystem, and I wish egos would allow for that to sink in. Some amazing leaders get this bigger picture and I'm glad they're here. The ones that don't to simply profiteer/bottom-feed get need to wise up and help this play prosper big, not themselves at a relatively small rate.

Good message man, I totally agree. When someone can be a high stage holder and still have empathy, they gain much more respect.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks. I quit working at a mega bank because I skeeved the politics and hierarchy there. My entire body and soul rejected it. Crypto seemed to be a great outlet as an alternative, but I sense so much of the same human nature on Steem at times when it comes to vests and SP. The least I can do is shout it out for others to know they're not alone in having to roll with it until times change. If the landscape was more level here, I'd invest to put my money where my mouth is to help others, but I've been waiting on the sidelines to be more confident in that big financial decision.

It is a little bit tricky... for a while I was running the @thefreshfive account, which would welcome newbies... the vast majority of whom would post once or twice, and never be heard from again. It is almost impossible to put time and energy into each person you come across, and so people have to arbitrarily decide who to value... and I guess some people choose others that may literally reward them for doing so.

I totally hear what you're saying, obviously everyone should be respected and listened to... but I can also see the other side... if you have a thousand opinions flying at you, how do you choose which ones to listen to? If any...

I wish there was a measure for author rewards (not from known bid bots) combined with amount powered down.

That would be a good way to see people's worth.

Measure what stake they've earned through posts, and then deduct points for powering down. Deduct points again if they used bid bots to get that native SP.

That's a true measure of people's commitment to the platform, in my mind.

Agreed! I actually think Steemit is like the real world amplified in many respects

Power to the people who simply get it... and make comics about their last days at the office before crypto lets them retire to travel the world.

Three cheers for crypto! Maybe! :0D

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Congratulations @steemmatt! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 7500 comments. Your next target is to reach 8000 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

New japanese speaking community Steem Meetup badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65128.28
ETH 2950.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64