You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What we need is not what we have.

in #steem8 years ago

I am motivated by money, but it is not my only or primary motivation. I am willing to accept change that benefits the platform. I have invested hard earned $.

I would say that at times I also reflect each and everyone of the items on BOTH lists. No one has yet shown me benefits to all these rule changes or experiments. Since I've been on here I've yet to see any true value added. When is that going to happen?

Sort:  

The money is a good incentive for sure but it has become like an obsession for a lot of people, when it turns into an obsession it becomes toxic and you can see it play out with this experiment.

No one has yet shown me benefits to all these rule changes or experiments

If you are talking about the current experiment then here are a few on top of my head

  • minnows/dolphins have more influence
  • rewards are spread out more
  • more curation rewards for minnows/dolphins
  • more comment rewards
  • payouts are more diversified
  • bots have less domination over manual curation

These things are all happening right now because of this experiment.

So when are the dolphins going to considered whales? The curating strategy is dog eat dog. Every man for himself. Has this attracted more users? It is the content producers that makes this platform. Take away their rewards and they leave, what then?

The amount of SP changes a minnow to a dolphin to a whale. Obviously, this influences one's vote too and post payout.

The reward pool is constant. If whales aren't voting, then you will get more of the payout. A small difference in payout can have big rewards over time

It does yes..but some weren't happy with the experiment at that time.

So when are the dolphins going to considered whales?

There is nothing that really defines what a whale or a dolphin is so can't answer that.

The curating strategy is dog eat dog. Every man for himself. Has this attracted more users?

The experiment has improved this because post rewards are spread out more and so everyone is on a more even playing field.

Take away their rewards and they leave, what then?

I'm not aware of anything that will take rewards away from authors.

The experiment has improved this because post rewards are spread out more and so everyone is on a more even playing field.

Initially this may be true, but the payouts are a squaring function - this means compounding. Soon enough the disparity among the dolphins and the minnows will increase, such that we will be back where we started. Then what? Run the experiment again?

I have to go, date with my hot fiance. We must meet up in chat sometime, K?

but the payouts are a squaring function - this means compounding.

Are you refering to the reward curve n^2 ?

My steemit.chat is snowflake hit me up whenever

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66975.17
ETH 2594.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67