You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I claimed a few accounts today: Is this something that everyone who can, should be doing?

in #steem6 years ago

I'm a little confused at all this. After HF20, new people are supposed to be able to create free accounts, so what is the purpose of 'claiming' an account?

What would the 'claimed' account be called? (@confusedchops)

Sort:  

The claimed account has no name, it is given a name on creation. So really, a claimed account is just a token you hold - the blockchain keeps count of these which can be used to call the 'create_me_an_account_using_a_claim_I_hold' function in future.

So the more accounts one claimed the more one can create freely for the sake of others? Great piece of sharing buddy.

Yeah pretty much. I don't think you can gift a claimed account, but when it is created you can hand the keys over. Maybe a tool will arrive the make this process easier. Thanks :)

You can gift the account. You get them to create their keys on their side, and only send you the public keys when you're doing the actual create_account transaction.

As Im in a position to claim, I may as well I suppose. Im still confused at what benefit this holds over a new user simply creating a new account though. If I handed the reigns of a 'claimed' account to someone, does it come with extra bells and whistles?

I don't think you can hand over a claim. In future, there should be tools to create from the claim and hand over the account that way - via a dapps or something.

The account will require Resource Credits for 'fuel' as it will start with 0 I think.

I will duly claim one later today. My RC's are always at 100% it seems. If you think it's worth doing then why not.

The claim is a credit to create an account at a later date, there is no name on it. It means that between now and mainstreaming, accounts, Dapps etc can claim discounted accounts to issue to new users when they go live. with RC delegation (coming) they will be able to power them to move without needing to provide any SP that can be abused.

One day.. the haze will clear in front of my eyes. Im under the impression nobody yet knows what the true benefit of doing this really is.

RC delegation? Is that really going to be a thing I wonder. It all seems a little elitist. Can the new guy who is just starting not get a fair chance at the whip and post and comment without all these limitations on numbers?

I'm with you on this one @slobberchops... I hope more step up and ask those questions at the end. To me "commenting without all these limitations" is the issue that's hopefully addressed and fixed sooner rather than later.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56739.93
ETH 2400.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30