HF20 Update: Hardfork Complete

in #steem5 years ago (edited)

HF20 RC Patch.jpg

Congratulations Steemians, today we made history by completing Steem’s 20th hardfork, codenamed “Velocity.” The Steem ecosystem is now being governed by the distribution of Resource Credits which will ensure a more sustainable and scalable future for Steem.

Equilibration in Progress

We are aware that users are experiencing issues posting to Steem and are monitoring the situation, but as of now the equilibration process is going largely as expected. And yes, equilibration is a word :). RCs are regenerating so if you cannot post now, you will be able to post once your RCs regenerate.

Patch for Negative RCs

One issue that has arisen is that users who were highly active before the hardfork are presenting negative Resource Credit balances. This is effectively RC “debt” that they accumulated prior to the hardfork. While the RC system is functioning properly in this context, it is causing a negative user experience especially for small SP holders which we are remedying with a patch that should go live within 12 hours.

This patch is effectively a RC “debt forgiveness” program that will set all negative RC balances to zero as of the time of the hardfork. This will dramatically improve the user experience for small SP holders by enabling their RCs to regenerate to a level that enables them to transact much sooner. Due to the nature of the change we expect it to go into effect within 12 hours. We understand that people are eager to resume using their favorite Steem DApps, and we are doing everything we can to get this patch merged as soon as possible.

Account Creations and State Bytes

We are already gaining valuable information about what operations consume a disproportionate amount of network resources. Account creations, for example, are extremely expensive in terms of state bytes, which means that creating accounts will deplete RCs rapidly. The RC system uses three measurements to determine how much an operation should cost in terms of RCs: blockchain size, compute time, and state size. These three measurements were chosen because they can be computed at low cost to the blockchain and they are tightly correlated with real resource consumption. If an operation is especially expensive in any one of these measurements, then performing that operation will be costly in terms of RCs.

It is important to bear in mind that these are objective measurements of resource consumption at the blockchain level, so when something is expensive in RCs, all that means is that performing the action places a high burden on the network relative to other operations. In other words, this is important information that we want to have as it helps us gain a deeper understanding of how resources are consumed by the blockchain. If you would like to learn more about how the system works, check out our previous post on Resource Credits.

As we stated in yesterday’s post, due to the fact that the RC system is a dramatic change relative to the old and inaccurate bandwidth system, there would be certain unforeseeable consequences including potentially negative user experiences while the system reaches equilibrium. We appreciate your patience as the system continues to adapt and as the patch goes into effect that is designed to improve the user experience of small SP holders.

Steemit Team

Update

An unrelated issue with voting power was uncovered that resulted in many accounts having lower voting power than expected. This issue affects everyone who has posted in the last 5 days equally. Most accounts that have been active will return to their expected voting power equilibrium within one day, while the remainder will take no longer than 5 days. To learn more, read this update.

Sort:  

Sorry guys, this HF was no success, this is a desaster.

Nearly everybody below ORCA-Level is not able to do anything.

I voted twice after the HF20 and my voting power dropped from around 50% to 1.5%. Please check if there is not another bug in the current software version.

Du bekommst meinen ersten Vote, seit ich auf 100% Voting Mana aufgeladen habe. Ehre, wem Ehre gebührt :-)
Ich hoffe, dass das System sich nun wieder gutmütig verhält.
Bei den nächsten Votes werde ich es sehen.
Let's make Steemit great again!

Given the size of the upgrade I'd say it was a relative success.

We are only having a hard time doing actions using the public facing websites like steemit. The network is working fine in the back. Full functionality should come back to Steemit.com after the replay process of their RPC nodes which should complete in a few more hours.

"We are only having a hard time doing actions using the public facing websites like steemit."

So it's been working fine except for the parts the vast majority of people see and use.

I hope that in future steemit.inc is focused on "Custeemer first"

#custeemerfirst
#customerfirst

P.S.: I will vote your comment on Sunday too, does not make sense to vote atm

I am not going to bother with trying to game the system. I intend to just maintain normal activity levels despite the upheaval.

We are only having a hard time doing actions using the public facing websites like steemit.

This is not at all true. It was not an interface issue.

This is either abject ignorance or very poor spin.

The main problem was negative mana which had been solved on all but RPC nodes. I wasn't able to post this when steemit was on 0.20.2 now I can.

I agree that claiming success was wrong and premature.

Of course the chain is running fine, but we had a Service Outage for 99,9% of the STEEM users for 24 Hours and I assume that a lot of curators will vote no posts within the next 3-4 days until they reach their usually Votingpower.

At the current state of the STEEM ecosystem such a downtime is annoying, but if we look a few years ahead, and then run more and larger applications on the chain, that's just not allowed to happen.

So this basically means to me that posting material right now is practically useless (if one can post at all) because people won't be voting?

I can only speak for myself here, but I will not vote before sunday, and I will not scroll down my feed and discord bots for older posts. And I assume that a lot of curators will do the same.

I plan to keep on posting regardless of the chaos.

For the most part, you're right, but there will be a few votes. People will be acting VERY conservatively with their votes right now.

Well, your post was 14 hours ago, so I have to ask "how long is 'a few hours' for you?"
Hardfuck 20 took place on 25 September.
Your alert says users may experience problems "for 24 hours."
Today is 27 September.
I have not posted in 12 days, but your system says I have "run out of resource credits" and cannot post my latest writing.
How is this "working fine?"

Read the article above about waiting 24 hours? Hope in a couple hours things are worked out, I am able to do more and see improvements

Before HF20 I didn't read anywhere that my voting power is set to zero. It is incomprehensible to me that this basic usecase was not properly tested.

How could they test without implementing?

We have to pass the bill to see what's in it, eh? This is the kind of problem that should have been caught in some kind of sandbox fork test.

100% agreement.
It would have been so much easier if they would have properly tested it in previous. These are bugs which must have been noticed then.

Or they just do not everything in one time and split the whole hardfork to correct bugs before they are relevant. This could have been done by introducing the protocolls of resource credits and voting mana first and letting them equilibrate for a week fixing all bugs found. After that they could have made the "real" hardfork by giving these protocols their function. So before they were just existing and after the second change they were the variables which matter for actions on the blockchain.

Although my VP is nearly vanishing, I gave you my 100%.
Now I am at 22%. But you deserve it.
From now I will stop voting for 5 days. I read this is the time period needed for avoiding further trouble with the VP, right?

Thank you very much @diana.feuerberg. I will also continue voting (also your comment) on Sunday, when my VP is back at 80-100%.

No... relax and resume normal operations soon we will all learn more

Yeah bro I Can't even post anything.

how long would it take before we can Access our Steem Account in term of Posting

yikes luckily posting worked for me but we need to keep eyes open for possible bugs

Read the post about waiting 24 hours? Asking for sanities sake?

I'll have to tell my friend since I was asking for him

Gotta wait 5 more days now :O

Don't worry, everything is in control.

They'll just create a "PostToken" to further complicate and screw the blockchain into the ground. Oh and maybe a "OopsieToken" to monetize the next series of PoS blunders.

Who am I kidding, the Steemit faithful will continue to support this farce right up to the last shuddering block.

Oh god - is this what we have to do now on Steem?

Yes, yes it is.

i've upvote some post just 2 times... my steem power from 100% down into 36% somehow after this hardfork or something this regular joe missing???

Be patient, read the message about waiting 24 hours yet? Been 22

ah... just login and never know there's hardfork on date, just regular joe here.... thank you for the info sir/madam

Lets hope for a quick recovery!

Just being honest, it seems to ber a mess, I ´m unable to do anything here, I do not get what mana or whatever is, I´m not feelin good with it. All my hope was put on steemit as an alternative to make good money on Internet, now it is smooth, I want to believe you guys will fix this. As the majority of the community here, cannot do anything.

Can this also be the reason why it was impossible to upload to DTube for the past 2 days? I kept getting an "unknown error" message after teh video had finished uploading and conversion...

What the heck steemit inc.??
The network is basically dead, only empty blocks for like 17 hours now:


And you re like "great success" ???

1 mln SP is not enough to make any transaction. Why are you keep saying "small SP holders" when the problem is clearly not related to the amount of SP? 99.99% of users cant use the network now, no mater how much SP they have.

And then the voting power bug. Lots of dapps and investors will lose money and you re like "well, yeah, wait 5 days - fixed, lol"

I can understand a fuck up but calling it a success? You should clreatly state that the bug with negative RC affects basically every user and is not related to any "equilibration" but a fucked up code.

I could not agree more. I upvoted onece in 3 days because I was out of town. I come back to no power to do anything. I am now waiting for my SP to disapear as well. Looks like these clowns did not do much testing before they went live. I cannot upvote your comment because they took away all my voting power. Normall I never let it get below 80% . Now I am in the 20%.

I agree. This wasn't a little error, this was an order of magnitude error.

As an example, yesterday i was at NEGATVE 16 quadrillion
today i am at postive 400 billion.

And, although i have 1.5 MVests (not big / not small) i am draining my mana too fast from my replies.
I manually vote, and manually reply after reading the post. I should have no problem.
I should be above 90% mana at all times.
But, my mana is only going down. It should be replenishing faster than i use it.

(and then the voting disaster... i don't know what to do there. Not vote for 4 days?)

At least your RC max_mana is “correctly” (as apparently designed) a million times your Vests. Some accounts being lower (than designed?) such as for example only1 13347 times Vests thus making the site entirely unusable. I do not think the devs[tinker-tots] are aware of this bug.

1 I.e. million ÷ 13347 = 75 times less RC than potentially designed!


EDIT: see the reply from @smooth. WTF?! Yeah I figured that might be the case (the pattern is obvious across numerous accounts). Yet I was hoping they’re not that conniving, i.e. that it would be a bug. Alas they’ve decided to enslave pending power down STEEM POWER (SP) in 13 weeks (6.5 weighted average) of inactive purgatory w.r.t resource credits (RC) before it’s actually powered down![note second clarifying reply from @smooth]

Tinker-tots are more incompetent than Murdoch and Marissa Mayer combined (shudder).

FYI only one week of power down (1/13) is inactive. The reason for this is to preserve consistency of RC mana status between SP and STEEM. Liquid STEEM is considered fully-charged so that when you power up you get RC mana credit immediately. SP by contrast is in a variable state of charge depending on recent usage. In order to ensure that liquid STEEM is fully charged when it powers down (and avoid double spend exploits), it has to remain inactive for a period of time prior to power down. Fixing this period at 7 days is an implementation convenience.

Can hardly post....

You have to subtract the pending vesting withdraw installment before calculating RCs, which takes the account down to almost nothing, so the very low max RC is correct.

Vesting withdraw rate 1,785,191.628750 VESTS
Next vesting withdrawal "in 6 days"

Considering the size and scope of the upgrade it was a relative success. (post updated to remove "success")

We are only having troubles doing actions using the public facing websites like Steemit.com. The decentralized part of the network is working fine in the back.

Working good for me

Right, after 24 hours not being able to do anything you are now here with 30% Voting Power. Great that you like how it went.

Not perfect yet I will stay positive and hope for quick solutions.

Crazy, why would they think to start RC and voting power at 0?? Why not start it at the previous value (convert to percent).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 64866.85
ETH 3369.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.45