You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What we need is not what we have.

in #steem8 years ago

I totally grok what you're getting at, although I'd consider myself too new here to feel certain about what we "have" and "don't have."

In a broader sense, though, I came here and was excited about what looked to me as a return to the days of "social blogging" and "social content" I really enjoyed being part of, almost 15 years ago. I wanted to "test the waters" before looking up all my old peers and suggesting they head over here. On the whole, I like what's here.

That said, I've been part of user-generated content sites for a couple of decades, and the ones offering rewards inevitably self-destruct when they start putting the "rewards" more in focus than the whole purpose of the venue-- namely to be an attractive and excellent content site. So short term profiteering takes precedence over long term stewardship.

There's nothing wrong with "liking the money" AS LONG AS we are mindful of being good shepherds of the "goose" that's laying golden eggs. But most people are not. Most people are in the "money for nothing" business... UNLESS one is very careful in the approach to how site is grown and developed. Entitlement? It's an effing privilege that we get rewards for posting! What's Reddit giving you? Facebook? Tumblr? Anyone? Anyone? Bueller?

I really don't care that "Steemit is on the blockchain..." I'm sorry, that doesn't grant us some magic golden exemption from Human Nature... and its attendant greed. Ignoring-- for a moment-- that this is on the blockchain, and we have our own currency, and we're decentralized and all the other yadda, yadda... I've seen 60-odd social projects like this go TU because the "short term speculators" had the loudest voices and ruled the day. In two decades, only two projects like this hung in there for the long run... because they had really "tight" visions and slapped the shackles on anyone trying to disrupt that... and yes, they use/used peer curation. And rewarded those who cared about the venue above those who cared about the money.

Sorry to rant on your post here... but you're precisely right: Choose wisely. And that also includes voting for the witnesses that support your sense of where we need to go...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66804.20
ETH 2581.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66