What we need is not what we have.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steem7 years ago (edited)

What we have

  • Money opportunists only interested in cashing out steem as soon as possible
  • Users who view steemit as a job ( they have already planned to buy a house with their retirement funds..)
  • People with zero interest to invest a single penny in the system , even just as a sign of support.
  • A vocal minority of users who are autovoted by whales and are trying their hardest to protect their personal interests
  • A lot of self-centered people who are not willing to give up some of their existing benefits to improve the platform as a whole
  • Many users with entitlement mentality who thinks they are owed money from steemit.
  • Ignorant people, like a LOT of ignorant people.
  • Cry babies who 'threaten' to quit steem because of the experiment ( funny enough these are the same people who quit their jobs for steemit a few weeks ago)

What we need

  • People who come to steem primarily because of the community
  • Users with vision and foresight
  • Users who are ready to accept change if it benefits the platform as a whole
  • People who are interested to participate and support steem whether it be financially ( SP ) or through engagement.
  • People not expecting things back in return for their actions
  • Genuine people wanting to build a better world who strongly believe in the future of steemit

The first group will often attack the second group by saying that they are a bunch of communists,etc.. I am pretty positive there is nothing communist in being a concerned steemian with good values. Also if people working for a common goal makes you a communist then pretty much every businesses in the world is communism. This narrative is just ridiculous.

You will also noticed that many in the first group havn't been posting for weeks, they just had their bots on autopilots and have only shown their faces because of the experiment.
Many have also only recently shown support for newbies, don't get fooled folks, these people are just using the ' newbies don't like the experiment' narrative to protect their own financial interests. Before the experiment these people have never been supportive of newbies.

This experiment has made it crystal clear to me who belongs in which category. I have to say there are many people who I thought were in the second group that actually weren't. There was also a few people that pleasantly surprised me.

You can call me commie all you want,but make no mistake if steem is to succeed its people in the 2nd group that will make it happen. Chose wisely who you want to support

Sort:  
Loading...

I totally grok what you're getting at, although I'd consider myself too new here to feel certain about what we "have" and "don't have."

In a broader sense, though, I came here and was excited about what looked to me as a return to the days of "social blogging" and "social content" I really enjoyed being part of, almost 15 years ago. I wanted to "test the waters" before looking up all my old peers and suggesting they head over here. On the whole, I like what's here.

That said, I've been part of user-generated content sites for a couple of decades, and the ones offering rewards inevitably self-destruct when they start putting the "rewards" more in focus than the whole purpose of the venue-- namely to be an attractive and excellent content site. So short term profiteering takes precedence over long term stewardship.

There's nothing wrong with "liking the money" AS LONG AS we are mindful of being good shepherds of the "goose" that's laying golden eggs. But most people are not. Most people are in the "money for nothing" business... UNLESS one is very careful in the approach to how site is grown and developed. Entitlement? It's an effing privilege that we get rewards for posting! What's Reddit giving you? Facebook? Tumblr? Anyone? Anyone? Bueller?

I really don't care that "Steemit is on the blockchain..." I'm sorry, that doesn't grant us some magic golden exemption from Human Nature... and its attendant greed. Ignoring-- for a moment-- that this is on the blockchain, and we have our own currency, and we're decentralized and all the other yadda, yadda... I've seen 60-odd social projects like this go TU because the "short term speculators" had the loudest voices and ruled the day. In two decades, only two projects like this hung in there for the long run... because they had really "tight" visions and slapped the shackles on anyone trying to disrupt that... and yes, they use/used peer curation. And rewarded those who cared about the venue above those who cared about the money.

Sorry to rant on your post here... but you're precisely right: Choose wisely. And that also includes voting for the witnesses that support your sense of where we need to go...

Loading...

Word

I am motivated by money, but it is not my only or primary motivation. I am willing to accept change that benefits the platform. I have invested hard earned $.

I would say that at times I also reflect each and everyone of the items on BOTH lists. No one has yet shown me benefits to all these rule changes or experiments. Since I've been on here I've yet to see any true value added. When is that going to happen?

The money is a good incentive for sure but it has become like an obsession for a lot of people, when it turns into an obsession it becomes toxic and you can see it play out with this experiment.

No one has yet shown me benefits to all these rule changes or experiments

If you are talking about the current experiment then here are a few on top of my head

  • minnows/dolphins have more influence
  • rewards are spread out more
  • more curation rewards for minnows/dolphins
  • more comment rewards
  • payouts are more diversified
  • bots have less domination over manual curation

These things are all happening right now because of this experiment.

So when are the dolphins going to considered whales? The curating strategy is dog eat dog. Every man for himself. Has this attracted more users? It is the content producers that makes this platform. Take away their rewards and they leave, what then?

The amount of SP changes a minnow to a dolphin to a whale. Obviously, this influences one's vote too and post payout.

The reward pool is constant. If whales aren't voting, then you will get more of the payout. A small difference in payout can have big rewards over time

It does yes..but some weren't happy with the experiment at that time.

So when are the dolphins going to considered whales?

There is nothing that really defines what a whale or a dolphin is so can't answer that.

The curating strategy is dog eat dog. Every man for himself. Has this attracted more users?

The experiment has improved this because post rewards are spread out more and so everyone is on a more even playing field.

Take away their rewards and they leave, what then?

I'm not aware of anything that will take rewards away from authors.

The experiment has improved this because post rewards are spread out more and so everyone is on a more even playing field.

Initially this may be true, but the payouts are a squaring function - this means compounding. Soon enough the disparity among the dolphins and the minnows will increase, such that we will be back where we started. Then what? Run the experiment again?

I have to go, date with my hot fiance. We must meet up in chat sometime, K?

but the payouts are a squaring function - this means compounding.

Are you refering to the reward curve n^2 ?

My steemit.chat is snowflake hit me up whenever

Amen.

Good post @snowflake . For me the money is an incentive but the real draw for me was the technology and the community. I wrote a post today about why I joined Steemit and my experience in my first month (I wont share the link here because I think you already upvoted it, thanks btw!) I have a really positive outlook for the future, and share much of Your sentiment. I don't really worry about rewards, I just focus on creating interesting engaging content for my followers and the community. Being selected for the daily curie is more rewarding than getting a huge payout IMO. I do find the less I worry about money the better my posts are. I also like to use rewards to "give back" I host cryptography challenges and give out prizes, it's a fun way to connect with my followers and get people interested in cryptography. People can also sponsor my challenges by covering a portion of the prize, then I advertise their blog. It is a way where everybody wins and people work together. I am still looking for a sponsor for cryptography challenge #3. Thanks for your post, your positive attitude and your investment in the future!

I wish you would post more.

It's really easy to get caught up in the rat race, even here. We come from a competitive mode of existence so it's not easy to do everything for honest reasons. I caught myself getting caught up in it a few times since I joined two weeks ago but I realized, if I just do what I do, work towards community and cooperation and brainstorm ideas with some of the intelligent open minded people here, I may still make a ton of money on here and if I don't, I'll still feel like my time was well spent. Every moment spent trying to make money on the other hand, will be in vain if I don't succeed.

So Yeah, I'm trying to get some whale attention now, but only the ones who have smart things to say and are not motivated solely by self interest.

Some of the problems of the old paradigm are bound to reverberate into the new paradigm. Just be as awesome as you can be and it will influence those around you. :-D Post more!

you assume that there are two groups. you just made this up because what you assume about people. yes there is a couple but you have to expect that. if anyone is to be ranting it is the creators who im sure saw this coming. fall back you sound self righteous . remember faith and hope do more than force

Sorry if you don't like my style of posting, I always go straight to the point.

remember faith and hope do more than force

And unicorns?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59700.98
ETH 2415.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43