Why You'd Be Much Happier if You Viewed Steemit as a Lottery

in #steem8 years ago (edited)


We continue to witness tons of nail-biting over how blogging and curation awards are...well...awarded.  Some are freaking out over the disproportionality.  Others over are freaking out over "whales"--that they are biased, that they are stupid (and only reward "boobs"), that they have too much control, etc..  Many have speculated that, unless this issue of rewards is resolved, the entire Steem project could be jeopardized.  


I'm sure that the awards algo could be refined and perfected beyond where it is today, but I honestly don't think that to be at all critical to Steem's future success.  In fact, I think the reward system could be orders of magnitude worse and Steem would still succeed beyond imagination.  Here's why:


Steem tokens are valuable because they give holders influence.  More Steem Power = more social influence on the Steemit website.   Since everyone wants to be influetial, Steem have value--people are actually willing to pay for them or work for them. 


Note that Steem have value regardless of the method by which they are dispersed to users.  Truth is, Steem could be awarded to authors and curators by a centralized entity purely at random (almost like a lottery) and people would still flock to the site en masse.  Why?  For the same reason people buy lottery tickets--a chance to get a lot for a little.  People by the billions have adopted social media with zero chance of being paid, right?  If "buying a lottery ticket" is as easy as cross-posting something from your "normal" social media platform to Steemit, then ...well...who wouldn't?  


My point is simply this:  Even if Steemit were as bad as some say--centralized, biased, arbitrary, overlooking "real value" for "boobs"--it just wouldn't matter.  People would still flock to it by the millions for the simple chance, even a remote one, of getting something for essentially nothing, or for even just the opportunituy to watch others get something for nothing.  


In fact, many of us would be so much a happier if we conceived of the blogging and curation awards as a random lottery rather than as "recognizing the value" of our efforts.  If we viewed it as a lottery, we'd all be much more authentic about what we post.  Our sense of self worth wouldn't be tied to how much money our last post made. We'd be grateful and gracious if and when we "win", and we wouldn't feel slighted when we didn't.   


So Steemsters, just breath.  Relax.  Realize that your worth is not determined by your Steem.  Put your faith in randomness.  And by doing so, free yourself to reach for the sky while releasing your attachment to outcomes!  


(Photo credits:  Me.  Subject:  Cindy aka @steemed-open)

Maybe you'll grab it.  Maybe you won't.  Regardless, you'll have had an amazingly pleasurable and liberating stretch.  


Namaste,


Sean         

Sort:  

Honestly, I think that's how I HAVE been looking at it. And I think that's what's letting me down, just like when I play lottery. What I need to do is concentrate on making sure that what I post is the best of my best, which I've been trying to do. There's been a few hits, but no home runs...

...yet. ;-)

I think this comment is a home-run! Well-deserved, @winstonwolfe :)

how often do you play lottery, and how often do you sit here, on steemit?)

I've been on Steemit for about a week.
Therefore, I have not played lottery in about a week.

Also, it costs money to play lottery.
Doesn't cost me a dime to be here. :)

@decrypt That's very true. However, I may have a unique situation in that I work from home, so I have more time than a lot of people I think.

Same here, you pick the right number on lottery if you get alot of votes.
You newer know who is do it. That is so cool with steemit.
It only depends on wath the whales likes or not, there it is monney.
Nice post BTW. Keep up the good blogging :)

Well well well.... @dantheman & @sean-king
From the bottom of my heart...thank you both. :)

This post is great ! It's definitely an idea I haven't thought about.

I feel like people need to be more grateful for what they have! No other social network platform pays to create and curate content. Why are people so pissy? Even if you make just 100.00 you made more on here then you did on Facebook.

I don't post shit on facebook. Not because it doesn't pay, but because even my friends and family on facebook are vapid and ignorant and not fun to converse or interact with. I was told that steemit was a platform to empower innovators and since I don't even use money, I thought I'd at least find intelligent interaction here so I spent quite a few hours posting some content that could really make the world a better place. Unfortunately, I signed up right after the first payout happened and the Beaches & Boobs ass-kiss-a-thon was already under way. When it first happened, every 10-15 posts in trending, there was something worth reading, good stuff was popping up under the new section pretty frequently, and little discussions happened but were rare. A few days later and everything in trending is garbage, the posts coming in are mostly vapid, and decent conversation about meaningful topics is nonexistent.

What could be an awesome platform is going the way of myspace/twitter/fecesbook, right from the start. I see great potential wasted because market share is more important than the share market. That's why I'm pissy.

Why are you here?

To connect with other forward thinkers, inventors, and innovators in hopes of creating things that reduce people's need on products and services created by slavery systems. Well, that's why I joined. These days I just poke my head in sometimes to watch the train wreck, and post little comments trying to wake the whales up and turn things around. I really thought this idea could be a catalyst for big positive change in the world.

A few people have begged me to stay and say that my perspective is needed. Some even said that 80% of the core users share my views but are too afraid to express them because they're scared of offending the whales. Since I think money is a tool for assholes and retards, I don't care who I piss off when I speak the truth.

All of that said, every time I log on here, the glimmer of hope that I had for the platform becomes a little smaller and a little further away. I probably won't bother posting here at all for much longer.

You've clearly got it all figured out. You must live a fulfilling life.

I agree 100%, cool off people, put up some content! Then sit back and enjoy a job well done, If others like it , you might hit the LOTTO!!

Proof of work is a lottery too in some sense.

Sometimes instead of getting mad at the random cat picture that makes 5,000USD you have to ask "Why not?"

;)

We are lucky to be paid at all for the fun we are having.

Many people seem to forget that this network is in beta. Many ideas and proposals are made with unnecessary drama. The solutions will come from changes or improvements the algorithms, and the development of a strong community. It will be a continuous process more pragmatic than dramatic .

Although lottery winners generally end up depressed. And weird stuff tends to happen them.

Example.

It was a good read.
The thing is that you have to have that great post that will make a whale vote for you. I have started a month ago, and I was posting only crap. Seriously. Some domain names that I have, some brexit news, etc. CRAP:))
Then, luck started to come to me with the curation of Steemit 101- the Amazon book review and gained 200 STEEM.

Then, the strato initiative: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gabi-dumitriu/hello-steem-community
And I am a regular guy, no boobs, or makeup tutorial. I guess it depends of your luck....Or about how good you write:)
I guess, we will never know:))

Oh, one more thing. I have also created some cool stuff for steemit, but, hey, I don't have boobs, correct?:)) I have tried to promote it using Augmented Reality.
And noting.
https://steemit.com/marketing/@gabi-dumitriu/my-first-try-to-promote-steemit-through-augmented-reality

You spammer. Post boobs of gtfo!

I'm kidding. ;)

I agree about the award system and how changes could help, but we have it pretty good now.

People want influnce. I am writing a series of blogs on steemit about persuasion to help people increase their influence. Check it out if you've got a minute.

Thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59500.17
ETH 2654.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41